We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and a very nice hotel!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Hotel Saigon ( Kimdo Hotel)

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Royal Hotel Saigon ( Kimdo Hotel)
Ranked #98 of 448 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Israel
Level Contributor
237 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Great location and a very nice hotel!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

Stayed 2 nights in this hotel while on a tour of Vietnam. The location is fantastic, right in the center of the city, close to the city hall, the opera and a short walking distance to the market. Very attentive and polite staff, very good rooms, great airconditioning. Can't comment about the price, as it was payed by a tour company. The only problem was a blocked sink in a bathroom, but this can happen in any hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lidguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    171
    109
    37
    12
See reviews for
80
107
51
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

I was on vacation last November 2012 to witness my friend's wedding in HCMC and decided upon this hotel which is also known as Saigon Royal Hotel. The location is great as it is smack within the city area near the famous REX Hotel, but its definitely overpriced. The service and breakfast offered is reasonably good and need improvement.
Room and toilet are a tad bit small but its clean and acceptable.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Harold C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

We booked this hotel for 4 nights to stay in HCM whilst visiting a friend for the last few days of our trip. As the weather in the north of Vietnam was pretty dreary, we decided to book a more expensive hotel to take advantage of the pool facilities advertised in between visiting the tourist spots. However do not be fooled! We booked this hotel on the basis that there is an outdoor pool with sun lounge area, which superficially, yes there is! However, the 'outdoor' pool is just half the indoor pool but it is covered with vines and greenery, therefore hardly the outside pool we expected. The sun lounge area is small and overlooked by High rise buildings, thus little time for sun bathing..on reflection, in the middle of a city, we should have expected this!
I was really upset that we had paid the pricey costs for staying here, having to pay additional money to get to a nicer pool for a chill out period between our manic city viewing!
The time we did spend at the hotel was just to get some sleep. Our room on the 6th floor had an ok view of the Rex rooftop terrace bar but not a lot else other than the neighbouring buildings roof. The bed was huge and quite comfortable and the bathroom, although small, was pleasant. There is an in room safe and you get complimentary water and daily paper but other than that, we didn't feel the price was worth it. We did get a good reception from the staff who speak good English and the concierge and waitress staff are very helpful. All in all, an alright stay in a good location, but I wish we had stayed in the £15/night inc breakfast hotel round the corner which we knew, for the same service.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Evie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

Pros: The location of this hotel was fantastic for exploring HCMC. The room was large and the bed huge. The breakfasts were good with a large selection of western and Asian food. The staff were generally very helpful.

Cons: Whilst the room was superficially very clean, I saw a number of cockroaches (mostly in the bathroom). I'd agree with the earlier comments about the room feeling like a prison cell, it was very clinical...

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sussex-on-holiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuantan
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

I spent 3 nights in the Kimdo and whilst not the most amazing hotel it was ok - comfy beds, large rooms, a decent buffet and friendly and polite staff. However I was sincerely dissapointed with the hotel's fitness suite on the final night. First I found I would have to pay simply to use the pool - ridiculous in a hotel in this price bracket. However worse was to come. Having had a pretty busy three days I decided to book in for a massage assuming that in a hotel such as this both the quality and professionalism would be of a high standard. Whilst I admit that the massage started off excellently I did not expect to be offered 'special services'. A severe disappointment.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Justin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ho Chi Minh City hotels

Bel Alton, Maryland
Level Contributor
162 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

The name of this hotel changed last year to Royal Hotel Saigon, but most websites still use the old "Kim Do" name. We chose the hotel to spend a few nights in Saigon during the week before Tet holiday bega. Located on Nguyen Hue (the street of flowers and center of Tet festivities) and only a short distance from Le Loi Street, it is very close to the Tax Building Dept. Store and within easy walking distance to Ben Thanh Market. We also chose it because it offered a room for 4 adults. The size of the room was smaller than anticipated, but it accommodated 4 single beds in a row. The bathroom was half the size I have previously found in Saigon 4 star hotels. Royal is rated as a 4 star hotel. Hotel staff were fine. The dining room for the included breakfast buffet offered a nice view down onto Nguyen Hue. The buffet was the customary Asian/Western mix. It was good, though nothing to motivate a return. My wife made clear I should stick to known 4 star hotels, but since this visit was for location, it served its purpose admirably. Nothing else about the hotel argued for a return visit. More appropriately rated as a 3 star hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank phd842
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

Pros: Lovely to have a swimming pool (although it could use a good clean), fantastic location and very nice rooms on the upper floors. Breakfast was ok, pretty odd (by both Asian and Western standards), but free.

Cons: no windows or any light on any rooms lower than the 6th floor, they were like prison cells, in order to guarantee a window and any light at all, you need to get a premium deluxe room (which is 4 levels above the standard room). We agreed for a price for the upgrade to something even remotely liveable for our entire stay, and on check out they charged us for that price for each night, almost doubling our bill. that's all understandable, but the attitude of the staff was abismal, incredibly unproffessional, and rude, we felt like criminals for booking on the internet with a cheaper rate. In the tens of years of travelling and hundreds of hotels in which I have stayed, these were without a doubt the most unpleasant staff I have come across. If you can get a great deal online, then make sure you get the premium deluxe room, but if you're paying anything like the normal rate, then just go elsewhere, or you'll be sorely disappointed.

Room Tip: Make absolutely sure that you have an upper floor room - most of the rooms in the hotel have no day...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lucytaffles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.1 mi away
Palace Hotel Saigon
Palace Hotel Saigon
#156 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
0.1 mi away
Huong Sen Hotel
Huong Sen Hotel
#46 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
0.4 mi away
Golden Central Hotel
Golden Central Hotel
#80 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Millennium Boutique Hotel
Millennium Boutique Hotel
#39 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
0.1 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint...
#10 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,355 reviews
0.3 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Centre Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Centre Ho...
#45 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Hotel Saigon ( Kimdo Hotel)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hotel Saigon ( Kimdo Hotel)

Property: Royal Hotel Saigon ( Kimdo Hotel)
Address: 133 Nguyen Hue Avenue, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam (Formerly Kimdo Royal City Hotel)
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#56 Luxury Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Hotel Saigon ( Kimdo Hotel) 4*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strategically located in the heart of the Ho Chi Minh City - Nguyen Hue Boulevard - The most modern pedestrian square of Vietnam. Royal Hotel Saigon is a luxury 4-star hotel offering a refined and relaxing environment for business and leisure travellers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Fastbooking so you can book your Royal Hotel Saigon ( Kimdo Hotel) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Kimdo Royal City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing