We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“do not stay here!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Palace Hotel Saigon
Ranked #155 of 457 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“do not stay here!!!”
Reviewed June 14, 2012

My husband and i stayed here for 4 nights. It is has to be the worst hotel we have ever stayed in and we have travelled a lot. On arriving we were shown our room, suitcases delivered that was it.
No smiles no welcome drink nothing. Girl on tour desk very rude and didn't speak very good english,we ended up going and booking day tours at other hotels they were brilliant.Staff all looked very unhappy. Rooms were comfortable and good location, but it all ends there. Breakfast was very poor not much to choose from, they don't top up as food is emptying. Waited 15mins for a bit of bacon and spring rolls, only to find the spring roll was raw inside, i wonder how many travellers had there holidays spoilt from food poisoning?? The food was also luke warm.I would never ever recommend this hotel to my worst enemy.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julie1262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

603 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    259
    148
    74
    58
See reviews for
82
187
65
83
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Bogor, Indonesia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2012

I was here for 3 days business trip. They said this is 4-star hotels with great location. Location was indeed great, walking distance to almost everywhere in city centre. This is absolutely the most value added thing of the hotels.

But 4-star... Not sure. I was here with 3 other colleagues at the same room rate. But surprisingly the room I stayed was different with my other friend. Apparently they have better room, larger. 22m square room was a bit too small for me. As I was there for business, the absence of space for working desk was a bit disappointed. There was a desk, but the space was full with TV (improper location I would say), cups, kettle, etc.. I kept working on the bed with my laptop, which is inconvenience.

Somehow I could smell something weird in the lobby. Bathroom was okay, but no bath-tube.

Breakfast was average. Not so impressed with the restaurant layout, very crowded. Excellent wifi speed though. Love it! The hotel was fully booked but remain fast connection.

Overall, considering the location, this would be a good option with reasonable price. But with the similar price, you might be able to find another 4-star hotel in river side with better experience.

Room Tip: Ask for city view room. The corner room was awful. And if you need good wifi, get somewhere around 9...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fara_Ardialisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2012

We just came back from HCMC 2 days ago. We booked a suite for 3 person and a standard double room for 2 inclusive of breakfast. The room is good (Though the floor tile looks tiring), We loved the buffet breakfast (the fruit should have a bit more variety).

We booked the water peppet show from the hotel and the front office staffs are friendly and I found them most helpful.

The location of the hotel is quite centralised and we walked around the city tourist's sports easily.

Keep up the good service and we will definitely stay with you again should we go back.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wywy88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evora, Portugal
Level Contributor
153 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2012

A very good location.
A very good staff
A poor breakfast

Room Tip: Do not stay at corner rooms are too small
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daniel l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KL
Level Contributor
101 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2012

Took the family suite to fit 4 beds, few hotels could do this at the price we got the room for.

Breakfast has a good spread but bland and average. Phuc long coffee and brodard bakery on the street just beside the hotel mac thi buoi street is good for breakfast options.

The hotel is close to all the shopping areas- high end Dong Khoi, Hai Ba Trung, kitschy Tan Ton Thiep, and other staples Le Loi, Nguyen Hue, Ben Thanh

Do get your tours from Pham Ngu Lao or Ben Thanh area as this hotel is at an upmarket though not intimidating location, therefore prices are higher. Otherwise hoi an express or Ben thanh tourist services are good options instead of hotel tour desks.

Walking distance to attractions - reunification palace, notredame, post office, war museum, Ben thanh. Hotel staff well prepared to direct you with the hotel map.

Be careful of fake taxis which may rip off with rigged meters, the better your hotel is, the higher the charge. Another taxi from the airport tried to keep the change but the hotel's trainee doorman saved the day by alluding that he would call the management and got our money back.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kicking_asphalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2012

This hotel has a very strategic location being within walking distance to the opera house, with fantastic viewing points.

We got a spacious room overlooking the main street. This is important as many hotels in HCM does not have a real window in the room. WIFI is good and available from room, no password required. Now that is convenient.

We also enjoyed the fact that it is in the same area where designer brands are located. Gucci, louboutin, LV are down the same block.

The breakfast fare looks good but tastes bland. I would give that a skip and look for noodles downthe road instead.

Across the street, the bars came alive at night. Rooftop bar at Rex hotel is just down a blok too.

It is a most convenient place to stay with easy landmarks to remember.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IamBoey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2012

Stayed here for 7 nights for business.

Pros:
Hotel is very well located and you will be within walking distance to Ben Thanh Market, Saigon Square, Opera House, etc. Otherwise hop onto a cab and it is only a couple of minutes ride. Our meter didn't even jump when we were tired out from shopping at Saigon square one night.

The rooms looked recently renovated and are very clean. Love the spotless bathroom.

Cons:
However, the bed is too hard for my liking. As a light sleeper, I was awakened early in the morning by the traffic on the main road.
The aircon in my room takes a long time to cool down the room.
The breakfast does not vary much and eating the same thing for a week is something to be desired.
One of the front desk lady is rather curt and rude. We were asking for late check out and were allowed only one hour extension for ONE room despite us staying for one week in 5 rooms.

All in all, I would not go back to this hotel as there are definitely others out there with comparable location and prices but better service.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nuaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.1 mi away
Royal Hotel Saigon ( Kimdo Hotel)
Royal Hotel Saigon ( Kimdo Hotel...
#102 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
430 reviews
0.0 mi away
Oscar Saigon Hotel
Oscar Saigon Hotel
#187 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
446 reviews
0.1 mi away
Huong Sen Hotel
Huong Sen Hotel
#45 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Saigon Prince Hotel
Saigon Prince Hotel
#60 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,275 reviews
0.1 mi away
Catina Hotel
Catina Hotel
#107 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
329 reviews
0.5 mi away
Golden Central Hotel
Golden Central Hotel
#83 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palace Hotel Saigon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palace Hotel Saigon

Property: Palace Hotel Saigon
Address: 56-66 Nguyen Hue Street, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #155 of 457 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Palace Hotel Saigon 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our four star flagship hotel is located in the heart of Ho Chi Minh City, with 144 luxuriously appointed rooms and suites, stunning views of Saigon Harbour, satellite TV, wireless internet access, plentiful hotel amenities and dedicated work areas, making this one of the best hotels in the city to combine business with pleasure.Generously appointed with four well-equipped meeting rooms, The Palace is one of the few hotels ideal for conferences and events, able to accommodate intimate social, business functions, conferences or training courses for up to 250 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Palace Hotel Saigon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing