We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location in district 1”
Review of Caravelle Saigon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Caravelle Saigon
Ranked #13 of 457 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great location in district 1”
Reviewed December 13, 2007

My partner and I stayed at the Caravelle our last 2 nights in Vietnam. Check in was quick, staffs were very friendly and attentive. We had a large room in the new wing. The room was nicely decorated, with a touch of Asia style. Comfortable bed and soft pillows. Small complaint about the bathroom is that the hot water takes time to warm up. We ate breaksfast buffet at Ninteen restaurant, is was okay. It's a perfect location hotel in Vietnam.

  • Liked — The friendly staffs.
  • Disliked — Rate was bit pricey.
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank STAAgent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,663 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,572
    833
    194
    40
    24
See reviews for
362
1,093
158
580
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (522)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2007

Stayed in a signature room in the old wing which had the softest pillows and mattress imaginable. Wonderful food, staff friendly, could not wish for a better few days.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
Thank TaigaUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2007

I was looking for the best hotel experience in Saigon and after reading dozens of reviews chose the Caravelle. The hotel was as clean and comfortable as you might imagine any nice hotel to be ultimately it was nothing special, especially for a room that was over $200 per night.

PROS
Great location in the city center. However, there are many cheaper hotels in the area that share practically the same location. For example, I also stayed at the Continental Hotel directly across the street and got an Executive Suite with much more character for the same price as the standard King bed room at Caravelle.

The room was clean and comfortable.

The hotel provided a late check-out (2 p.m) on our last day at no extra charge.

CONS
This hotel has no character. The rooms have no more style than a standard Embassy Suites in the States. They are large and have all the amenties but nothing that ultimately rates the high price of the room.

The King bed room was large but the bathroom was small - the size of a standard American hotel bathroom. Nothing luxurious about it at all.

The rooftop bar is OK but drinks are outrageously expensive for Saigon and they had a predictable expat band playing too loud the entire time we were there. Try the rooftop bar at Rex Hotel or the Majestic instead.

Service was unimpressive. I was convinced that our room included breakfast but the staff said it did not. There was no apology or concern from the staff just a simple "no."

The published room rate does not include VAT or some other unexplainable service charge. I stayed at Continental Hotel in a room that cost $159 per night and was billed $159. For two nights at Caravelle, I not only paid the published room rate but also over $70 in VAT and service charge.

The hotel has no free wireless internet in the room. To access internet, you must pay $17 per day.

SUMMARY
I think this hotel is geared toward business travelers who have large expense accounts. However, I can find no reason to recommend this hotel.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Price for a dull hotel
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank Stevescapes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sussex
Level Contributor
135 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2007

Stayed here for 3 nights September 2007. Very central position. Nice comfortable large room on 21st floor with dual aspect, but intermittent noise from renovations during the day. Pool and spa services very good. Saigon bar overpriced drinks and served without canapes/nibbles. Despite these small inconviences would recommend to others.

  • Liked — comfort
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skyecorrina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2007

My partner and I spent 4 nights at this property, and by all accounts we found it to be a good, solid international hotel. I would probably say 4.5 star (not quite 5 though).

The hotel is in a great location, in that all the main tourist attractions are easily within walking distance (Reunification Palace, Notre Dame Cathedral, Benh Than Markets etc.).

The hotel does have a lovely pool, and one of the better gym's I've seen in the hotel. No doubt aimed at more the business traveller, it was still a nice place to stay while on vacation. Nothing special to report about the room. A nice big, comfortable bed, but everything else standard (we had a Deluxe King Room on a high floor).

Our first morning we decided to eat breakfast in the hotel....US$36 for two....ouch!!! That's 3-4 times more what you'll pay outside of the hotel. I know outside of Vietnam US$36 isn't huge money, but when you're in a country where $36 goes a long way, it is a bit of rip-off so we never ate in the hotel again, aside from having beers on the terrace of the Saigon Saigon bar, which I definitely would recommend doing at sunset one evening.

For dinner one night, try Lemongrass. It's a 2 minute walk around the corner from the hotel and serves up great Vietnamese food!!!

  • Liked — It was in a great location, and a solid, comfortable property
  • Disliked — It wasn't unique or special in any way. If you're happy to pay I would personally check out the Park Hyatt across the street
Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank nathanj78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2007

In front of the Park Hyatt, opposite the old French Opera. A very good location for this older 5 stars Asian own Hotel. The Caravelle has just been renovated and so far, it is my best experience in Saigon.

Welcoming staff, everybody will smile to you or propose help from the entrance to the room service. I booked a Signature room; they are in the old building (but totally renovated) area and have all comfort. You have access to the Signature Lounge with full business facilities from the morning to late. Without any additional cost, you also have free internet and free wi-fi. The top floor Saigon Bar is a must do also because you have a very beautiful overview of the city.

For the quality of service and very high standards, you pay almost half the price of the Sheraton Saigon for a much better service…
It is a very convenient location for Business travelers.

  • Stayed September 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank chrisvovan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2007

My husband and I booked the Caravelle based on trip advisor reviews and were not disappointed. The rooms are great to arrive to after a long trip, spacious, clean with very good amenities. We got a taxi from the airport but the hotel was happy to arrange transfer back and staff always very helpful. The concierge were happy to provide us with details of a great tailor in the city so my husband could have a suit made and also arrange for us to go on a trip to the Chi Chi tunnels. Although we booked room only we did have breakfast in the hotel one morning and found that there was a good variety of dishes to suit most tastes - including full english which was useful having visited Apocalypse Now nightclub (know locally as Apo!). Apo is really great fun with a good mix of tourists, expats and Vietnamese and seems to be busy every night! Due to the super location of the Caravelle it is really easy to explore the city and find lots of great restaurants and bars. If you turn left out of the boutique exit and walk along road there is a restaurant on right called Vietnamese House - the food is super and REALLY reasonable. We also ate in the Lemongrass which is also fab and is in the Lonely Planet guidebook (you can buy not so legitimate ones on the street if you have forgotten to purchase before you arrive!!) There are loads of bars within easy walking distance of the Caravelle, but it is worth having a cocktail (or icecream - which are huge) in the rooftop bar that over looks the city. It is worth packing an umberella though as the heavens have a tendancy to open but it dries up really quickly. We will definately go back to both HCMC and Caravelle.

  • Liked — location, rooms and staff
  • Disliked — it was all good
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Ali_Stanley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.2 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside...
#17 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,533 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Nikko Saigon
Hotel Nikko Saigon
#4 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
3,287 reviews
0.2 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint...
#10 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Reverie Saigon
The Reverie Saigon
#1 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
637 reviews
0.1 mi away
Park Hyatt Saigon
Park Hyatt Saigon
#3 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
2,310 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Majestic Saigon
Hotel Majestic Saigon
#43 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
2,911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caravelle Saigon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caravelle Saigon

Property: Caravelle Saigon
Address: 19-23 Lam Son Square, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam (Formerly Caravelle Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#6 Business Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#9 Romantic Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#10 Luxury Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#10 Spa Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#12 Family Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Caravelle Saigon 5*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Caravelle Saigon is one of Ho Chi Minh City's leading international 5-star hotels - in the centre of the business, shopping and entertainment district, 8 km from Tan Son Nhat International Airport. The Hotel opened in 1959 with modern design combining French and Vietnamese architecture and to this day the address and service ensures we have kept our iconic landmark status in the Heart of Saigon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Caravelle Saigon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caravelle Ho Chi Minh City
Caravelle Hotel Saigon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing