We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You will not be disappointed.”
Review of Caravelle Saigon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Caravelle Saigon
Ranked #13 of 457 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“You will not be disappointed.”
Reviewed June 25, 2010

We stayed 6 nights and had a city view room. Very clean room, excellent housekeeping throughout and the turndown service really makes you feel special. The room had everything you need. The gym is one of the best equiped I have seen and the pool area is very relaxing. Buffet breakfast was superb, anything and everything and very fresh and assorted well. Staff throughout acknowledged you every time they had eye contact and with a smile. Very well located to everything in the city. A first class hotel.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bissiotis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,663 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,572
    833
    194
    40
    24
See reviews for
362
1,093
158
580
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (522)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed June 23, 2010

After being greeted at the airport by the Caravelle staff and whisked away to the hotel. The service is top notch from start to finish. The facilities are great from the gym, spa, pool & day spa!
The room was wonderful with a great view of the city and a range of amenities in the room.
Don't miss out on having a drink at Saigon Saigon the rooftop hotel bar.
The location is the best in HCMC. Great bars and restaurants nearby to the hotel.
The best is the Sunday Seafood Brunch in Nineteen restaurant; absolutely wonderful!
I am planning my next visit to the Caravelle very soon

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DJ_G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thalwil, Switzerland
Level Contributor
81 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2010

Since I was on an extended weekend trip sponsored by our company, I usually try not too complain about the accommodation provided or the Hotel in general.
The Caravelle is in a perfect spot in the middle of the action in Ho Chi Minh. Situated next to the Opera House and just a few minutes walk away from the market, it offers good value for the money. It is not as new and exclusive as the Hyatt just next to it, but it is decent enough.
The room that I had was normal size, clean and bright. The bed was surprisingly firm and good, although I heard complaints from other people in our group that their bed was too soft.
The staff was friendly and helpful.
The breakfast buffet had a nice spread and especially the bakery goods were excellent and tasty.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank walaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malibu, California
Level Contributor
122 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 297 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2010

The Caravel is located in District 1, across the street from the Opera House and the Sheraton. It is a four star hotel and my room, and everything else was commensurate with that rating. The one exception is the lunch buffet which was 5 stars or more. It was lavish to the extent of being decadent. The roof top pool at the hotel is great with with nice views and good service. I would stay at this hotel again anytime and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Taniquan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
87 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2010

Stayed three nights during a two week tour of Vietnam. Excellent Hotel. The service, room and food were outstanding. Took advantage of their package for concierge level. Rates included transfers to and from airport, amazing breakfast buffet , internet and a wonderful complimentary cocktail hour(s) 5:30-7:30PM. were included. The concierges were very helpful and spoke English very well. Our room and bath were spacious, modern and clean. Beds very comfy. The only minor negative was the noisy , frenetic and smallish lobby, but we generally don't spend much time in Hotel lobbies so it
didn't matter. We liked the location. Great area to walk around at night. Watch out for those motor scooters and say a quick prayer when crossing the street. Good Value.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joeyknows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2010

Fantastic hotel friendly staff comy beds
perfect way to end ones holiday

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maxyboy_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2010

A magnificent hotel right in the heart of Ho Chi Minh City. Rooms and service are of high quality and staff attentive and helpful. The best hotel in Ho Chi Minh City.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrBeent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.2 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside...
#17 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,533 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Nikko Saigon
Hotel Nikko Saigon
#4 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
3,287 reviews
0.2 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint...
#10 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Reverie Saigon
The Reverie Saigon
#1 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
637 reviews
0.1 mi away
Park Hyatt Saigon
Park Hyatt Saigon
#3 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
2,310 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Majestic Saigon
Hotel Majestic Saigon
#43 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
2,911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caravelle Saigon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caravelle Saigon

Property: Caravelle Saigon
Address: 19-23 Lam Son Square, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam (Formerly Caravelle Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#6 Business Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#9 Romantic Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#10 Luxury Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#10 Spa Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#12 Family Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Caravelle Saigon 5*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Caravelle Saigon is one of Ho Chi Minh City's leading international 5-star hotels - in the centre of the business, shopping and entertainment district, 8 km from Tan Son Nhat International Airport. The Hotel opened in 1959 with modern design combining French and Vietnamese architecture and to this day the address and service ensures we have kept our iconic landmark status in the Heart of Saigon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Caravelle Saigon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caravelle Ho Chi Minh City
Caravelle Hotel Saigon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing