We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 star luxury”
Review of Caravelle Saigon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Caravelle Saigon
Ranked #18 of 465 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 7, 2013

This hotel offers everything you would expect from a 5 star hotel-lovely spacious rooms,great pool and gym area and above all great service from all the staff. Highly recommended and in the best location in town.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ken P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,797)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,429 - 1,435 of 2,797 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2013

Fantastic choice for a gym. Just like a personal training gym. The VIP room on the 9th floor services a wide variety of food for both breakfast and dinner. Would stay again. Wireless access available throughout the hotel

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gordon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

The hotel was part of a Mekong Cruise we had booked and as such were not sure what to expect when we arrived. We do not do package tours and as this was part of a group booking(not seen anyone of the group as we came from Hanoi to HCMC) so we appraoch this with some trepidation.

However, we should not have worried(maybe because we di not arrive with a group). Check in was easy and staff friendly, porters were very friendly and efficient also.
The room was great looking over the Opera House towards Notre Dame and other skyxrapers that have been built since we were last there.
Room was comfortable, clean and quite large. Bed was comfortable, bathroom was clean and quite large and with good quality toiletries. Wi-Fi in the room was free as with most hotels in Asia except Singapore.
Buffet breakfast was gain amazing with everything extremely fresh and a great choice for a multi-national clientele. Staff were efficient and friendly as it always seem the case in Vietnam.
Bar upstairs on 9th floor accessed by separte lift and is quite nice but drinks can be pricey.
The bar down stairs(Think it is called Diplomat Bar) is very comfirtable and the staff again are very good. Even arranged a snack not on the menu for me.
One little nicety was we arrived on September 15th and the hotel(w/o any prompting) picked up it was my lady's b/day Sept. 16. There was a bowuest of roses in the room th enext day and a small local cake delivered in the evening for her. Do not think one would get this in Australia, USA or most of Europe. A nice touch we thought.
Also try the Vietnamese Coffee in hotel in cafes around hotel. It is great.
Location is good with bakeries, shops and restaurants all within walking distance.
Also when crossing the roads do not hesitate as this will cause an accident wit the bikes as they adjust where they go based on your walking pace.
Also the pastries in this hotel and some the bakeries nearby are wonderful. Besides the wonderful colonial buildings left by the French they also left the Vietnamese Bakery Chefs with the great skills to make pastries.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank queenslandtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

The rooms have a Pillow Menu for you to choose from. Shower tap is not convenient though. You need to turn it to full to get hot water. Check in happens in the room. Breakfast spread is good but i saw some flies in 3 different areas. Blame it on the rain maybe. Check in and Check out is efficient.(under 5 mins). Saigon Saigon rooftop bar has a Cuban band which sings and dance pretty well. A convenient place. I would rate it Good (not avg nor very good)

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IndianaSud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stayed in several 5 star hotels while on holiday in Vietnam and the Caravelle was definitely the worst value. It is in a great location but compared to, say ,the Sofitel Saigon Plaza it lacks a luxury feel. I do not expect patchy, repaired walls in the bathroom for this price. Rooftop bar was OK but very pricey.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

This was my third stay at the Caravelle Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City and I therefore got upgraded to the Executive floor - which has some perks even though the room is exactly the same as on the other floors I've stayed on(?).

The perks are free snacks and drinks every evening from 17:30-20:00 in the Executive Lounge. This actually constituted my dinner every night as the 'snacks' were an extensive buffet with sushi, hot and cold dishes and loads of desserts and sweets! Brilliant!

The rooms are large (even on non-exec floors) but very blandly decorated and - frankly - quite boring. The bathrooms are small (they should have used more of the room space for the bathrooms). And could do with updating soon.

The breakfast buffet on the ground floor has everything and the service is good.

The shops in the hotel could sell a lot more if they changed their selection a bit - having stayed 3 times within 10 months - nothing has changed in the shops at all. Why not change the selection from time to time?

The spa is good - I had a Balinese massage which was brilliant and at a reasonable price.

The rooftop bar has superb views and gives good value during happy hour(s).

Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
Thank PEMtheDane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

Reasonable price clean and in the centre of the shopping centre. near to shopping and food. Good service from all the staff. Rooms are clean with all the things you would expect, free coffee, tea and water.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank nusadua2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.2 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside...
#20 of 465 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,702 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Nikko Saigon
Hotel Nikko Saigon
#5 of 465 in Ho Chi Minh City
3,531 reviews
0.2 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint...
#11 of 465 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Saigon Hotel & Towers
Sheraton Saigon Hotel & Towers
#30 of 465 in Ho Chi Minh City
2,104 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rex Hotel
Rex Hotel
#56 of 465 in Ho Chi Minh City
2,433 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Majestic Saigon
Hotel Majestic Saigon
#40 of 465 in Ho Chi Minh City
3,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caravelle Saigon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caravelle Saigon

Address: 19-23 Lam Son Square, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam (Formerly Caravelle Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#6 Business Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#9 Romantic Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#11 Spa Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#12 Family Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#14 Luxury Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range: $126 - $288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Caravelle Saigon 5*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Caravelle Saigon is one of Ho Chi Minh City's leading international 5-star hotels - in the centre of the business, shopping and entertainment district, 8 km from Tan Son Nhat International Airport. The Hotel opened in 1959 with modern design combining French and Vietnamese architecture and to this day the address and service ensures we have kept our iconic landmark status in the Heart of Saigon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Caravelle Saigon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caravelle Ho Chi Minh City
Caravelle Hotel Saigon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing