We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unassuming from the outside, great inside”
Review of Caravelle Saigon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Caravelle Saigon
Ranked #19 of 467 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 23, 2012

When my taxi was approaching the Caravelle, I was somewhat disappointed not being booked at one of the hotels in the neighbourhood located in great looking buildings, whereas the Caravelle is in a modern, but somewhat faceless one. But my concerns where dispelled when entering the lobby. The ambience is elegant and modern. Check-in was very quick (check-out too, collecting your credit card signature on iPads). The rooms are big, nicely decorated, and well appointed.

They have a nice rooftop bar, with happy hour from 5-7:00 pm. The breakfast buffet is huge and the quality of the food good.

To sum it up, the Caravelle is a good choice when staying in Saigon, even for a discerning traveller.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael-Traveller-JP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,818)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,725 - 1,731 of 2,818 reviews

Reviewed November 21, 2012

Located right in the heart of HCMC, you cannot fault the location. However, this is not the hotel's only good points. With 2 great restaurants, a great pool and a rooftop bar with a view out over the city, this is a great place to make a base for all of your dealings. Service was terrific and the rooms were very nice.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Toddyrob76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

I am a local - but I enjoy to come here for the great rooftop bar and Latino band - they are enegrgetic and entertaining. great service and I am always welcomed even not as a hotel guest. I usually only go alone and it is quite comfortable sitting on a couple of drinks - their free bar snacks are nice with very generous portions.

Room Tip: rooftop bar is a great spot
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Don E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

This is definately the hotel to stay at, as soon as we walked in the door, we felt like we were in pure luxury. Every single one of the staff are so professional and friendly. It is in the perfect location, close to all the boutique stores and right in the city centre, walking distance to everything. The beds are absolutely amazing, as is everything else about this hotel. Unfortunately we are only here for one night due to a flight cancellation, although I feel like I never want to leave, amazing, will definately return !!!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank caseyfayhad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

My second stay at this hotel. I just love the location of this hotel to so many of the city's highlights and the staff are exceptionally polite and accommodating, the rooms and breakfast great. My only disappointment was that we were too early for the Xmas decorations - I'm just going to have to come back!

Our room overlooked the beautiful swimming pool area with the river in view a few streets down. The Caravelle has great rooms and we had no noise from other guests or outside.
This time we stayed at signature level and it was worth the extra $. It was good to be able to sit in the club area and have a drink and just look out the window after walking around in the heat outside. The view was even better at night time with the surrounding buildings lit up.

The Caravelle is opposite the Opera House; the cathedral and old post office are just up the street and the Reunification Palace and War Remnants Museum are an easy walk - just check to see when the latter two have their lunch-time visitor free period. We also walked down to the Ben Thanh Market - it's undercover and is a good place to buy presents and souveniers but can get a little crowded (mainly with stall owners) and stuffy in the inner aisles. Also did shopping and bought reasonably priced women's silk tops and scarves along Dong Khoi street (alongside the hotel) between Le Loi street and the river.

Room Tip: Go signature level - it's worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mayaPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Ho Chi Minh City is our first stop in a 2 week trip through Vietnam & Cambodia. Overall, we have been happy with the Caravelle.
Pros: centrally located; rooms are clean, well-appointed, & quiet (we have not experienced issues with noise as many others have noted); neighborhood is safe for walking with many restaurants and shops nearby; the breakfast buffet at restaurant Nineteen (included in our room rate) was extensive with wide variety of Western & Eastern food available, delicious, & very fresh food; wifi was free, fast, & reliable.
Cons: customer service needs improvement- while the staff/management ultimately does try to accommodate needs, they make the customer feel as if it is burdensome. This comment is based on our experience at check-in. Arrived to hotel after 1am local time, after traveling for more than 24 hours. Assigned to deluxe room per reservation & discover upon opening door that is a smoking room. We were never offered option of smoking vs. nonsmoking - my husband & I do not smoke and he is allergic to strong odors such as smoke. Return to lobby to request nonsmoking room to be told by night manager that there are none available, it is travel agent's fault for not requesting nonsmoking room, & that we should keep this room for the night & hope to change next day. No empathy displayed, nor other options offered, except to try to up-sell us to a Signature room for $65/day extra. Ultimately, upon our insistence, were given a nonsmoking room, which was an upgraded Signature room & told that we might have to switch rooms following day. After long travel time, felt that this type of haggling was unnecessary. Next day were told that could keep room, at no extra cost, which was very nice of management. However, no comment was made about use of Signature lounge. Visited lounge twice to have juice and few canapes. At second visit were told that we were not permitted to use lounge, that was room upgrade only, which was somewhat embarrassing. Would have been fine with this arrangement, if had been informed. After first "reprimand" (which is what it felt like) were informed sternly twice more at front desk & with message to room that we were not to use the Signature lounge unless we wished to pay extra. This experience left us feeling like we had been a burden to the hotel and not an appreciated guest.

Room Tip: Request smoking or nonsmoking during initial reservation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

We spent five nights at the Caravelle Hotel and enjoyed our stay very much. Our room was on an upper floor of the new tower and we had a lovely view of the Saigon river from our window. The room was spacious and clean and the bed was supremely comfortable. I also appreciated the free wi-fi and nightly turn down service. We didn't eat at the hotel but did enjoy drinks at the 9th floor bar, billed as being on the rooftop but this wasn't quite true. We also spent a lovely day relaxing by the beautiful pool. The bells on the tables to call over a waiter made us feel extremely spoiled!

The location of this hotel couldn't be better. Right across the street from the opera house, we were able to walk just about everywhere we wanted to go. We took a taxi to and from the airport (Caravelle's airport shuttle service is outrageously expensive) and twice to dinner but otherwise we walked. For the price, this is probably the best hotel in District 1.

I would have given this hotel five stars except for one little thing. I accidentally left my glasses behind in the bathroom and have been unable to get the hotel to mail them back to me. Our email address was asked for upon check in and we were told this was so they could email us if they found anything in the room after we checked out. I never received an email about the glasses and instead had to contact them. I offered to pay for shipping and have sent several more emails but haven't heard from them again. A truly great hotel would have taken care of this small service.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FerretingOutTheFun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.2 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside...
#18 of 467 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,741 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Nikko Saigon
Hotel Nikko Saigon
#5 of 467 in Ho Chi Minh City
3,561 reviews
0.2 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint...
#11 of 467 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Rex Hotel
Rex Hotel
#57 of 467 in Ho Chi Minh City
2,460 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Saigon Hotel & Towers
Sheraton Saigon Hotel & Towers
#28 of 467 in Ho Chi Minh City
2,135 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Reverie Saigon
The Reverie Saigon
#1 of 467 in Ho Chi Minh City
793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caravelle Saigon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caravelle Saigon

Address: 19-23 Lam Son Square, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam (Formerly Caravelle Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#6 Business Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#9 Romantic Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#12 Family Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#12 Spa Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#15 Luxury Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range: $121 - $287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Caravelle Saigon 5*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Caravelle Saigon is one of Ho Chi Minh City's leading international 5-star hotels - in the centre of the business, shopping and entertainment district, 8 km from Tan Son Nhat International Airport. The Hotel opened in 1959 with modern design combining French and Vietnamese architecture and to this day the address and service ensures we have kept our iconic landmark status in the Heart of Saigon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Caravelle Saigon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caravelle Ho Chi Minh City
Caravelle Hotel Saigon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing