We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel”
Review of Caravelle Saigon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Caravelle Saigon
Ranked #13 of 457 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good hotel”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Good hotel been there since 2000, clean rooms, good service. The location is in the best district (district 1) in Ho Chi Minh with the view on the opera. It has a nice swimming pool at the 7th floor. everytime i went to this hotel the staff was very friendly. Walking distance from almost all major things to do in Ho Chi Minh.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sebou_d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,661 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,570
    833
    194
    40
    24
See reviews for
361
1,092
158
580
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (521)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I spent a 6 days with a work team from across 11 Asia Pacific countries meeting for three full and long work days in the Caravelle Hotel - two days were spent outside of the city itself but we stayed at the Caravelle. Staff and service are superb. Meeting rooms and food and coffee break service for the team were wonderful. Hotel itself is excellent as are the restaurants. The Caravelle gives a sense of Ho Chi Minh / Siagon before all of the troubles. The room rates are excellent (this is really a 5 star hotel with very caring staff).
Two weeks following my stay at the Caravelle I will be in Tokyo - room rates there are almost 3 x more!!! I'll have to see how it compares!
AT the Caravelle there is a roof bar - Latin American bands and fresh air - can't fail to enjoy this! Last point - the location is right down town.
There are few hotels if any that I have enjoyed staying at more that the Caravelle.
One word of caution: Vietnam with a population of around 85 million supposedly has a moped/scooter population of of around 30 million! Crossing the road can be a "life changing experience!" It's worth noting though that there is a better discipline in HoChiMinh City than Hanoi - THERE the road crossing experience is - well: it will be imprinted on your mind for ever.

Room Tip: We stayed in the older part of the hotel. Room was pleasant an quiet. We looked out over the opera h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WilliamWobble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed September 1, 2013

This was a an awesome hotel. The staff are wonderful and service is great. Highly recommend this hotel. Location is great right in the heart if the city. Staff at nineteen were great always friendly and smiling. Concierge was great in organising day trips for us.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Next to the Opera House and walking distance to all the main attractions the Caravelle is ideally sited. The breakfast buffet is second to none with the widest variety of freshly cooked hot food, fresh fruit and pastries. There is a gorgeous outdoor pool with sun beds but note in the afternoon the pool is in shade. The rooms, bars and restaurants are all up to the standard you would expect in a top quality hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
122 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

This is a great hotel in Vietnam. The staff goes out of their way to be helpful. They upgraded me to a suite for an extra 100 well worth it. The only draw back was to be awakes on Saturday by some music coming from the opera which plays in the street on weekend. This Saigon opera is this magical place with songs and play which are so genuine and deprived of western influence that it makes you cry. The opera actors are so endearing, I would recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jopin55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Caravelle had an excellent team of service staff who were polite and helpful. The concierge staff would always go an extra mile to see to our queries.
The room had numerous little pleasant surprises like fresh flowers and a weighing scale. There were two types of bathrobes- one was of thick cotton material for shower use, and the other was a kimono-styled light weighted robe.
The hotel also boast of a 24-hour well equipped gym! It had been an awesome stay for us.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adawong77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Great hotel, centrally located opposite Opera house. Walking distance from restaurants and shopping. Large swimming pool with bar and friendly staff. There was a bad sewerage smell in the foyer and lifts whilst we were there for 2 nights which was very unpleasant. Breakfast had everything to please the most fussy guest. Would definitely stay again. Beds sooooo comfortable and they have a pillow menu too.

Room Tip: All rooms are quite but we loved our room facing the pool..
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.2 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside...
#17 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,532 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Nikko Saigon
Hotel Nikko Saigon
#4 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
3,286 reviews
0.2 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint...
#10 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Reverie Saigon
The Reverie Saigon
#1 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
637 reviews
0.1 mi away
Park Hyatt Saigon
Park Hyatt Saigon
#3 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
2,310 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Majestic Saigon
Hotel Majestic Saigon
#43 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
2,911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caravelle Saigon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caravelle Saigon

Property: Caravelle Saigon
Address: 19-23 Lam Son Square, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam (Formerly Caravelle Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#6 Business Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#9 Romantic Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#10 Spa Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#10 Luxury Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#12 Family Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Caravelle Saigon 5*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Caravelle Saigon is one of Ho Chi Minh City's leading international 5-star hotels - in the centre of the business, shopping and entertainment district, 8 km from Tan Son Nhat International Airport. The Hotel opened in 1959 with modern design combining French and Vietnamese architecture and to this day the address and service ensures we have kept our iconic landmark status in the Heart of Saigon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Caravelle Saigon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caravelle Ho Chi Minh City
Caravelle Hotel Saigon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing