We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Traditional hotel in good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Saigon Prince Hotel
Ranked #59 of 448 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
Tucson
Level Contributor
120 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Traditional hotel in good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

The Duxton Hotel Saigon was our home for 3 nights. We were assigned a very comfortable and spacious room in a quiet location. Both my husband and I really enjoyed our stay at the Duxton. We agree that this is a solid 4-star that offered comfortable rooms, value, very pleasant service by hotel staff, buffet breakfast, a fine location, and easy access to the net.

We were within easy walking distance of shops on Dong Khoi Street, the main shopping thoroughfare and heart of old colonial Saigon, and close to a good selection of restaurants, as well as the Opera House, the Post Office, the Saigon River and so on. We liked the Time Restaurant next door, and we were able to exchange our last Chinese RMB at Western Union a few blocks away (a couple of banks declined). There was a department store nearby, located on the same street to the left of the hotel as you exit it, that seemed to cater to tourists.....though we didn't buy anything there, others were and it was fun to look at some of the local products on the top floor.

My only complaint at the hotel, albeit minor, was getting coffee at breakfast.....a couple of times I just helped myself. Service at the buffet breakfast was not very attentive considering the # of staff, the # of guests, and the fact that all they really had to do was pour coffee or serve tea.

Despite that, we would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    340
    651
    189
    42
    17
See reviews for
167
521
90
203
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco Bay Area
Level Contributor
119 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

Duxton Hotel
> Rooms: spacious, comfortable beds, plenty of room to maneuver & even workout if you'd like
> Bathroom: sparkling clean, shower has a high step & narrow tub, both hot & cold water works fine, spartan yet convenient, don't be shy to request more towels
> Bed: Sleep like a baby if you're ok with a firm bed
> Scent: crisp & clean
> Sound: If you're on the street you can hear traffic like any hotel, hallways usually are very peaceful
> Clientele: Mostly Foreigners ranging from businesspersons to tourist (with families)
> Staff: Cordial & attentive, professional attire, cleaning crew more than willing to help
> Restaurant: You have to try their "BRUNCH"!!! Variety! Variety! Variety! Dim sum. Fresh local fruits (includes an orange-lke fruit with a green skin), pretty good cheeses, mince soups, bacon, waffles or pancakes, spicy fish patties, bacon (not cooked crisp enough yet still tasteful), plenty of juice options, local coffee is solid
> Value: On par to expectations but way better than standard international chains (you could vary well save up to $200 per night when comparing)
> Internet: Easy! Just acknowledge. No hassle. No punching in your room number. Open & go. Was here for about a week and never witnessed a dropped line (which happens to me in the states and other countries all the time). Speed work well for me just manage how many websites that you have open
> Security: No problem. Honestly, historically, most Communist countries tend to have a firm grip on random trouble-makers. So, if something beyond pick-pocketing happens to you then you must have been in the wrong place & doing something ... wrong too.
> Location: Walking distance to many of Ho Chi Minh City (Saigon)'s museums & cool restaurants

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Acommon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

The room was large, comfortle and clean. Staff were very helpful and welcoming. The buffet breakfast was enjoyable with a good choice for everyone. Hotel is in a great location in district 1. Within walking instance of mny of the main attractions..

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank traveller255057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

Third time i have stayed here on business. This time was on floor 6. as soon as got in the room it felt very damp. I asked to be moved which they did. The secind room was only slightly better and the other members of my party were in the same position. Not a good start

The decor of the room again was a little dated but overall was fine. Breakfasts were fine and of a similar stand to each hotel i have stayed in throughout Vietnam. I love the fountain with stairs either side when you pull up in the taxi. There is a bar area which allows a nice place to meet guests and relax. A piano is played at times which adds to the atmosphere. This hotel would have got a 2 star average if it had not been for these 2 features.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toon-of-macktoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
260 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

More of a business hotel, not great prices ie expensive but didn't seem to live up to it's star rating. The content of breakfast was OK but not for the price and nowhere near as good quality overall as we had in our tour,

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Notdunroaming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

This was my first time in Vietnam & my holiday got off to a great start at the Duxton. The staff were very friendly & couldn't have been more helpful. Rooms were very comfortable & very clean - restaurant was good too. There is a lovely little piano bar which is very relaxing & as I was on my own the first night I ordered food from the restaurant which was brought to me in the bar (where I was comfortably ensconced enjoying the music). The hotel desk also exchanges currency so I didn't have to look for somewhere to do that. They also provided me with a map & directions to go exploring the city. Would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank anie1902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

A good hotel with a great location for exploring the city. walking distance to the river and the city centre, friendly courteous staff, large clean bedroom with good views of the city. Breakfast was good with plenty of choice for everyone.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Traveller-on-Hols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.1 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside...
#15 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,468 reviews
0.3 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint...
#10 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,410 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Majestic Saigon
Hotel Majestic Saigon
#43 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Saigon
Grand Hotel Saigon
#38 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,137 reviews
0.2 mi away
Caravelle Saigon
Caravelle Saigon
#13 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,599 reviews
0.4 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Centre Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Centre Ho...
#44 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saigon Prince Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saigon Prince Hotel

Property: Saigon Prince Hotel
Address: 63 Nguyen Hue Boulevard, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam (Formerly Duxton Hotel Saigon)
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#36 Business Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#39 Luxury Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#45 Romantic Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Saigon Prince Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 191
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right in the heart of vibrant Ho Chi Minh City, on the famous walking road Nguyen Hue Boulevard the Saigon Prince Hotel is a 4-star boutique hotel offering a refined and relaxing environment for business and leisure traveller's alike. As well as a range of Deluxe rooms, Club rooms, Club Suites and Apartments, the Hotel also has a Restaurant, Bar, Gymnasium, Swimming pool, Spa, a Club Lounge and a Business Centre, along with 16 multi-functional meeting rooms. Within easy walking distance to many of the city's most famous attractions including Ben Thanh Market, Opera House, Museum, Notre Dame Cathedral, and Saigon river. The Saigon Prince Hotel is ideally located for those who want to experience the city's bustling nightlife, from cheerful street food vendors to chic cosmopolitan nightclubs and lounge bars. The hotel is simply less 7km away from Tan Son Nhat International Airport, less 5km to HCMC International Exhibition Centre (SECC), and right in the heart of the Central Business District. We are looking forward to welcoming you to our humble property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Saigon Prince Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duxton Hotel Saigon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing