We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean, affordable accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Empress Hotel IMS Ho Chi Minh
Ranked #187 of 458 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Reviewed November 10, 2011

Stayed at the beginng of our trip and at the end. Very clean, English speaking, central to almost everything a or a short taxi ride.... good value for money

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank allishae02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (189)
There are newer reviews for Empress Hotel IMS Ho Chi Minh
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

49 - 55 of 189 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2011

Nice clean hotel. I am solo traveller so a standard single room is exactly that. A double bed would not be able fit in the room. Clean bathroom housekeeping everyday. My room was at the back so super quiet. A window that is frosted so cannot see out but does let light in. Tv with many channels breakfast is not great but its ok. Don't depend on it for your daily meal if budgeting. Hotel within walking distance to backpacker area except you have to cross many busy roads to get there. no restaurants in immediate vicinity but again just a short walk away. Taxi always out front $2 to take you anywhere anyway. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 007sg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2011

Our family (two adults, two teenagers) stayed in two deluxe suites in Sep 2011. About A$48/suite/night. The “suite” was two small rooms with a connecting door. The amenities were good and room was quiet. Staff at front desk a bit indifferent, the rest of the staff were good. Location is all right but a bit of a walk to major attractions (about 1.5km to the Ben Thanh market). Nevertheless, taxis are very cheap.
Breakfast was provided in a small restaurant next door and was terrible. Selection was poor and staff were unhelpful.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nuages
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2011

Three of us as a family stayed for 4 nights here in September 2011. It is not in the downtown area and at first we thought it might be a problem, but in the end we found it allowed us to see quite interesting areas of the city and it isn't very far from the centre. Taxis are very inexpensive, provided you use a reputable firm such as Vinasun (white cars with green and red stripes). Staff were friendly and helpful and the rooms are reasonable, offering very good value for money. This is a 2 star hotel, but it was quite adequate. Our rooms had free wi-fi and there is a business centre if you need to do any printing. Beds were very comfortable (firm). Buffet breakfast was a little disappointing but we didn't go hungry.
Crossing the road in the city is quite an experience. Traffic (mostly motor bikes) just never stops and you have to walk through moving traffic, eyeballing the drivers and they go round you - scary at first.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Pompeyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2011

Ho Chi Min city reminds me of a swarm of army ant on the march. If you have to stay there, the Empress is very good. Very well priced. Good value for money. Rooms are small but clean and in good condition. Staff are excellent. Very helpful and polite. There is always someone available who speaks adequate English. Meals are very good and cheap.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 28martin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2011

These guys certainly went above expectations when we went to check in and realised I had booked the wrong date for 4 days later. I admitted my error and the team were happy to check us in without any excessive fees (in fact, about $5 cheaper than what I originally paid). They advised me to cancel my booking.com booking I had for the later date, but I found out later I'd be spending more in cancelling it so wasn't worth it.

The staff were friendly, accommodating and knowledgeable. The attached restaurant, though a little dear for Saigon standards (still only $20 AUD for 2 so good in Western terms) served up AMAZING dishes. I recommend the spring rolls and baked potato for starters!

The room was small; our luggage lay across the floor, but the shower was possibly the best we had on our 2 week trip (including a 5 star hotel in Bangkok) with a great temperature and water pressure. Mini bar items were about $4 for a small spirit and $1 for a packet of crisps.

The only downside was the locaton. While it is still walking distance to the main attractions through a park, we had another hotel booked for the remaining 2 nights in HCMC which was a stones throw from Ben Thann market and we felt much more apart of the atmosphere at this hotel than Empress.

Overall, I would recommend to others on a budget, but just be aware it isn't in the 'heart' of things - but only by a couple of blocks.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JacJac82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2011

The hotel is discreet and very homely. For the price, it is very good. There are no bars or karaoke so the environment is neat, clean and private. The staff knows you well so no strangers can hang around. That's make it a safe hotel for lady traveller. Great job by David, Emily, Kent and the excellent concierge. I did not get his name but he knows exactly what you need. I will definitely visit this hotel if I go to HCM again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WuiHengLim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.3 mi away
No photo provided
Little Brick Saigon Hotel
#193 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
2 reviews
0.3 mi away
Meraki Boutique Hotel
Meraki Boutique Hotel
#159 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
25 reviews
0.4 mi away
Alagon City Point Hotel & Spa
Alagon City Point Hotel & Spa
#164 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
zoolut Stay 271
zoolut Stay 271
#102 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
163 reviews
0.4 mi away
Liberty Hotel Saigon Greenview
Liberty Hotel Saigon Greenview
#109 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
364 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sunrise Central Hotel
Sunrise Central Hotel
#149 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Empress Hotel IMS Ho Chi Minh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Empress Hotel IMS Ho Chi Minh

Address: 136 Bui Thi Xuan Street, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #187 of 458 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range: $39 - $61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Empress Hotel IMS Ho Chi Minh 2.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Empress Hotel IMS Ho Chi Minh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Empress Hotel Ho Chi Minh City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing