We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but overpriced”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Royal Hotel Saigon ( Kimdo Hotel)
Ranked #102 of 465 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

Pros: The location of this hotel was fantastic for exploring HCMC. The room was large and the bed huge. The breakfasts were good with a large selection of western and Asian food. The staff were generally very helpful.

Cons: Whilst the room was superficially very clean, I saw a number of cockroaches (mostly in the bathroom). I'd agree with the earlier comments about the room feeling like a prison cell, it was very clinical...

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sussex-on-holiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (448)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

171 - 177 of 448 reviews

Reviewed February 23, 2013

I spent 3 nights in the Kimdo and whilst not the most amazing hotel it was ok - comfy beds, large rooms, a decent buffet and friendly and polite staff. However I was sincerely dissapointed with the hotel's fitness suite on the final night. First I found I would have to pay simply to use the pool - ridiculous in a hotel in this price bracket. However worse was to come. Having had a pretty busy three days I decided to book in for a massage assuming that in a hotel such as this both the quality and professionalism would be of a high standard. Whilst I admit that the massage started off excellently I did not expect to be offered 'special services'. A severe disappointment.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Justin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

The name of this hotel changed last year to Royal Hotel Saigon, but most websites still use the old "Kim Do" name. We chose the hotel to spend a few nights in Saigon during the week before Tet holiday bega. Located on Nguyen Hue (the street of flowers and center of Tet festivities) and only a short distance from Le Loi Street, it is very close to the Tax Building Dept. Store and within easy walking distance to Ben Thanh Market. We also chose it because it offered a room for 4 adults. The size of the room was smaller than anticipated, but it accommodated 4 single beds in a row. The bathroom was half the size I have previously found in Saigon 4 star hotels. Royal is rated as a 4 star hotel. Hotel staff were fine. The dining room for the included breakfast buffet offered a nice view down onto Nguyen Hue. The buffet was the customary Asian/Western mix. It was good, though nothing to motivate a return. My wife made clear I should stick to known 4 star hotels, but since this visit was for location, it served its purpose admirably. Nothing else about the hotel argued for a return visit. More appropriately rated as a 3 star hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phd842
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Pros: Lovely to have a swimming pool (although it could use a good clean), fantastic location and very nice rooms on the upper floors. Breakfast was ok, pretty odd (by both Asian and Western standards), but free.

Cons: no windows or any light on any rooms lower than the 6th floor, they were like prison cells, in order to guarantee a window and any light at all, you need to get a premium deluxe room (which is 4 levels above the standard room). We agreed for a price for the upgrade to something even remotely liveable for our entire stay, and on check out they charged us for that price for each night, almost doubling our bill. that's all understandable, but the attitude of the staff was abismal, incredibly unproffessional, and rude, we felt like criminals for booking on the internet with a cheaper rate. In the tens of years of travelling and hundreds of hotels in which I have stayed, these were without a doubt the most unpleasant staff I have come across. If you can get a great deal online, then make sure you get the premium deluxe room, but if you're paying anything like the normal rate, then just go elsewhere, or you'll be sorely disappointed.

Room Tip: Make absolutely sure that you have an upper floor room - most of the rooms in the hotel have no day...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lucytaffles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

We have chosen this hotel for our last stopover in HCMC, and we did not regret it. Location is just perfect, close to shopping malls of Vincom Tower, Opera House. Rooms are spacious (at least our was), not modern, a bit outdated, but still more than OK. Breakfast was just amazing!

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mirooke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

We booked this hotel with agoda on a 50 percent off special ( A$45 + taxes ) and were very happy with it for the price, It was spotlessly clean and rooms were big and confortable. It is amongst old french hotels such as the Rex, Carvavelle and Continental and a great location on a wide boulevard . The older part of the hotel dates back to the French Occupation .There is a great department store and supermarket right next door.. The staff kept the hotel immaculately clean .

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andreakim0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

The hotel is beautiful. The rooms are very nicely furnished, attractive, and comfortable. The staff is helpful and most appear to speak English. Nice health spa area with a pool. If you want an American-style breakfast they will cook you eggs, omelettes, and pancakes. The surrounding area is also great for dining and shopping. It's a little more expensive than some other hotels, but still moderately priced compared to similar hotels in the U.S. and Europe.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DaytonDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.2 mi away
Saigon Prince Hotel
Saigon Prince Hotel
#65 of 465 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,368 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palace Hotel Saigon
Palace Hotel Saigon
#157 of 465 in Ho Chi Minh City
615 reviews
0.1 mi away
Huong Sen Hotel
Huong Sen Hotel
#51 of 465 in Ho Chi Minh City
607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Harmony Saigon Hotel & Spa
Harmony Saigon Hotel & Spa
#33 of 465 in Ho Chi Minh City
664 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bong Sen Hotel Saigon
Bong Sen Hotel Saigon
#122 of 465 in Ho Chi Minh City
528 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Silverland Hotel & SPA
Grand Silverland Hotel & SPA
#29 of 465 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Hotel Saigon ( Kimdo Hotel)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hotel Saigon ( Kimdo Hotel)

Address: 133 Nguyen Hue Avenue, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam (Formerly Kimdo Royal City Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#55 Luxury Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range: $64 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Hotel Saigon ( Kimdo Hotel) 4*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strategically located in the heart of the Ho Chi Minh City - Nguyen Hue Boulevard - The most modern pedestrian square of Vietnam. Royal Hotel Saigon is a luxury 4-star hotel offering a refined and relaxing environment for business and leisure travellers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Expedia, Fastbooking, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Royal Hotel Saigon ( Kimdo Hotel) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Kimdo Royal City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing