We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Central Location - Beautiful Bed”
Review of Caravelle Saigon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Caravelle Saigon
Ranked #19 of 466 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Wonderful, friendly and polite staff. Room was of a high standard and service excellent. Pool was great on 7th floor just the thing to cool off after a hot day. Breakfasts were superb and we enjoyed the Saigon Saigon Bar. The history of this hotel is quite interesting.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TelNin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,802)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,615 - 1,621 of 2,802 reviews

Reviewed March 12, 2013

The hotel is the ideal place to stay for walking around the city to see the sights. Excellent rooms, superb food and the staff are a credit to the hotel. We only stayed at the hotel for 3 days and all the staff were very helpful and always smiling, which made our stay an extremely happy one.

Room Tip: A room on a high level is very good as you get great views of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We really enjoyed our 3 night stay, we only booked a week or so in advance and only paid about £15 a night more than the Novotel, so it was great value. The location was great, the room so comfortable and the bed was the best we had in Vietnam, as were the pillows. It was nice to be able to relax by pool after a morning out enjoying HCMC, the gym was well equipped too. Breakfasts were wonderful with great coffee and nice service, we did not have the problems with service others have described in reviews. Saigon Saigon worth a visit, nice bar full of character.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: We loved XO Tours with the lovely women bike riders, very interesting and well organised.

Room Tip: We had a high floor with great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bob+Diane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

If location counts, stay at the Caravelle!! Our 19th floor room overlooked the Opera House and the city skyine. Large, comfortable rooms,first class service everywhere and a feeling that the staff were genuinely happy to see you.
After a long journey from the UK, we spent a little time relaxing by the 7th floor pool - a lovely spot for a light lunch and a local beer.
Breakfast selection is extensive - everything anyone from around the world might want.
The Siagon Bar is a must!! Historic connections with war correspondents, but the night-time view is super. Cocktails, live music and attentive service with the temperature around 30 degrees.
If you are going to Saigon, his is the place to stay.

Room Tip: Go for a high floor with city views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AvidTraveller73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

We spent a week in Vietnam, traveling down to the Mekong Delta and looking around Ho Chi Min City. While in HCM we stayed at the Caravelle Hotel because if its historical past. It is in an excellent location with many good restaurants, art galleries and places of interest within walking distance. The staff speak good English and could not have been more helpful. The breakfast was first class and the bread was the best I have had outside of France. Rooms were comfortable with every convenience.

Room Tip: City view from high floor is nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SingaporeFran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Good 5* hotel, but I think the standard of room and decor is pretty standard for this grade of hotel, the best thing of this hotel is the location, close to everything. Not very good breakfast service

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miriarte23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Spent 3 nights in this hotel before commencing Mekong cruise. Room was available before midday so checked straight in. Staff were friendly and helpful. We were on 22nd floor and had great views looking north west and could watch the sun set. Rooms are quite spacious with a couch and 2 more chairs and desk. King size bed was extremely comfortable.
Would stay here again as hotel offers all necessary amenities and service. As others have said it is getting a bit dated.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank denisejackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.2 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside...
#20 of 466 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,718 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Nikko Saigon
Hotel Nikko Saigon
#5 of 466 in Ho Chi Minh City
3,542 reviews
0.2 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint...
#11 of 466 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Saigon Hotel & Towers
Sheraton Saigon Hotel & Towers
#30 of 466 in Ho Chi Minh City
2,113 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rex Hotel
Rex Hotel
#57 of 466 in Ho Chi Minh City
2,440 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Reverie Saigon
The Reverie Saigon
#1 of 466 in Ho Chi Minh City
766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caravelle Saigon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caravelle Saigon

Address: 19-23 Lam Son Square, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam (Formerly Caravelle Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#6 Business Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#9 Romantic Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#12 Family Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#12 Spa Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#15 Luxury Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range: $123 - $296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Caravelle Saigon 5*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Caravelle Saigon is one of Ho Chi Minh City's leading international 5-star hotels - in the centre of the business, shopping and entertainment district, 8 km from Tan Son Nhat International Airport. The Hotel opened in 1959 with modern design combining French and Vietnamese architecture and to this day the address and service ensures we have kept our iconic landmark status in the Heart of Saigon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Caravelle Saigon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caravelle Ho Chi Minh City
Caravelle Hotel Saigon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing