We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely location and wonderful rooms” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Caravelle Saigon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Caravelle Saigon
Ranked #14 of 448 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok
Level Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Lovely location and wonderful rooms”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2011

Really a special "home" when in Ho Chi Min, rooms so confortable, wonderful bed and great services. Hotel facilities are excellents, enjoy till late night Saigon Bar athmosphere and easy to move around to city major spot.

Room Tip: Online direct booking it works
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChaleeBKK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,546 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,491
    810
    185
    39
    21
See reviews for
338
1,053
154
555
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (507)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Kathmandu, Nepal
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2011

I have been staying at the Caravelle Hotel on my trips to Ho Chi Minh City since 2000 and would not choose another hotel despite the addition of newer 5 star hotels in HCM. While the rooms and facilities may be starting to appear a little tired, the excellent service, location, food, and roof top bar remain outstanding. This hotel has a charm and efficiency that is unrivalled by other hotels in Vietnam and Southeast Asia. I would highly recommend this hotel for business or leisure travel in Vietnam.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natasha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
41 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2011

The hotel has classic decor - not really my personal favorite but for business trip I don't really care. Service was pretty good, staffs were able to communicate pretty well. Gym has good selections of equipment but it's cramped. Hotel also has spa treatment but couldn't find the time to try it :(
The best was the breakfast buffet at Nineteen: many selection of local & western food, plenty of fresh fruits! I tried the room service, a bit disappointing - the pho was not as tasty as the one from local vendor. The 3rd floor restaurant: Reflections, has a nice view of the surrounding, the ambiance is pretty nice and the food is good!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ngelencer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2011

We stayed in this hotel for a week and cannot find a thing that we are not happy with. Every thing has been taken care very well even the concier was helpful.
The hotel is located in district 1 which is the most busiest place in Saigon yet the hotel management was able to create a calm and relaxing environment. In addition, the hotel is also located in the central of everything, basically you can walk to anything.
Unlike other hotels where they count your stay per day, Caravelle would only charge you half a day if you only need to stay half a day. This is helpful if your flight schedule is not closer to your hotel check out time.
Overall, i definitely do not recommend this hotel to those who DO NOT like to enjoy the luxury of life because Caravelle will ensure your stay will be a spectacular memory

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Peter1178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas -USA-
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2011

On my business trip to Asia this past April, one of my stop was Ho Chi Minh city, VietNam. This hotel has all the basic requirements i need for a nice and brief stay: very good location and professional service. I particularly like the club on the roof top with friendly staff and very good musical band. I'll surely be back the next time around.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Binh_An_Tu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2011

I DID NOT stay at Caravelle but can't find a proper category to review pubs so using this category. First bar visited was Saigon Saigon bar at Caravelle. Nice spot on 9th flr roof overlooking Lam Son square where the Opera House is. City Hall also visible slightly further. Nice Cuban live band. Another place with Latino live music (I think Filipino group) is Carmen lounge (can't remember address). Nice setting like a den but didn't get to hear much of band as went late and band sang last song. If you're looking for sports bars, Crazy Buffalo was recommended but I didn't find it anything special except that drinks were cheap (like all outlets at the backpacker area). Staff were especially accommodating; switch TV channels for my to watch F1 when I requested. However found another sports bar - Blue Gecko - more interesting. For those who go for Rock music, head to Seventeen. The waitresses keep good company of you buy a bottle of liquor or buy them drinks.

Room Tip: Since this is actually not a review about hotel, please ignor rating below
See more room tips
Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank janzzzlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2011

Luck was with us when we checked into the Caravelle Hotel. I had unknowingly booked a Signature Room that came with many benefits including the use of the Signature Lounge. It was fantastic. I had made a comment to the staff that my room faced the construction that is currently going on across the street and within minutes they had upgraded us to an executive suite of mammoth proportions. I was really impressed with the staff here and there is a really nice energy in this hotel. Very central to everything and quiet rooms. I had a fabulous swedish massage in the spa.

Room Tip: The Signature Floors are really quiet with mostly business people occupying them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NGL1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
1.7 mi away
Hotel Nikko Saigon
Hotel Nikko Saigon
#5 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,080 reviews
0.2 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside...
#16 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,402 reviews
0.2 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint...
#10 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Reverie Saigon
The Reverie Saigon
#1 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
0.1 mi away
Park Hyatt Saigon
Park Hyatt Saigon
#3 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,179 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Majestic Saigon
Hotel Majestic Saigon
#42 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caravelle Saigon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caravelle Saigon

Property: Caravelle Saigon
Address: 19-23 Lam Son Square, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam (Formerly Caravelle Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#6 Business Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#9 Romantic Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#10 Spa Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#10 Luxury Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#12 Family Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Caravelle Saigon 5*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Caravelle Saigon is one of Ho Chi Minh City's leading international 5-star hotels - in the centre of the business, shopping and entertainment district, 8 km from Tan Son Nhat International Airport. The Hotel opened in 1959 with modern design combining French and Vietnamese architecture and to this day the address and service ensures we have kept our iconic landmark status in the Heart of Saigon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA and Agoda so you can book your Caravelle Saigon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caravelle Ho Chi Minh City
Caravelle Hotel Saigon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing