We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dreaming hotel”
Review of Caravelle Saigon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Caravelle Saigon
Ranked #19 of 466 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

We spent 3 nigths during our honeymoon in Saigon. The hotel is in the earth of district 1 and at a walking distance from the most tasty restaurants. The gym and the piscine are fantastic and the breakfast is something never seen before

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Giorgiocampri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,800)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,483 - 1,489 of 2,802 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for 3 nights before heading off to central Vietnam for a beach stay at Hoi An.

This hotel is very central right next door to the Opera House. Our deluxe room on the 15th floor was spacious and had excellent views over the city. Our bed was huge and one of the best beds we have slept in. Breakfast was plentiful and we loved the little touches with the bottled fruit juices and the selection of Western and Vietnam specials. There is a bar on the top floor of the old building which we would recommend to spend time having a drink and viewing the city by night.

We did not eat in the hotel in the evening but ate at Lemongrass, Tandoor and Malee Thai all within easy walking distance of the hotel. We would recommend the last two but not Lemongrass as the food came up cold.

Would return to this hotel if we were visiting again.

Room Tip: Upper deluxe rooms have great views over the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TheAFCWombles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

This hotel is in a fantastic location in a good (clean) part of HCM City. We didn't eat at the hotel but had a look around, the hotel is clean and the gym and pool were nice. The rooms were well appointed, clean but slightly basic. The service was very good and the staff (and concierge) were extremely helpful. Would recommend for a short stay whilst in HCM.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarlTyler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

The Caravelle is located in a very good location in Ho Chi Minh City. The traffic is very heavy and loud, so you are better to pick a high floor. The beds and pillows are extremely comfortable. A good choice in a busy city.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MoneyPenny548
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

This was the third stop on my first trip to Vietnam, and despite the warnings and horror stories, my trip was blissfully uneventful. Vietnam Air was efficient even though the seats didnt always recline. They were punctual and the airport lounges while not as slick as those in Changi were clean and reasonably comfortable. Immigration and baggage were also quick. We used yourlocalbooking, a car service we found on Tripadvisor. It was very reassuring to see a man holding a sign with your name on it the moment you step out of the airport. Good service. Took taxis a few times in HCM, Hanoi and Danang. Didnt have any problems but taxi fares were surprisingly more expensive than we expected considering how cheap other things were

We chose the Caravelle over the Park Hyatt and Intercon because of its history. My husband and I were interested in the history of Vietnam during the Vietnam war, and our first stop after checking in was the War Remnants Museum. Recommended.

The Caravelle is very well located and the hotel is nice, and the service is friendly and efficient. Our check in was on the 9th floor Signature lounge which was pleasant. The food in this lounge was very very good for breakfast and evening canapés and drinks. Easily one of the best anywhere I have stayed. The room I had was not as large as the room we had in Hanoi where we were upgraded to a suite but it was clean and comfortable enough. We also went to the SaigonSaigon Bar on the rooftop. I wished that with its history during the street battles on Lam Son Square, that it was a little bit more retro.

We had dinner with friends at the Park Hyatt across the street until well past midnight, and felt very safe walking back to the hotel. The Park Hyatt was really nice and slick but hotels like the Caravelle can compete with newer ones by retaining little touches of history, for sentimental history buffs like me

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank EunicechanSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Well located in a nice area of Ho Chi Minh, this hotel has a long history but thankfully extensions and renovations make it a very comfortable place to stay.
Rooms are well appointed, beds are super comfortable and housekeeping staff cheerfully accommodate every request they can understand-sometimes this involves a bit of charades.
Our room at the front of the hotel on level 17 overlooked the beautiful Opera House and is worth requesting for the view, even though it comes with a bit of traffic noise.
This area hosts other 5 star hotels so is an obvious haunt for bag snatchers on motorbikes-as they tried on me- so hold on tight to your bags
Visit the rooftop Saigon Saigon bar for terrific night time views and enjoy cocktails to a Latino band that keep the room pumping

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 111jenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

My partner and I stayed in a room on the Signature Floor, which we would greatly recommend. The price for the room was a bargain - the breakfast buffet and the canapes and drinks in the evening were amazing.

The location was very convenient, near many of the local landmarks and also allowed us to travel quickly to the pier for our trip to the Cu Chi tunnels.

The roof top bar was also a lot of fun. One of our nights at the roof top bar was on Halloween - the staff dressed up as witches and served us dishes which looked like severed fingers and also special cocktails.

We will stay here again next time we are in Ho Chi Minh City.

Room Tip: Stay on the Signature Floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mic213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.2 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside...
#20 of 466 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,713 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Nikko Saigon
Hotel Nikko Saigon
#5 of 466 in Ho Chi Minh City
3,540 reviews
0.2 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint...
#11 of 466 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Saigon Hotel & Towers
Sheraton Saigon Hotel & Towers
#30 of 466 in Ho Chi Minh City
2,111 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rex Hotel
Rex Hotel
#57 of 466 in Ho Chi Minh City
2,440 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Reverie Saigon
The Reverie Saigon
#1 of 466 in Ho Chi Minh City
766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caravelle Saigon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caravelle Saigon

Address: 19-23 Lam Son Square, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam (Formerly Caravelle Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#6 Business Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#9 Romantic Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#12 Spa Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#12 Family Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#15 Luxury Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range: $123 - $296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Caravelle Saigon 5*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Caravelle Saigon is one of Ho Chi Minh City's leading international 5-star hotels - in the centre of the business, shopping and entertainment district, 8 km from Tan Son Nhat International Airport. The Hotel opened in 1959 with modern design combining French and Vietnamese architecture and to this day the address and service ensures we have kept our iconic landmark status in the Heart of Saigon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Caravelle Saigon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caravelle Ho Chi Minh City
Caravelle Hotel Saigon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing