We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay in Saigon, but I can't give it 5 stars”
Review of Caravelle Saigon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Caravelle Saigon
Ranked #14 of 454 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
42 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in Saigon, but I can't give it 5 stars”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel many times and would definitely say there is lot to like about it. However, it does fall a little short in terms of value for the money.

Although most of Saigon's up-market hotels are located within walking distance of one another, the Caravelle has the single best location of all in my opinion, right on the corner of Dong Khoi street with views of the attractive colonial-style Municipal Theater.

Its hard to complain about the rooms. They won't blow you away with how great they are, but the beds are comfortable and the there is plenty of space.

The Saigon bar on the 9th floor is tacky, with mediocre live music blasted so loud you can barely hear yourself talk. But the smaller bar on the ground floor is a nice, quiet place for drinks.

The dinner buffet is very good. $52 for dinner is expensive in a city where a tasty and fullfilling meal can be had for less than $5, but I think its still a pretty good value considering the mixture of local and international food available, the good quality meats and seafood that are grilled to order, and great service. Also, there is free flowing wine included in the price, unlike the comparatively priced buffet at the New World hotel. The dining room is also nice and spacious, unlike the Sheraton buffet, which is very tasty but hosted in a dark, cramped and slightly run down looking dining room.

The hotel has a decent pool and nice gym and spa facility. Caravelle is clearly better than some of its competitors here (Sheraton and Renaissance, for example, have tiny pools).

Since I live in Saigon I am actually a Carravelle club member, which gets me steep discounts on room rates. I can stay here for about 100 USD per night, and I would't hesitate to give this place a 5 star review if that was what regular travelers pay. As it is, the standard price on Agoda and other websites can be almost double that after taxes and fees are included (depending on the season), and honestly thats too much to spend here. In Southeast Asia (not including Singapore) you would expect something special at those rates, but the Caravelle is basically just a fairly standard international business hotel in a good location. In Bangkok or Kuala Lumpur, this hotel would be closer to 90 USD, and thats why it hard to an unequivically glowing review. But in that respect, it should be said that all of the other 5 star hotel in Saigon are basically in the same boat.

All in all, a good option for staying in the city that never sleeps in!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sammo2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,644 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,562
    827
    193
    39
    23
See reviews for
357
1,086
158
576
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (518)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
105 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Really nice hotel, with the happy hour in Saigon Saigon bar a feature. We stayed her for 3 nights on holiday and found the staff professional and courteous, the room a decent size with excellent rooms and the spa very acceptable. Obviously one of the best hotels in Ho Chi Minh and priced accordingly but with the inclusions like turn down service,views of the opera hause across the road, buffet breakfast and the ambience it makes the selection value for money in my books.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crazyed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Caravelle is located in the heart of Saigon, viewing Opera House at the top of the nicest boulevard. It's just around the corner from the best shopping street and coffee houses and a few blocks to the River. The staff are tentative and more than willing to please. I love the pool with double rattan beds! The rooms could use some updating but the bed was heaven.Did I mention that you may have their own espresso machines in your room?

Room Tip: Request the pool view room for quiet but the view of opera house and the centre plaza is superb. Eit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 16, 2013

The caravelle hotel was defiantly a highlight of my 7 night stay in vietnam. The wifi, gym and breakfast were fantastic. The staff were friendly and eager to help. However, the biggest highlight was the hotel bed and pillow selection. i felt like i was sleeping on a cloud. I woke up every morning feeling refreshed and had my best night sleep in years. The hotel is also in close proximity to a shopping mall which has a food court and supermarket. I really enjoyed my stay and would recommend the caravelle to family and friends.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cmd70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
127 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stayed at the caravelle as it was a good central location and we got a great OTA rate. The sky bar is always relaxing with good service and entertainment. The breakfast is the best we have found in HCMC. Location is the best.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnberndt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We booked the Caravelle as part of our holiday in Vietnam. We researched this hotel on Tripadvisor and liked the reviews. We booked a Club Room for 3 nights as the rates were very good.
The hotel is well located for nearby restaurants and a reasonable walk from the main attractions.
The Club Room lounge was excellent with a wide variety of snacks at happy hour. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The room was very comfortable and clean.
The rooftop bar had entertainment every night and had a great atmosphere. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mabctn123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Couldn't get a better location. The staff were wonderful as ever but I rarely saw or used them as I was away from the hotel for most of the stay. I skipped the breakfast option as I am not a fan of hotel breakfast buffets and got a far better room rate. HCMC is also one of the best cities in the world for cafes and street foods so it just seems wrong eating in the hotel at any time! Overall, a great base.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TaipeiLongfellow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
1.6 mi away
Hotel Nikko Saigon
Hotel Nikko Saigon
#5 of 454 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,236 reviews
0.2 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside...
#16 of 454 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,503 reviews
0.2 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint...
#10 of 454 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Reverie Saigon
The Reverie Saigon
#1 of 454 in Ho Chi Minh City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
0.1 mi away
Park Hyatt Saigon
Park Hyatt Saigon
#3 of 454 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,275 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Majestic Saigon
Hotel Majestic Saigon
#42 of 454 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caravelle Saigon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caravelle Saigon

Property: Caravelle Saigon
Address: 19-23 Lam Son Square, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam (Formerly Caravelle Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#6 Business Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#9 Romantic Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#10 Spa Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#11 Luxury Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#12 Family Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Caravelle Saigon 5*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Caravelle Saigon is one of Ho Chi Minh City's leading international 5-star hotels - in the centre of the business, shopping and entertainment district, 8 km from Tan Son Nhat International Airport. The Hotel opened in 1959 with modern design combining French and Vietnamese architecture and to this day the address and service ensures we have kept our iconic landmark status in the Heart of Saigon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Caravelle Saigon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caravelle Ho Chi Minh City
Caravelle Hotel Saigon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing