We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Airport pick-up? No thank you.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lotte Legend Hotel Saigon
Ranked #21 of 457 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
223 reviews
145 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 594 helpful votes
“Airport pick-up? No thank you.”
Reviewed November 11, 2011

A helpful website suggested that, as Ho Chi Minh City's airport is a mere 7.5km (4.5 miles) from the downtown hotel area, hotels should be asked if they provided a pick-up service for guests. My email to the Legend brought a quick reply saying they would happily provide this for 55 US dollars and 44 cents, including tax and service charge. The first taxi driver that I approached outside the arrivals hall could barely conceal his delight when I accepted his price of 10 US dollars without first trying to knock him down to the going rate of about 7!

As to the hotel itself, it is simply superb. Our deluxe riverview room was large, bright and spacious, was very attractively furnished and carpeted and had wonderfully comfortable beds and pillows.

The large sparkling-clean bathroom with bath and efficient shower, came with a big tray of toiletries and huge snow-white bath sheets and hand towels.

Buffet breakfasts were quite splendid, with several chefs on duty to prepare food to order as well as an incredible range of dishes. We had not planned to eat all evening meals in the hotel but finished up doing so after just one meal in the Atrium Cafe and another in the Crystal Jade Chinese Restaurant. The highly popular (booking essential) evening buffet in the Atrium had to be seen to be believed. It was impossible to count the number of different dishes on offer and almost impossible to count the number of chefs in attendance. By Vietnam standards the buffet was expensive at about 44 US dollars per person but this included free flow wines (perfectly palatable), beers and water.

Staff in all departments were smart, friendly, extremely helpful and trained to a very high standard. All doors, other than those into the bedrooms, were manned and lobby staff pressed the elevator buttons as soon as they saw guests approaching and kept the doors open!

This hotel is not for someone on a strict budget but is worth every penny and is one to which we shall certainly return in the future.

Room Tip: It's worth paying extra for a deluxe riverview room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank billyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,513 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    979
    429
    75
    21
    9
See reviews for
232
492
101
377
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
perth
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2011

my family stayed here early October,Def worth the $$, very clean and spacious. great location for shopping .

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank raindrops2226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2011

Good location overlooking river - arrived late in the evening with tired children. Ordered room service, something we rarely do and it was actually very good.
We really enjoyed our three nights at the Legend. Would book again.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Terryh2c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton of Zurich, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2011

Overlooking the Saigon river from the Executive lounge is fantastic. The lobby is prestiguous and the staff friendly. Pricing is reasonable. The buffet behind the lobby is excellent and you get a nice view on the quiet pool side.

Especially nice was the experience I made with the housekeeping staff. I left some laundry to be picked up and got it back in the evening. The girl which brought it did put an envelope on top of the clothes. Inside were 500'000 Dong. As I did not know why and from whom I did receive the money I called housekeeping and got informed that the girl apparently found that money in one of my clothes pockets! What a nice surprise to find such honest staff.

I was in at least four 5 star hotels in Ho Chi Minh before and I definitely prefer Legend!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jadore88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 27, 2011

The service was amazing. We loved staying here. The second we arrived there were maybe 17 to 20 staff members there to greet us. They took in our bags and gave us flowers and gave us refreshments as we checked in (and they all smiled and were so nice). Although we booked the cheapest rooms on the internet, the rooms looked beautiful. They had marble in the bathroom and were soooooo clean. The beds were comfortable and the view was so beautiful. The Vietnam restaurant was very nice. If you are staying in Ho Chi Minh city and want to spend the extra money and want to stay somewhere nice. This is the best hotel. I also recommend their hotel in Ho Chi Minh city.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laila J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2011

this is a five star hotel and lives up to this status.Old fashioned service ie lift man to greet you and summon the lift.Large spacious room excellent food with a relaxed atmosphere.
Shuttle bus takes you into the heart of town which is a 10 min walk away.
Stay here you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Ask for river view better than the view of the town
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank schalcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Culver City, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2011

When I checked in the hotel did not want to even give my friend a drink of orange juice without showing ID. Very stingy, snotty staff, only like foreigners with bucks, rooms are small in the so call executive class. I am in the hotel right now an wish I stayed at the Soufitel, maybe that the way commie countries treat guest of the guest, like crap.

Room Tip: Small room for the cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Rcranga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
1.9 mi away
Hotel Nikko Saigon
Hotel Nikko Saigon
#5 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
3,398 reviews
0.3 mi away
Caravelle Saigon
Caravelle Saigon
#16 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
2,714 reviews
0.3 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside...
#18 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Le Meridien Saigon
Le Meridien Saigon
#22 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
687 reviews
0.5 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint...
#11 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,565 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Saigon Plaza
Sofitel Saigon Plaza
#19 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
2,098 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lotte Legend Hotel Saigon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lotte Legend Hotel Saigon

Property: Lotte Legend Hotel Saigon
Address: 2A - 4A Ton Duc Thang St, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 457 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Lotte Legend Hotel Saigon 5*
Number of rooms: 283
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fronting the scenic Saigon River and only 3-5 minute walk to famous Opera House, Dong Khoi Street and Le Thanh Ton Street for shopping, dining and entertainment, Lotte Legend Hotel Saigon, the most beloved 5-star hotel in Ho Chi Minh City, combines natural beauty and sheer opulence to provide the best for the discerning traveler. The breathtaking resort-setting and its distinctive architectural interior gives a feeling of luxury and tranquility. A legendary hotel inherits good and ancient Vietnam with garden falls, pond and fountain. The top pattern of the bronze drum, symbol of the sun, from ancient times, frames the entrance of guest rooms. The twelve horary signs in the atrium, the lobby surrounded by colonnades and the giant horse sculptures all of which induce you to meander in the space of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lotte Legend Hotel Saigon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing