We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Service - Comfy Bed - Great location - what else do you need?”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Caravelle Saigon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Caravelle Saigon
Ranked #14 of 448 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic Service - Comfy Bed - Great location - what else do you need?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2009

First of all, I thought the rate for a five-star hotel was great! (about $180/night). I was impressed by the Caravelle and would say it's much better than The Majestic (another 5-star option where we stayed a night on this same trip). The Caravelle is right in front of the Opera House in district 1, so the location can't be beat. I was also impressed by the service - a cab driver ripped us off on the ride from the airport and the Caravelle actually followed up with the cab company repeatedly. The detail that I liked best, however, was that since we were going to miss breakfast (early flight), they packed it to go for us! A nice touch.

Oh, a word about the included buffet breakfast: WOW. Amazing! sushi, vietnamese cuisine, chinese dim sum, also western fare (lots of pastries, eggs, fresh fruit). It was much nicer than the Majestic's spread, and all very high quality!!!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nerdtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,599 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,528
    820
    190
    39
    22
See reviews for
349
1,074
156
567
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (512)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
sydney australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2009

In 2007 did site inspections on 7 leading hotels in HCMC and choose the Caravelle
Oct 09 travelled with 20 clients wives and staff to HCMC 17-24 October 2009, - in overall consideration I can qualify the Caravelle as the best hotel that I have stayed in for quite some time - location, facilities, service, amenities, meals - check the Carvery - held every 2weeks out of this world- and hospitality were all with 5star
Would I go back again - Yes tomorrow if possible!! - can thoroughly recommend

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wynnsworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England.
Level Contributor
188 reviews
185 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 388 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2009

We stayed three nights. Check in was rather officious and unfriendly - check out was a farce. As we approached the empty desk there must have been 8 agents standing there and no one offered to help us. Otherwise the hotel was fine - the room was average, if a little dated. We enjoyed a drink on the rooftop bar although the service was slow - we didn't eat in the hotel but walked to neighbouring restaurants, the choice of which is good. We tried to book a trip at the last minute to the Mekong Delta and we were qouted over $200 for 2 by the Caravelle concierge. We walked next door to the Sheraton and they fixed the same tour for us for $90. We were disappointed with Ho Chi Minh City - not much to see there and very frenetic. Maybe that coloured our view of this hotel? We ate lunch in the Hyatt which seemed much nicer and the Intercontinetal also looked good. I feel that this hotel is going to need to raise its game as the City develops and competition increases.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tint7003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2009

We just got back from our tour of Vietnam and wanted to pass along our experience at Caravelle.

Overall we were pleased with our stay. The hotel is located in the center of Ho Chi Minh and directly across from the Opera house which means most rooms have a good view over the city (especially if you stay in the new section.) It's very close to all the sights and restaurants in town and only about 30 minutes to the airport. Also, there was an ATM on the 2nd floor of the old section which made things a little more convenient.
The roof top bar, "Saigon Saigon", was a nice spot for a quick drink or snack before heading out. We were told that the bar on top of the Sheraton (located next door) was nicer but after seeing both we would have to disagree - Saigon Saigon had a better atmosphere by far.
The buffet breakfast was not that special but on par with what you'd expect from this class of hotel - the food was certainly good. And we were really happy with the service - all of our requests were met quickly and with a smile. They really make an effort to ensure their guests comfort.

On the downside -
They do not have wireless in the rooms, you must go to the lobby to use it and there is a fee even for hotel guests. This isn't acceptable for a hotel at this level - we had free in-room wireless even at 2 star hotels we stayed at during our trip so this was a real let down.

Also, avoid booking private tours through their concierge - they're very expensive for what you get. We took their full-day "Mekong River" private tour which turned out to be a 2.5 hour drive (each way) through uninspiring towns and then a somewhat silly tour of an island "village" that turned out to be a construction sight for a new resort that's being built next year. Even with a private car and lunch included we felt that USD $250 for two was a bit high just for the opportunity to buy touristy "souvenirs" that anyone could pick up in Ho Chi Minh for 1/2 the price. Save your money and book a regular tour through a tour agency.

Other than that we would be happy to stay at the hotel again - just book your own tours.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danielinhk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2009

I was travelling on leisure with friends, for the first time to Vietnam. We are experienced business travellers and did not have high expectations regarding hotels in Vietnam.
Location, service and cleanliness of the Caravelle Hotel was a positive surprize to us.
We loved the attention to details and the pool/spa.
Only negative point for me was the very (too) soft bed.
The Caravelle is not what I rate a 5 start hotel but a 4 star. Anyway, great value!
It served our purpose very well and I would certainly return or recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrSuvretta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2009

The hotel management were extremely helpful in resolving an issue we had, which made for a great stay in this hotel. Whilst we did not use all the facilities, they had a great gym etc and we would certainly recommend this hotel, It's central location allowed us to get everywhere easily and onfoot.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jrdmp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qatar
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2009

My husband, I and two friends travelled to Vietnam from 18 to 25 September. I put together an itinerary and got in touch with Mr Dinh Bach at Aurora Travel, after reading Tripadvisor recommendations and a personal recommendation from a friend. We were delighted with the service they provided and the hotels they included in the trip. The Caravelle is first rate and in an excellent location in District 1 in Ho Chi Minh City. The Victoria at Phan Thiet is also in a great spot in Mui Ne - an inexpensive taxi ride to the main restaurants in the resort. The beach bungalows are well worth the extra (but the hotel is expensive for meals and drinks).

The tour was very well organised. We were picked up at the airport and driven in a mini bus (for 4 of us). The highlight of the trip was the cruise on the Mekong Delta on the Mekong Eyes. We loved being on board ship and the walk we had through villages alongside the Mekong. My husband left his i-pod and Bose headphones on board; however, the crew found them and arranged for them to be sent back to Ho Chih Minh to be delivered to us on our return from Mui Ne. Nothing was too much trouble. The people are so friendly - I learnt a lot about the history whilst I was there and can't believe how incredibly nice they are in light of everything they have been through. We will be returning to Vietnam and will definitely use Aurora Travel.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CatQatar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
1.6 mi away
Hotel Nikko Saigon
Hotel Nikko Saigon
#5 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,166 reviews
0.2 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside...
#15 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,467 reviews
0.2 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint...
#10 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Reverie Saigon
The Reverie Saigon
#1 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
0.1 mi away
Park Hyatt Saigon
Park Hyatt Saigon
#4 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,235 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Majestic Saigon
Hotel Majestic Saigon
#43 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caravelle Saigon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caravelle Saigon

Property: Caravelle Saigon
Address: 19-23 Lam Son Square, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam (Formerly Caravelle Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#6 Business Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#9 Romantic Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#10 Luxury Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#10 Spa Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#12 Family Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Caravelle Saigon 5*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Caravelle Saigon is one of Ho Chi Minh City's leading international 5-star hotels - in the centre of the business, shopping and entertainment district, 8 km from Tan Son Nhat International Airport. The Hotel opened in 1959 with modern design combining French and Vietnamese architecture and to this day the address and service ensures we have kept our iconic landmark status in the Heart of Saigon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Caravelle Saigon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caravelle Ho Chi Minh City
Caravelle Hotel Saigon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing