We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good start to our holiday”
Review of Caravelle Saigon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Caravelle Saigon
Ranked #16 of 457 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“good start to our holiday”
Reviewed May 29, 2011

Stayed here at the beginning of our recent holiday for 2 nights. It is very central in what felt like a safe part of town. The staff were friendly & helpful. That said, I did ask for a quiet room but we were put up on the 17th overlooking the work site that did not stop all night!! Fortunately, the windows were double glazed. The breakfasts were great &, on reflection, probably one of the best in nearly 3 weeks in Vn. The bed was huge & very comfortable & I loved the pillow menu. I found the hotel to be deserving of it's 5 star rating & I was glad that our tour organiser picked this hotel. The only negative I would add is that I thought there was a funny smell near the foyer on our last day there - like the dirty water from old flowers, but no-one else seemed to notice it. The staff couldn't smell it, but I certainly could. Would not put me off staying there again though. All in all a nice hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank peegeeSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,714 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,603
    851
    194
    41
    25
See reviews for
381
1,110
160
587
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (529)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2011

Spectacular location, fantastic service, friendly and welcoming staff, superbly clean rooms and modern bathroom. wonderful pool with modern gym and spa facilities. The business lounge is very, very good and truely value for money. In my opinion Caravelle is the best hotel in Saigon and can compete with any top hotels of the world. It will possibly win the competition.

Have no fear ... go for it with your eyes closed. You will surely enjoy.

Room Tip: Go for the high floor business rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sen80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2011

I have stayed in many hotels around the world and without a doubt ths hotel has the best bed I have sleeped in great breaky as well.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OzziePat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2011

This hotel is centrally located in the luxury area of town, rooms are very clean and the service is great except the business center staff. It took them hours to solve two simple problems I faced, but it was eventually resolved. The pool is absolutely stunning along with the spa and the food at the hotel is superb with many Korean influences.

Room Tip: Non Smoking High Floor Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank pickyprincess77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2011

Location - Good. Price 5*, Room quality 3-4*, bathroom 3*. Customer service 2*. Value for money - poor.

If you wanted fruit in your room.... you had to join thier 'Customer loyality' program .... what a joke! Every other hotel we stayed at in Veitnam provided fresh fruit....daily!

Staff generally polite & helpful (EXCEPT for duty manager on day of check-out).
Laundry problem (near checkout time).... took 4 phones calls to front desk before duty manager would speak to me! Then on check out they demanded payment for laundry even though it was agreed earlier that we would not be charged! Duty manager would NOT come to front desk to talk to us....! :-((
Very disappointing.
5*hotel....Don't think so.... bearly 3*. Won't stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Annutka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maitland South Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2011

Loved it here! Room was very comfy. Staff friendly and efficient. Terrific breakfast. Would stay here again any day. Thank you

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Beth5573
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2011

We booked the Caravelle Hotel for 2 nights after reading the reviews on TA. On arrival we were taken to the Club Lounge for a swift check in and after a cold drink we were taken to our suite. We picked a suite, which was a little more expensive than we would usually pay, due to the fact it had a balcony in which to view the city life of HCM.

The suite was huge, with kitchen facilities, lounge and dressing room. Internet was accessible in the room. The view was as we expected was exceptional and we sat late at night watching the manic traffic below and wondering at the sights of Saigon.

Location of the hotel was good and convenient for all the local sightseeing. The swimming pool was really nice, with each sun bed having a conical on it – good touch! Only drawback for the pool was that it does not get the sun later in the afternoon.

The Club Lounge facilities were comfortable and adequate – not the best food we have had, however, it was passable. The staff could have been a bit friendlier at times but this would not stop us from booking this hotel in the future.

Breakfast in the Lounge was again okay, limited choice but you could find something to cater for most palettes.

We paid Saigon Saigon a visit and in our opinion it was far nicer than the rooftop bar at the Rex Hotel which seemed to be geared solely for tourists, Saigon Saigon had that special feel and atmosphere. The real find was the little German beer house to the right of the hotel where the drinks were so much cheaper than the hotel and the atmosphere relaxed and cosmopolitan.

Good choice of hotel for us – ticked all the boxes and we enjoyed our stay in the city.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Katco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.2 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside...
#18 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,595 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Nikko Saigon
Hotel Nikko Saigon
#5 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
3,398 reviews
0.2 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint...
#11 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Saigon Hotel & Towers
Sheraton Saigon Hotel & Towers
#28 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
2,040 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Majestic Saigon
Hotel Majestic Saigon
#43 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
2,967 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Reverie Saigon
The Reverie Saigon
#1 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caravelle Saigon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caravelle Saigon

Property: Caravelle Saigon
Address: 19-23 Lam Son Square, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam (Formerly Caravelle Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#6 Business Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#9 Romantic Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#11 Spa Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#12 Family Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#13 Luxury Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Caravelle Saigon 5*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Caravelle Saigon is one of Ho Chi Minh City's leading international 5-star hotels - in the centre of the business, shopping and entertainment district, 8 km from Tan Son Nhat International Airport. The Hotel opened in 1959 with modern design combining French and Vietnamese architecture and to this day the address and service ensures we have kept our iconic landmark status in the Heart of Saigon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Caravelle Saigon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caravelle Ho Chi Minh City
Caravelle Hotel Saigon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing