We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK But Getting Tired” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Caravelle Saigon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Caravelle Saigon
Ranked #13 of 448 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
RADLETT
Level Contributor
179 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“OK But Getting Tired”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014

Returning to the Caravelle was rather disappointing and I conclude that there are better options in HCM. The top floor bar is still lively and good fun with it's memories and stories in the open air. Public rooms and bedrooms are ordinary and it needs an uplift/renovation.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AMLRadlett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryce S, Director of Rooms at Caravelle Saigon, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Dear AMLRadlett,

Thank you for your note and recognizing our lively Saigon Saigon Bar. You will be pleased to know we are planning to commence a hotel wide refreshment program in the upcoming months. I do hope we have an opportunity to welcome you back to the Caravelle in the future.

Kind regards

Bryce Seator
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,550 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,495
    810
    185
    39
    21
See reviews for
338
1,055
154
557
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (507)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014 via mobile

From Cambodian ecolodge to 5-star luxury in Ho Chi Minh - quite a contrast. This is a terrific hotel, beautifully appointed and with typically great service. Happy hour drinks at the rooftop Saigon Saigon bar are a must, treat yourself to some pamper time, hit the gym and do some laps in the pool. Then you have the best of Ho Chi Minh on your doorstop. We ate at the temple bar, Guan nuong and Ciao Bella (brilliant) and all are just a short walk away, as are the malls, notre dame and the remnants museum. Top hotel. Be careful about the taxi scams. Get the hotel to book them for you.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Janelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryce S, Director of Rooms at Caravelle Saigon, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Dear Janelle W,

Thank you for your feedback. I am pleased you enjoyed your time at the Caravelle. We are happy you have recognized the great restaurants and attractions on our doorstop. We look forward to welcoming you back!

Kind regards

Bryce Seator
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014

Simply cannot beat Caravelle in terms of its location. Its smack in the centre of just about all the major attractions of HCMC. Their service from the time of pick up at the airport to check out was 5 star. The buffet breakfast spread was good in terms of quality and variety.The items we chose we simply enjoyed. The room was well laid out, nice amenities, bed was super comfy and had a pillow menu to chose from......all good. So glad we stayed here, will definitely be back and will highly recommend any time!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PM500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryce S, Director of Rooms at Caravelle Saigon, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Dear PM500,

Thank you for the wonderful recap of your experience with us. We are glad you enjoyed so many great Caravelle moments. We look forward to your return in the near future.

Kind regards

Bryce Seator
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vietnam
Level Contributor
97 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

We stayed 1 night at junior suite room which was very large include living room and kitchen room with all kinds of kitchen accessories.
They service was great, they will serve customer from green touch on a table. We chosen a kind of soft pillow from their list just a few minute a bell room give us a double of pillows.
It was a luxury hotel in a center Sai Gon.

Room Tip: Junior suite room was a great
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thaiminhson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryce S, Director of Rooms at Caravelle Saigon, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Dear Thaiminhson

Thank you for the wonderful note and sharing your personal photo’s from your recent stay. We are glad you liked the Junior Suite and found it accommodating for your family. Please come and visit us again soon!

Kind regards

Bryce Seator
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LINCS
Level Contributor
57 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

Good Location, The Hotel is in the centre of HCMC, we upgraded to executive room that had good facilities overlooking the Opera House.
A superb swimming Pool . Good Staff, & Very good Buffet Breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank POTATO PROTECTER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryce S, Director of Rooms at Caravelle Saigon, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Dear POTATO PROTECTER,

Thank you for the wonderful feedback on your experience with us. We are so glad you enjoyed our Signature Room, buffet breakfast and our great staff. We hope to host you again soon.

Kind regards

Bryce Seator
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
59 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014

We spoilt ourselves by choosing this hotel for our short stay in HCMC over new year. Amazing location in the centre of everything so very accessible, everything you can ask for in a luxurious hotel. The breakfast was nothing short of spectacular however the day we left for an early flight, the staff wouldn't let us take away some fruit despite paying top dollar for the room. (I feel this is unreasonable service as I have experienced much better at hotels around the world)

The rooms were very comfortable and I don't think I have ever slept in a more comfortable bed! With a choice of pillows and a range of blankets, everyone is happy. The staff were also very accommodating. The roof top bar was great, lovely cocktails.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrandmrsb13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryce S, Director of Rooms at Caravelle Saigon, responded to this review, March 1, 2014
Dear mrandmrsb13,

Thank you for your feedback and recognizing so many positive aspects of your stay. I agree that our location is amazing and in the center of everything here in Ho Chi Minh City! I was concerned to learn of your breakfast experience, thank you for bringing this to our attention. Once again, thank you again for taking the time to share your recent stay and we look forward to seeing you again soon

Kind regards

Bryce Seator
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level Contributor
54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2014

Spent 2 nights in this hotel with my husband on our tour in Vietnam. The hotel has a great location in the center of District 1 which is basically downtown Saigon. Walking distance to everything and easy to find a coffee house, restaurant in the area. The hotel is very busy, obviously a favorite in the town. We had a Deluxe room with a view to the Opera House and the square and in the night it is amazing to watch the rush of the city from there. Spacious bathroom with nice amenities. Breakfast was sumptuous buffet, you can find everything you wish for. Their cake selection was amazing and it tastes just like home made. The place is a bit jammed, but I think the hotel was doing some renovation so it might have been just a temporary breakfast place. The only negative thing there was the AC, they should adjust this as it was freezing. We've tried the rooftop bar as well, had a nice feeling with latino music and salsa dancers.
Loved the hotel and can highly recommend it to everybody.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zuzana W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryce S, Director of Rooms at Caravelle Saigon, responded to this review, March 1, 2014
Dear Zuzana W,

Thank you for the great feedback regarding your experience with us. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards

Bryce Seator
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
1.7 mi away
Hotel Nikko Saigon
Hotel Nikko Saigon
#5 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,090 reviews
0.2 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside...
#16 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,406 reviews
0.2 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint...
#10 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Reverie Saigon
The Reverie Saigon
#1 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
0.1 mi away
Park Hyatt Saigon
Park Hyatt Saigon
#3 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,186 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Majestic Saigon
Hotel Majestic Saigon
#42 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caravelle Saigon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caravelle Saigon

Property: Caravelle Saigon
Address: 19-23 Lam Son Square, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam (Formerly Caravelle Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#6 Business Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#9 Luxury Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#9 Spa Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#9 Romantic Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#12 Family Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Caravelle Saigon 5*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Caravelle Saigon is one of Ho Chi Minh City's leading international 5-star hotels - in the centre of the business, shopping and entertainment district, 8 km from Tan Son Nhat International Airport. The Hotel opened in 1959 with modern design combining French and Vietnamese architecture and to this day the address and service ensures we have kept our iconic landmark status in the Heart of Saigon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity and Ctrip TA so you can book your Caravelle Saigon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caravelle Ho Chi Minh City
Caravelle Hotel Saigon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing