We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Caravelle Saigon
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel Continental Saigon(Ho Chi Minh City)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Bong Sen Hotel Saigon(Ho Chi Minh City)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
A & EM Hotel(Ho Chi Minh City)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Saigon Hotel(Ho Chi Minh City)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Silverland Inn Hotel(Ho Chi Minh City)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Catina Hotel(Ho Chi Minh City)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Park Hyatt Saigon(Ho Chi Minh City)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Bongsen Annex Hotel(Ho Chi Minh City)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,940)
Filter reviews
2,940 results
Traveler rating
1,739
912
212
46
31
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,739
912
212
46
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssignature loungeopera houserooftop barvietnam warpillow menuexcellent locationbreakfast buffetwithin walking distanceluxury hotelfantastic hotelthe ground floorcentral locationpark hyattan upgradethe heart of the citynotre dame cathedralpost office
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,342 - 2,347 of 2,940 reviews
Reviewed January 31, 2009

The Caravelle Hotel was good. Not outstanding, just good. Having booked 5 months prior we had a good exchange rate from GBP to USD, however the hotel was still expensive. As the exchange rate is now substantially worse I would only rate this hotel as average for the money.

We did stay at the Sheraton in Feb 08 and we enjoyed this hotel much more (see review).

I would add that The Caravelle breakfast was very claustrophobic and defiantly not 5* and their Saigon Saigon bar is overpriced and overrated.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
5  Thank HerRubyship
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2009

We were 4 family members who had 2 rooms at the Caravelle for 4 nights which included Christmas Eve and Christmas Day. We've all been to HCMC a couple of times, but this was the first time at the Caravelle. It is now our preferred hotel here--second choice would be the Duxton, if budget doesn't allow for the Caravelle. I stayed in the Grand in Feb. 08, which is a huge disappointment--as a beautiful French Colonial-era building it has the potential to be really terrific, but is far, far from that (its cheaper price is no excuse for such tacky presentation), so never again there. The Caravelle's public areas are much smaller than the neighbouring Sheraton (no loss, in our view), but elegant and beautifully decorated. We loved the Christmas decorations and how all the staff entered into the spirit of the festive season--loved the choir of orphan/street kids that visited a few times. All staff, esp. reception, could not be more helpful and cheerful. Breakfasts are just as a previous reviewer described--everything you'd ever want. Only one small quibble is that I cannot abide tea from those large perspex teapots that sit around stewing on a hotplate--ugh! We each asked for, and got after quite a wait each morning, an individual pot each. No big deal, but this standard of hotel could easily do this as a regular service. The large bedrooms themselves had every comfort and convenience, with the notable exception of internet access--no wifi, and a steep charge for internet access, as someone else has mentioned. Again, not acceptable these days--for what is still a poor country, Vietnam has a high take-up of technology amongst locals, so hotels of this standard can and should be able to improve their service in this respect--at the moment, it's a nice little extra earner for them. As also noted by others, the beds are blissfully comfortable, everything is very clean and well presented--but yes, I agree that the decor does have a bit of a bland, "universal-corporate" look about it, but it is still good--quite fresh and not at all worn, as alas, one reviewer found. The only real complaint about the room is that it's almost impossible to adjust the air-con to other than freezing--my 2 other family members sharing a twin room on another floor found the same thing. Again, these days management should be able to deal with this sort of problem reasonably effectively. However, all in all, we'll certainly go back to the Caravelle. It's location is about as good as it gets in HCMC, and we also just liked the scale of everything at the Caravelle over and above say, the Sheraton, which is, I suspect, quite a bit more expensive and for no real advantage that we could see. We didn't have Christmas Day lunch at the Caravelle, but went across the street to the very ritzy and glam (whose rooms are vastly more expensive) Park Hyatt, who offered a sit-down, set menu at almost the same price as the Caravelle's buffet (which is good for breakfast, but hate for other meals). This was superb in every respect for food, ambience, wonderful service, indeed everything, and will certainly be on our dining/drinks/afternoon tea must-do list in HCMC in future. Those who love good interior decor should definitely go and check out the Park Hyatt. Ref. one reviewer's comment that the Caravelle is some distance from the airport: would you really want to be stuck in a hotel right out there in "Siberia"? Like many cities, HCMC's airport area is just a grim district to pass through as quickly as possible! District 1 is without doubt the best place for visitors--everywhere you want to go is accessible, restaurants, shops, Reunification Palace, Cathedral, etc. all walkable, esp. from Caravelle, and other attractions only a short, cheap taxi ride.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank planetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2009

We stayed there twice on a recent trip and cannot recommend the hotel for any reason other than location. It lacked the charm of an older hotel and the glitz of a newer place. Our rooms were drab and a bit overused. Carpets were a bit worn and the bathroom tile had unsightly scuffs and damages. The air conditioning quit once in the night and we woke up sweaty.
If you can get past the tour group atmosphere you will find great views and an unsurpassed location. Breakfast was excellent and the hotel staff was very pleasant. That said, I wouldn't stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank shoemouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2009

We stayed at this hotel twice during our trip The first was an overnight stay before we travelled to The Furama, Da Nang and the second was from 26.12. -29.12. I only wish my employer would put me into hotels of this quality for business trips.

The hotel was excellent and facilties superb. If you are into gyms then this was the place to go and despite being in a city we managed to sunbathe and catch up on the suntan

Originally we were attending a wedding in Vietnam but it was cancelled which is why we ended up in HCMC It was an experience not to forget and amazing to see so many motorcycles. Once you mastered the art of walking into a road and through traffic who masterfully avoided you getting about the city was easy and there was lots to do and see.

Hotel staff were extremely helpful and there is nothing about this hotel that we would like to see changed. The food and service was excellent and it serves the best cappucinos in town.

When we return this will be one place we will return to and the Caravelle will be our choice of hotel For one night it was a litle far from the airport but despite a late arrival we still had time to get about the city and find a place to eat. Eating places are plentiful and there wasnt one place that we went to that we would no revisit.

Again the handicrafts and art work are second to none Designer stores are increasing but a little on the expensive side There are a number of trips available however most span over a number of days.

Albeit very much a business hotel we did not feel out of place as holiday travellers and would have relished staying here for the New Year Our friends said Christmas at the Caravelle was excellent. The breakfast buffet was excellent The drinks around the pool were a little expensive but what do you expect if you go into a hotel of this class.

We were upgraded albeit didnt use the facilites until our last night Well worth considering as an option The buffet put on in the evening was very good as were the breakfasts that were in a quiet lounge.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank lcbmmb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2008

After several disappointing experiences at other hotels in Saigon, my boyfriend and I decided to step up and stay at the Caravelle for 2 nights that included christmas eve. If we could have afforded it, we would have stayed the entire 2 week trip at the Caravelle.

The experience was very pleasant from the start. The location is excellent. Everything looks brand new in the hotel, inside and out. The room was nicely sized, as was the bathroom, and impeccable. There is both 110V and 220V in the bathroom, which was very nice since my electric toothbrush charger only runs on 110 and I hadn't brought a transformer with me on the trip. None of the other hotels we visited had any 110V outlet. We got two keys for the room, not just one like every other hotel we have been to. Also, this is the only hotel out of 4 we have tried in Saigon where you can actually fill the bathtub with hot water ! I don't know why all the others even bother having a bathtub. Apparently that's something that can only be done in a 4 star hotel in saigon - 2 and 3 stars are not up to it.

The jaccuzi is great also, and the staff very friendly. And access is included even in the base room cost unlike some other hotels.

The main negative thing about this hotel is the high price. For the base $230 a night rate we paid (with taxes), breakfast was not included. That was an extra $38 which was steep enough that I decided to skip it and have it elsewhere. Internet access also was not included (more on that later). The laundry service was also very expensive - it costs more to wash some of my plain underwear at the Caravelle than to buy new one. We had brought more than enough clothes so we didn't have to use it.

The only other complaint I have that is not about cost is about the Internet access. Only an ethernet jack is provided, and there is a $15 daily charge. That worked fine for our laptop. But there is no wireless internet access at all at the Caravelle. The ethernet jack isn't any good to my boyfriend's iPhone and my T-mobile G1, both of which are wifi cell phones, and don't have ethernet jacks - and thus we could not access the internet on our phones while we stayed at the caravelle, unlike at other less expensive hotels that had wifi. I hope that the Caravelle will address this in the future, as I don't think I should have to bring a wireless router on vacation to be able to use my wifi phones.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank madbrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcomCaravelle, Marketing Coomunications Executive at Caravelle Saigon, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2009

Starting 1 January 2009, Caravelle Hotel will offer free Internet services to all hotel in-house guests.

In early 2008, the Caravelle upgraded its Internet capabilities with implementation of the MagiNet Broadband Solution, an advanced fiber-optic network infrastructure that allows travelers to work at speeds they’re used to in their home or office.

Through 2008, hotel guests accessed the hotel’s broadband by purchasing wired access on their browser. The new access procedure is the same, except that hotel guests will no longer be assessed a fee. The Caravelle is the first hotel of its stature in Vietnam to do away with the Internet charges.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews