We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There are certainly better hotels in HCMC”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Royal Hotel Saigon ( Kimdo Hotel)
Ranked #103 of 468 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Reviewed December 21, 2012

The good thing regarding this hotel is its location right in the center of HCMC. And that's about it.

The rooms are on the small side, 'dated' is the best possible description for furniture and bathroom.

During our three-week trip to Vietnam, the staff at this hotel was definitely the most unfriendly and unhelpful we encountered. Not what you usually find in this country.

The breakfast buffet fit in quite well with the overall expression: Poor selection, poor service, very limited quantities.

We are certainly going to stay at another hotel next time.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Horst S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (449)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

182 - 188 of 449 reviews

Reviewed November 21, 2012

The room which I stayed was the Super Deluxe located on the 8th floor. Nice rooms and comfortable bed and pillows but rather dated furniture. Water pressure is a bit weak in the bathtub but room overall is clean. However the 9th floor is a function room and if a function is held during the weekend, the dragging and banging of the floor above can be heard loud and clear. My experience was it started from 3pm till around 5pm and then started from 10pm till about 11.30pm when they started to packing up.

The 2 lifts serving the room are also rather small and with a function, you'll have to wait for a couple times before you can go in.

The breakfast is a let down with little to choose from and nothing changes daily. The juices are served without chill and so as the milk. The breakfast area often becomes packed and not enough waiters are around to clear the tables. Even after clearing, it is still littered with the last users food droppings and sugar etc. A very unpleasant breakfast for both my colleague and me daily.

The area location is good for tourist and almost everyone knows a little bit of English. The internet often get disconnected for my floor and I have to tap to 1 floor below.

Overall, not a hotel that I would recommend if I am on vacation as there are tons of hotels around the area at that price.

Room Tip: Avoid the 8th floor for a good rest during the weekends when functions are held. If better, get the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ykhppc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

We booked this hotel during our last year trips to HCMC for 2 person via hotel website & got an upgrade to bigger room for the same price. Free Wifi in the room & complementary basket of fruits daily really nice comparing to the price we pay. Limited view from our room.

Breakfast is good but a bit limited for us as all food mix-up with each other. It's really good if they can have a vegetarian sections. But for those Muslim traveler, halal food is just a walk away. You can just walk to the nearby restaurant for your meals.

Next to this hotel, there is a shopping mall. It's really convenient for last minutes shopping when we bought the famous Vietnam coffee with cheaper price here. Shopping here more comfortable but price a bit expansive compare to outside. Please bargain until you get the price you want.

Where some hotel located in a back alley, we really happy with our choice as this hotel really located in the main road. Don't know how to describe, but we feel safe here!

Room Tip: Ask for a room have a better city view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AzlynnaA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Stayed there 2 times. For 3 weeks and for 1 night. Nothing special.
Good location in the center. No view at all (some technical inner yard).
Didn't eat their breakfast (although it was included) as it is much better to eat in the nearest "Pho 24".
Stayed second time here just because had no booking in advance. Found another hotel next day.
Paid abt usd 100 for standard room and abt usd 145 for luxury one.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank xMIGx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

I stayed 1 night in this hotel. The stuff and responsive. The breakfast was delicios and varied. Good location - at the centre of Ho Chi Minh City, near the City's square and Rex hotel. Massage was not very well, not strong, massage stuff is obsessive.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maxim77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

The Kimdo looks like a first class hotel, and the property is beautiful. We had contact with three people at reception, two bellhops and two people at the pool. All of them were unfriendly to us. The only one who smiled at all was the woman who greeted us at the door. The room was very average for this price category.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TallTanguero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We are sorry to report that this hotel did not live up to our expectations. Yes, it is centrally located , the breakfasts are good and the rooms fairly well appointed. But of all the hotels we stayed in in South East Asia, this one was the least enjoyable.

Firstly communication was quite a problem. We had a trip booked for the Mekong and were due to be picked up at 8.30 am. Our driver arrived at 7.30 and reported his presence in the waiting area to reception. We duly arrived at 8.25 am and waited half an hour before "Reception" remembered they had to report the driver's presence to us.

We also had a problem with cockroaches - or our teenagers did. I didn't see any but after seeing some on the first night we asked the room to be treated and apparently they still returned on the second night.

Also, one of the reasons we picked this hotel was for the pool and the Fitness centre (which turned out to be in its first construction stages - maybe we just misinterpreted this!). But there was a charge to use the pool which I thought was ridiculous, and not only that but the pool were disagreeably cold (this was in August when the temperatures in HCMC were high) and the whole experience was ruined by a bored looking Vietnamese girl in charge of the pool who seemed annoyed by my presence and did not make me feel welcome at all.

If we were returning to this area, we would not return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lalyonnaise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.2 mi away
Saigon Prince Hotel
Saigon Prince Hotel
#65 of 468 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,383 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palace Hotel Saigon
Palace Hotel Saigon
#160 of 468 in Ho Chi Minh City
617 reviews
0.1 mi away
Huong Sen Hotel
Huong Sen Hotel
#50 of 468 in Ho Chi Minh City
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bong Sen Hotel Saigon
Bong Sen Hotel Saigon
#125 of 468 in Ho Chi Minh City
530 reviews
0.9 mi away
Harmony Saigon Hotel & Spa
Harmony Saigon Hotel & Spa
#33 of 468 in Ho Chi Minh City
680 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Silverland Hotel & SPA
Grand Silverland Hotel & SPA
#29 of 468 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Hotel Saigon ( Kimdo Hotel)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hotel Saigon ( Kimdo Hotel)

Address: 133 Nguyen Hue Avenue, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam (Formerly Kimdo Royal City Hotel)
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#55 Luxury Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range: $65 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Hotel Saigon ( Kimdo Hotel) 4*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strategically located in the heart of the Ho Chi Minh City - Nguyen Hue Boulevard - The most modern pedestrian square of Vietnam. Royal Hotel Saigon is a luxury 4-star hotel offering a refined and relaxing environment for business and leisure travellers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Fastbooking, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Royal Hotel Saigon ( Kimdo Hotel) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Kimdo Royal City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing