We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great City Centre Hotel”
Review of Caravelle Saigon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Caravelle Saigon
Ranked #13 of 457 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
Marbella
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great City Centre Hotel”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We have just spent 2 nights in this great hotel. It is in a perfect location right where you want to be to see all the sights of Saigon. The service was fantastic in the restaurant and the most wonderful buffet breakfast you will have anywhere. The staff were friendly and helpful with a good command of English in the whole hotel. Everything about it was excellent and it was a pity that we could not have stayed longer.

Room Tip: We were in a room on the 16th floor overlooking the city and it was still very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TPW2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,663 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,572
    833
    194
    40
    24
See reviews for
362
1,093
158
580
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (522)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Terrey Hills, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Rooms are clean but the decor on the whole is dated, furniture is scratched, mismatched and outdated. Toiletries are sub-standard. Food is good, breakfast not a huge variety but enough to give you some choices - probably I am used to bigger hotels though. Staff are attentive and helpful. Beds and linens are comfortable. Don't love that there's not a masterswitch next to the bed.

If you are expecting this to be 5 star luxury, reset your expectations, but it's a comfortable hotel very close to everything so don't dismiss it either.

Spa offers full range of services. Recommend aromatherapy massage.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Liss K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We stayed 5 nights during the week of the Chinese new year. There was an amazing flower festival across the road and millions of people were attracted to the centre of Saigon. We used it as a base for a one day Mekong Delta trip and half day trip to Cu Chi tunnels. The hotel breakfasts were amazing loads of choice. The buffet menu we had included wine which is very expensive here. The food was wonderful, seafood that you chose first before it was cooked for you. What with the ice carvings, good service, friendly staff we had an enjoyable stay. The beds are very comfortable and the rooms are very clean. Good fluffy towels. The swimming pool looses the sun quickly behind tall buildings and not many sunbeds are in the sun.

Room Tip: We had a room on the river/pool side and our friends had one overlooking the opera house one room wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marlow
Level Contributor
156 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

great room...had a suite through an upgrade...breakfast fab,great service...pool a bit dated and in need of update.
The downside is the saigin bar and the slot machine area...went to in error...smelly,tacky and downmarket...felt seedy.

Room Tip: had suite...2114...great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunnyMarlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Commanding a great location, this is very central for exploring Saigon. We stayed here for one night so did not make extensive use of the facilities, such as the pool (which did look extremely nice) or the restaurants.

The room was a decent size, accommodating two adults, and three children. The decor was rather tired, but other than that, the room was ok.

The buffet breakfast was reasonable, but the buffet area was very small given how busy breakfast was!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lockey1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
43 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

What can I say about this hotel, great location, spacious rooms, great food.

We stayed 2 nights during Chinese New Year, the area was packed with people and fun stuff happening. The staff were very helpful in recommending restaurants (unfortunately many were closed). We ended up with room service, but the food was really good.

The room was spacious, enough for my 2 kids to play. We were pleasantly surprised with the swimming pool, a little piece of heaven.

The breakfast buffet had some great pastries and yogurt!

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank BarryChoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

A really great hotel, everything was the finest quality everywhere.Also the service in the pool bar was excellent.Thanh tuan Bich tram were always attentive and nothing was a problem to give you the best service.we would definitely vit this hotel again.you will want for nothing, room service restaurant and reception are just the best
Thank you both.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank skydiver3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.2 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside...
#17 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,533 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Nikko Saigon
Hotel Nikko Saigon
#4 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
3,287 reviews
0.2 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint...
#10 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Reverie Saigon
The Reverie Saigon
#1 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
637 reviews
0.1 mi away
Park Hyatt Saigon
Park Hyatt Saigon
#3 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
2,310 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Majestic Saigon
Hotel Majestic Saigon
#43 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
2,911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caravelle Saigon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caravelle Saigon

Property: Caravelle Saigon
Address: 19-23 Lam Son Square, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam (Formerly Caravelle Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#6 Business Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#9 Romantic Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#10 Spa Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#10 Luxury Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#12 Family Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Caravelle Saigon 5*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Caravelle Saigon is one of Ho Chi Minh City's leading international 5-star hotels - in the centre of the business, shopping and entertainment district, 8 km from Tan Son Nhat International Airport. The Hotel opened in 1959 with modern design combining French and Vietnamese architecture and to this day the address and service ensures we have kept our iconic landmark status in the Heart of Saigon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Caravelle Saigon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caravelle Ho Chi Minh City
Caravelle Hotel Saigon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing