We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Saigon Prince Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Saigon Prince Hotel
Ranked #57 of 426 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
Fareham, Hampshire, Uk
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights in May 2013. The hotel is situated near the riverfront, about a 2 minute walk. Modern building, with outside swimming pool, a gym and a spa. Nice bar near the lobby, drinks reasonably priced.

Originally booked a deluxe room but, as I was celebrating my 50th birthday my husband asked to upgrade to a club room at a slight surcharge but, it was worth it. The rooms were well equipped with a view towards the riverfront. As we were in club rooms you had the added bonus of having afternoon tea each day, my god the food they give you was lovely far too much for 2 people but, we managed to work our through it. You could also access this club room throughout the day for hot or cold drinks and snacks. Well worth the upgrade.

The staff here were very pleasant and efficient and met any queries we had.

Room Tip: Club rooms, higher floors and extra benefits, access to club lounge all through the day, afternoon t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracyandwill63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,079 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    287
    577
    165
    36
    14
See reviews for
152
452
77
177
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

the duxton. it may not be the biggest place in saigon but its smack bang in the middle of it all. cheerful people, clean, neat and lovely rooms. bed was to die for.a nice view from most rooms ours was of the river. close to all major buildings of interest which we walked in a morning.now the best bit. across the road in number 12. not nice from the outside but inside its all new. best massage ive had in 10 years of asian visiting. hot rock, cucumber face(bloody hell) vietnamese tiger balm head rub!!!!!!!!and a towel down. 90 minutes for $5.00 each. to the markets (2minutes) for a pineapple crush $1.50au,back to the hotel for a spa and a swim.
phattys aussie sports bar around the corner,el caio(sp) aussie owned italian 2 minutes away. both worth staying this end of town. we found three rooftop bars within 5 minutes of the duxton.rex,caravelle and sheraton. easy to find your way home. big signs on all hotels for tourists. we dont do war history, tunnels etc. only the new. cheers

Room Tip: walking in saigon,,,,,,, hold hands , walk at a steady pace and the motorbikes will miss you. dont s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yantina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Nice, hotel, wonderful staff (except the check in lady who left in the middle of checking us in to serve someone else...)
Nice clean rooms, decent enough size, FREEZING aircon though, we struggled to get the room at a nice temperature.
Breakfast was a nice mix of Asian and Western style food, and there was a nice bar in the lobby. the lobby bar had a pianist which was nice entertainment but stopped at 9pm, ourselves and other guests commented that they had returned to the bar for a quiet drink and to listen to the music before bed, perhaps even continuing until 10pm would make a difference.
Pool was nothing special, but was nice and clean and good for a little dip after wandering around Saigon.

Location is fantastic, 5 mins from river, and lots of good restaurants around. La Nicoise we took from other recommendations on tripadvisor was fantastic, the Italian restaurant we were not so impressed with.

Would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank freedomyears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We stayed two nights here up on the 7th floor. Room was a typical corporate room but to a good standard and appreciated in the busy, chaotic city of Saigon. Interestingly the locals seem to prefer to call the place Saigon rather than Ho Chi Min City as it is called after the Saigon river and the name has been in use for a couple of hundred years.

Breakfast is good and the staff attentive and speak good English.

Only minor point is that they insist on playing music over the speakers in the hallways which can be heard inside the room. The first night we asked for it to be turned off, which it was but next morning it came back. This time we waited to see what happened and when we came back after a night out it had stopped.
Lots to see in Saigon, the CIA building where the Americans finally baled out, the War Remnants Museum and the Cu Chi tunnels are well worth the visit.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonPBJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

The hotel was located close to the river and walking distance to all the main sights. The hotel itself was an older hotel but the rooms were a good size and clean and comfortable.

The hotel staff were very helpful and there was a tour desk in the foyer that was run by a tour company and not the hotel itself. Breakfast was included in our room rate and was well-stocked and had a large variety to choose from. No problems getting a table at any time of the morning.

The only downside was the pool which was tiny and unappealing but other than that the hotel was excellent and I would recommend it for anyone staying in Saigon.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tygaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson Hole, Wyoming
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

I spent 2 nights at the property while traveling throughout Vietnam. This hotel had it all! Central location, good breakfast and friendly staff. The rooms are comfortable and spacious. The location of the hotel itself is great. I recommend walking around and checking out some of the restaurants or perhaps a cocktail on a rooftop for some epic views.
The hotel is clean, has a pool and fitness center. So whatever you are trying to do or not do here- you can do it!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kandi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We traveled to Saigon on a short business trip and Duxton was booked for us. We were offered an upgrade for USD32per night to an Executive Floor at Level 8 where you can get access to Level 9 lounge and a free WiFi in the room.
The room was pretty standard, and my basic need of living and working was available; ironing, hairdrying, 3-pin socket, tea for the night, bathrobe, etc. The bed was comfortable and most importantly the a/c was excellent.
I would not recommend the upgrade to Executive Floor however, because the so-called lounge has very small selection of food; and once you wallop it, they didn't replenish them. I heard that there's unlimited beer at Level 9 (I am a teetotaler), but I certainly didn't see it being served there. A colleague of mine was ordering beer and he was asked for the welcome drink coupon for it. In fact the air was so uptight, that I can't eat and lounge around in comfort without meeting the smiling face of the staff there..
OK, enough about that.. Duxton is however very centrally located, if you are a typical first-time tourist in Saigon. The main attractions are nearby and within walking distance. If you decide to go for a ride in a motorbike, please carry the hotel cards and know the current rate from the hotel staff, (ie approx 10k VND).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosmawati A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.2 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside...
#13 of 426 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,163 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Majestic Saigon
Hotel Majestic Saigon
#40 of 426 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 stars 2,541 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Saigon
Grand Hotel Saigon
#38 of 426 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Continental Saigon
Hotel Continental Saigon
#64 of 426 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,138 reviews
0.3 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint...
#10 of 426 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,082 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Hotel Saigon ( Kimdo Hotel)
Royal Hotel Saigon ( Kimdo Hotel...
#109 of 426 in Ho Chi Minh City
3.5 of 5 stars 366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saigon Prince Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saigon Prince Hotel

Property: Saigon Prince Hotel
Address: 63 Nguyen Hue Boulevard, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam (Formerly Duxton Hotel Saigon)
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#36 Business Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#38 Luxury Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#45 Romantic Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Saigon Prince Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 191
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right in the heart of vibrant Ho Chi Minh City, on the famous walking road Nguyen Hue Boulevard the Saigon Prince Hotel is a 4-star boutique hotel offering a refined and relaxing environment for business and leisure traveller's alike. As well as a range of Deluxe rooms, Club rooms, Club Suites and Apartments, the Hotel also has a Restaurant, Bar, Gymnasium, Swimming pool, Spa, a Club Lounge and a Business Centre, along with 16 multi-functional meeting rooms. Within easy walking distance to many of the city's most famous attractions including Ben Thanh Market, Opera House, Museum, Notre Dame Cathedral, and Saigon river. The Saigon Prince Hotel is ideally located for those who want to experience the city's bustling nightlife, from cheerful street food vendors to chic cosmopolitan nightclubs and lounge bars. The hotel is simply less 7km away from Tan Son Nhat International Airport, less 5km to HCMC International Exhibition Centre (SECC), and right in the heart of the Central Business District. We are looking forward to welcoming you to our humble property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotwire, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and Travelocity so you can book your Saigon Prince Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duxton Hotel Saigon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing