We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Nice stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Saigon Prince Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Saigon Prince Hotel
Ranked #57 of 436 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

Nice, hotel, wonderful staff (except the check in lady who left in the middle of checking us in to serve someone else...)
Nice clean rooms, decent enough size, FREEZING aircon though, we struggled to get the room at a nice temperature.
Breakfast was a nice mix of Asian and Western style food, and there was a nice bar in the lobby. the lobby bar had a pianist which was nice entertainment but stopped at 9pm, ourselves and other guests commented that they had returned to the bar for a quiet drink and to listen to the music before bed, perhaps even continuing until 10pm would make a difference.
Pool was nothing special, but was nice and clean and good for a little dip after wandering around Saigon.

Location is fantastic, 5 mins from river, and lots of good restaurants around. La Nicoise we took from other recommendations on tripadvisor was fantastic, the Italian restaurant we were not so impressed with.

Would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank freedomyears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    301
    598
    169
    37
    14
See reviews for
158
471
80
181
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

We stayed two nights here up on the 7th floor. Room was a typical corporate room but to a good standard and appreciated in the busy, chaotic city of Saigon. Interestingly the locals seem to prefer to call the place Saigon rather than Ho Chi Min City as it is called after the Saigon river and the name has been in use for a couple of hundred years.

Breakfast is good and the staff attentive and speak good English.

Only minor point is that they insist on playing music over the speakers in the hallways which can be heard inside the room. The first night we asked for it to be turned off, which it was but next morning it came back. This time we waited to see what happened and when we came back after a night out it had stopped.
Lots to see in Saigon, the CIA building where the Americans finally baled out, the War Remnants Museum and the Cu Chi tunnels are well worth the visit.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonPBJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

The hotel was located close to the river and walking distance to all the main sights. The hotel itself was an older hotel but the rooms were a good size and clean and comfortable.

The hotel staff were very helpful and there was a tour desk in the foyer that was run by a tour company and not the hotel itself. Breakfast was included in our room rate and was well-stocked and had a large variety to choose from. No problems getting a table at any time of the morning.

The only downside was the pool which was tiny and unappealing but other than that the hotel was excellent and I would recommend it for anyone staying in Saigon.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tygaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson Hole, Wyoming
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

I spent 2 nights at the property while traveling throughout Vietnam. This hotel had it all! Central location, good breakfast and friendly staff. The rooms are comfortable and spacious. The location of the hotel itself is great. I recommend walking around and checking out some of the restaurants or perhaps a cocktail on a rooftop for some epic views.
The hotel is clean, has a pool and fitness center. So whatever you are trying to do or not do here- you can do it!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kandi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

We traveled to Saigon on a short business trip and Duxton was booked for us. We were offered an upgrade for USD32per night to an Executive Floor at Level 8 where you can get access to Level 9 lounge and a free WiFi in the room.
The room was pretty standard, and my basic need of living and working was available; ironing, hairdrying, 3-pin socket, tea for the night, bathrobe, etc. The bed was comfortable and most importantly the a/c was excellent.
I would not recommend the upgrade to Executive Floor however, because the so-called lounge has very small selection of food; and once you wallop it, they didn't replenish them. I heard that there's unlimited beer at Level 9 (I am a teetotaler), but I certainly didn't see it being served there. A colleague of mine was ordering beer and he was asked for the welcome drink coupon for it. In fact the air was so uptight, that I can't eat and lounge around in comfort without meeting the smiling face of the staff there..
OK, enough about that.. Duxton is however very centrally located, if you are a typical first-time tourist in Saigon. The main attractions are nearby and within walking distance. If you decide to go for a ride in a motorbike, please carry the hotel cards and know the current rate from the hotel staff, (ie approx 10k VND).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosmawati A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

This hotel is well located with plenty of restaurants nearby. The lobby and check in is very luxurious and check in was smooth with helpful staff.
Our room was on the 6th floor and was quite compact. As you enter the room there is a smallish bathroom on the left with limited toiletries. On the right are cupboards, safe tea/coffee making facilities.
The bedroom area is quite small with a double bed (very firm mattress) and two comfortable pillows.
There is a writing desk with free wifi, a coffee table and lounge chair.
The controller for all the lights and TV is located on the bedside table but only on one side so if the person on the other side of the bed wants to turn on or off their bedside light they either have to get out of bed and walk around the bed to the other side to do so or wake their partner and ask them to do it.
The room was tidy and clean. Staff were polite and helpful.
This hotel would be suitable for short stays to be used as somewhere to lay your head however it is well located being central to markets, shops, bars and restaurants. Try the tax free shopping centre just down the road near the Rex Hotel – has got flags on top of the building.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MicknOlga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

Location is great , close to everything. The lobby bar has a great selection of beers and cocktails to choose from. Breakfast buffet was great, great service also. The staff were extremely friendly and welcoming and the hotel was spotless. The room was a good size. The pool and gym arrangement was good, a taxi service is always out the front if you need it.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Valerie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.2 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside...
#13 of 436 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,251 reviews
0.4 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Centre Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Centre Ho...
#38 of 436 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,379 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Majestic Saigon
Hotel Majestic Saigon
#41 of 436 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Saigon
Grand Hotel Saigon
#36 of 436 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,972 reviews
0.3 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint...
#9 of 436 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,169 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Silverland Hotel & SPA
Grand Silverland Hotel & SPA
#25 of 436 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saigon Prince Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saigon Prince Hotel

Property: Saigon Prince Hotel
Address: 63 Nguyen Hue Boulevard, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam (Formerly Duxton Hotel Saigon)
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#36 Business Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#39 Luxury Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#45 Romantic Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Saigon Prince Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 191
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right in the heart of vibrant Ho Chi Minh City, on the famous walking road Nguyen Hue Boulevard the Saigon Prince Hotel is a 4-star boutique hotel offering a refined and relaxing environment for business and leisure traveller's alike. As well as a range of Deluxe rooms, Club rooms, Club Suites and Apartments, the Hotel also has a Restaurant, Bar, Gymnasium, Swimming pool, Spa, a Club Lounge and a Business Centre, along with 16 multi-functional meeting rooms. Within easy walking distance to many of the city's most famous attractions including Ben Thanh Market, Opera House, Museum, Notre Dame Cathedral, and Saigon river. The Saigon Prince Hotel is ideally located for those who want to experience the city's bustling nightlife, from cheerful street food vendors to chic cosmopolitan nightclubs and lounge bars. The hotel is simply less 7km away from Tan Son Nhat International Airport, less 5km to HCMC International Exhibition Centre (SECC), and right in the heart of the Central Business District. We are looking forward to welcoming you to our humble property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Odigeo, Travelocity, Agoda and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Saigon Prince Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duxton Hotel Saigon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing