We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still One of the Best”
Review of Caravelle Saigon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Caravelle Saigon
Ranked #22 of 476 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Couldn't get a better location. The staff were wonderful as ever but I rarely saw or used them as I was away from the hotel for most of the stay. I skipped the breakfast option as I am not a fan of hotel breakfast buffets and got a far better room rate. HCMC is also one of the best cities in the world for cafes and street foods so it just seems wrong eating in the hotel at any time! Overall, a great base.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TaipeiLongfellow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,883)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,529 - 1,535 of 2,883 reviews

Reviewed September 10, 2013

The Caravelle is conveniently located to explore what the locals still call Saigon (and are amused by the political correctness of Western visitors). The 'Saigon, Saigon, bar on the 9th floor of the original building brings recent history to life. We had a very good room on the 21st floor of the modern block, with a view over the Saigon River. The staff were very helpful (including precise directions to where I could get repaired in 2 hours the camera that I had been stupid enough to drop) and the breakfast was the best that we can remember having had in any hotel, anywhere.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarum_Castle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Stayed in Caravelle three nights for conference. Wish I could stay longer to fully explore all there infrastructure provided.
The room are spacious, & a 1-seater sofa by the window. It's so comfy until I fall asleep while reading presentation material.
House keeping also came to set the bed every night, it's so sweet!!

The location of the hotel is perfect to explore some attraction in walking distance. E.g Opera, Notre Dame Church, Post office, Saigon Square& Behn Thanh Market. There are few shopping complex next door from medium to high market.

The best part is after we check out, the hotel provided Spa center at 7th floor for us to take shower & freshen up before going to airport at 5pm. Where locker, towel & all necessity are provided. (Included disposable panty ;)

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jady O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Saigon is an exciting busy and vibrant city and this hotel is perfectly placed in the downtown district near to where you want to be as a tourist. We had just arrived from Hoi An and suddenly we were back in a big city. I am used to big city business hotels through my work travel and this one is OK within that segment. It is less good for a family holiday as you pick your way round people on business conferences. The much talked about breakfast buffet is average at best. On reflection I would have booked somewhere else for what we were looking for.
We found the service to be poor and inattentive. In our whole trip to Vietnam and Cambodia this was a low point.

Room Tip: Go high for great views across the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bedfordians23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Caravelle in June and we were delighted with our stay there. The restaurants at the Caravelle were fabulous, (we had the dinner and the breakfast) and excellent off-premises dining was within easy walking distances. We were also near to tourist and cultural sites, and close to the river where we launched our river trips with vietnamsojourn.com. We look forward to coming back to the Caravelle!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ownpaths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

In my visit to Ho Chi Minh city I was staying at the Caravelle Hotel
Good thing about it is it is very much in the CBD and central part of the city and have a lot of restaturants and shops around
THere are some good french cusine resetaurants which has really good taste.
Around you can find some souviner shops and exactly oppoiste to the Hotel there is an Opera theatre where if you are lucky you could sneek in for a local tradtional and cultural show
The hotel has good breakfast to choose from but found it bit crowded as many people during the peak hours
All in all a great expereince staying at the Caravelle

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ssgee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Unfortunately our stay was brief. Only 1 night. We have decided we will definitely be back. Our room was pleasant with all facilities excellent. Staff wonderful. Pool area was great and just the right temperature to cool off after a busy day in Ho Chi Minh City. Breakfast was everything you could ask for and more. The hotel location in District 1 is central to all Ho Ci Minh City sights. The hotel is well lit up making it very easy to locate on your way back at night. We have stayed in other 5 star hotels on previous visits to the city but would definitely recommend and stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jOhnandjudy8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.2 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside...
#19 of 476 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,832 reviews
0.2 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint...
#17 of 476 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,841 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Nikko Saigon
Hotel Nikko Saigon
#5 of 476 in Ho Chi Minh City
3,675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Saigon Hotel & Towers
Sheraton Saigon Hotel & Towers
#29 of 476 in Ho Chi Minh City
2,199 reviews
0.4 mi away
InterContinental Saigon Hotel
InterContinental Saigon Hotel
#8 of 476 in Ho Chi Minh City
2,653 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Reverie Saigon
The Reverie Saigon
#1 of 476 in Ho Chi Minh City
889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caravelle Saigon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caravelle Saigon

Address: 19-23 Lam Son Square, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam (Formerly Caravelle Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#6 Business Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#9 Romantic Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#11 Family Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#15 Spa Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#18 Luxury Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range: $120 - $316 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Caravelle Saigon 5*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Caravelle Saigon is one of Ho Chi Minh City's leading international 5-star hotels - in the centre of the business, shopping and entertainment district, 8 km from Tan Son Nhat International Airport. The Hotel opened in 1959 with modern design combining French and Vietnamese architecture and to this day the address and service ensures we have kept our iconic landmark status in the Heart of Saigon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Caravelle Saigon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caravelle Ho Chi Minh City
Caravelle Hotel Saigon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing