We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what I had expected”
Review of Caravelle Saigon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Caravelle Saigon
Ranked #19 of 466 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Prior to arriving at this hotel we had already stayed at 9 hotels throughout China and Cambodia. We arrived at Ho Chi Min (Saigon) city on Christmas Eve 2011 and were surprised see upon arrival at this hotel a choir of Vietnamese children singing Christmas carols. Now that is something we didn't expect. We deliberately chose Asia to avoid the whole fuss of Christmas. Anyway, our hotel room was OK but not 5 Star standard. The location was very good and central to everything. People everywhere. The breakfast was pleasant. We were 3 weeks into a 5 week holiday so I was beginning to get tired of hotels, suitcases and below expectation experiences. On Boxing Day I had my expensive Digital SLR camera swiped from my grasp while alighting a bus outside a Saigon restaurant at lunchtime so that was not a happy memory of Saigon. Warning: watch out for motorcyclists jumping footpaths to swipe your possessions. I think it was a set up.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Patricia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,802)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,727 - 1,733 of 2,802 reviews

Reviewed October 30, 2012

Incredible location and very well priced 5* hotel. Very expensive breakfast if is not included in the rate you pay. Bath ammenities are superb!! Restaurant has an incredible view althought incredible expensive for the quality that provides. Avoid rooms in the floor that connects with the sky bar as people walks thrugh the corridor and the music is high. Very good service.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms in the old building, specially those in the same floor as the sky bar. Try to get one ii...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ValleM2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

This is a wonderful hotel, full of character and centrally located. The rooms are large with a most comfortable bed, more like a 5 star US hotel.
All facilities expected of a top hotel are available, including good gym and swimming pool, helpful and polite staff. Breakfast (buffet) provides a range of western and eastern food, the only problem is what to select. A range of TV channels are available, and with most channels in English or subtitled in English
However, bar prices are high, but with with happy hour taken at the roof top bar, the costs are almost reasonable and its quite an experience to look over the city. The dinner menu looked good but there are a number of very reasonably priced restaurants nearby, and a large indoor market is a few block away.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gs488
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

The Caravelle is at an excellent location, near places of interest, shopping and restaurants. All within walking distance. It is well away from the chaotic bustling, noisy traffic as it is opposite the Opera House where the traffic does not flow through.
Our room was on an upper floor; it was spacious and faced the Opera House. It had a sitting area, a desk, a nice comfortable bed, a coffee making area, and the bathroom was nice. At the upper level the view of the Opera House, the Cathedral and other places of interest were visible.
The IT was free and very fast and was available in the room.
The breakfast at The Nighteen Restaurant had the best spread that we have ever seen in any Far Eastern Restaurants. It showcased a great variety of food. It was just fabulous. Unfortunately, I had caught a stomach bug from the Mekong Cruise just before arrival to HCMC, and thus could not enjoy the spread.
The coffee shop was a disappointment. The menu was limited and it was expensive.
If you wish to have authentic Chinese food, the Dragon Court Chinese Restaurant, if I remember the name correctly, was excellent. It is just on left side of the hotel.
Best company taxis for honesty: Viasun and Mai Linh
Enjoy a cyclo ride preferably on a quieter street, namely from the central market back to Caravelle.
It is fun. A cyclo is a tricycle with a seat for a passenger in front and is propelled by a cyclist at the rear.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the upper levels and at the front of the Hotel and at the newer wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank CGie20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We spent two nights in a Double Deluxe River View Room.
Let’s start with the pluses: the room was large and very clean, the hotel is very well located, breakfast was delicious and the swimming pool amazing. But all this is a “given” for a 5 star hotel.
Minuses: 1. The room’s sound proofing was a disaster (we could clearly hear everything the people next door were doing); 2. Keep away from their tours, especially the Mekong Delta one. It is way too expensive for what it offers and the tour guide, Mr. Zen, is extremely careless; 3. The hotel staff was unpleasant and openly interested not in taking care of you but in making you spend more and more. Although this hotel could be ok for a business clientele, it does not suit the tourist willing to visit the city and its (beautiful) surroundings.
If you choose this hotel, hence, beware that value for money is very low, and if you expect a “European” 5-star hotel with the Asian hospitality, you are going to be disappointed.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BREADandBUTTERitaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryce S, Director of Rooms at Caravelle Saigon, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

Thank you for your note and recognizing the positive aspects of your stay. We are sorry that you found our prices too high for your expectations. I was concerned to learn of your feedback regarding the tailored overnight Mekong Delta tour arranged by our Concierge Department. I would be happy to speak to you directly regarding your feedback so I can get a better understanding of this third party travel agency that we recommend. Once again thank you for the constructive nature of your feedback and we do hope we can host you again in the future.

Regards,

Bryce Seator
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

I stayed here for a few days in October 2012. My room was very well appointed and immaculately clean and comfortable. The breakfast bufffet was equal to the best I have ever seen anywhere. The staff were friendly and helpful. I rate this hotel as one of the best I have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Philwilk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

My family and I (including two young children) spent one night at the Caravelle. The room was very large and clean, the food very good - including an amazing breakfast buffet, and the location perfect for the short amount of time we were in Saigon. Though it definitely had more of a business-person's feel to it, it still met our needs. I don't think I would want to stay there for a long period of time with my family but again, we were very happy with what was offered and how we were treated.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stephen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.2 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside...
#20 of 466 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,714 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Nikko Saigon
Hotel Nikko Saigon
#5 of 466 in Ho Chi Minh City
3,542 reviews
0.2 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint...
#11 of 466 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Saigon Hotel & Towers
Sheraton Saigon Hotel & Towers
#30 of 466 in Ho Chi Minh City
2,112 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rex Hotel
Rex Hotel
#57 of 466 in Ho Chi Minh City
2,440 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Reverie Saigon
The Reverie Saigon
#1 of 466 in Ho Chi Minh City
766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caravelle Saigon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caravelle Saigon

Address: 19-23 Lam Son Square, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam (Formerly Caravelle Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#6 Business Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#9 Romantic Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#12 Family Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#12 Spa Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#15 Luxury Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range: $123 - $296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Caravelle Saigon 5*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Caravelle Saigon is one of Ho Chi Minh City's leading international 5-star hotels - in the centre of the business, shopping and entertainment district, 8 km from Tan Son Nhat International Airport. The Hotel opened in 1959 with modern design combining French and Vietnamese architecture and to this day the address and service ensures we have kept our iconic landmark status in the Heart of Saigon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Caravelle Saigon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caravelle Ho Chi Minh City
Caravelle Hotel Saigon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing