We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Rex Hotel
Ranked #57 of 467 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 6, 2010

A great old hotel in the centre of the city - you can walk anywhere in a matter of minutes. The hotel is a classic "old style" hotel and the service and staff were impeccable. Front desk staff happily recommended good restaurants - there are many nearby - and gave helpful directions. The breakfasts were excellent. 4/5 for rooms because we were in the older section, but we'd happily stay in the same again. It was a blind date for us - hotel was selected by our Kangaroo Cafe tour organizers as we said we wanted a swimming pool - and both rooftop pools were teriffic. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Morpethite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,460)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,764 - 1,770 of 2,460 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2010

The Rex has a splendid history - indeed it should be a fine heritage hotel. But no. The self acclaimed 5 stars are pure fantasy - the reality being somewhere between 2 and 3 stars, and that only if the inspector was feeling generous. Perfectly located in the centre of Saigon, the Rex should be fearsome competition for some of the chain hotels - Hyatt, Sheraton, Intercontinental should be quaking in their shoes with such a historic competitor just around the corner. But they needn't fear..........they have rooms that work; service that cares; food that's edible; and most importantly of all, a management that understands it's customers and is keen to improve. if you want a non-smoking room that has ashtrays and stinks of stale cigarettes; if you want to share your breakfast with low cost tour groups; if you want a room that's half the size of comparable rooms elsewhere; if you want to be told "we've run out of ham" for the omelettes; and you want to be treated to a 2 star hotel...........then the Rex is for you. Otherwise, forget the history and stay elsewhere. You won't regret it.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happytravelguru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2009

This place looks immaculate when first entering and walking up to the front desk. It's all gleaming marble and large scale opulence. Our room was on the 4th floor skirting an open courtyard in the older section. Everything in the older part was a little rundown and I think the last time the rooms had seen an interior decorator was probably in the 70's. Still, we loved the place. It's quirky and interesting, and just like everything else in VN--full of surprises--some good, some bad. The pool area is on the 5th floor and is all open, except for a covered bar area. We spent some quality time there drinking pina coladas and planning our evenings at the Rooftop Garden. The Rooftop Garden alone makes it worth staying at the Rex. The evening entertainment is a little cheesy and seems to be geared towards the older ex-pats, but it was great for a giggle and the place is loaded with ambience. We loved the wait staff. A couple of the waiters really made a point to connect with the patrons and at least two kept referring to my husband as "lady"....or even better...."mademoiselle"...when they would bring food and drink. "And how are you ladies tonight?" Good times:)
Just be aware that although the Rex is an excellent price for District 1, they charge extra for everything. The business center has a cost per minute and the drinks and food are comparable to western prices. Enjoy that $7 beer at the Rooftop Garden.
With all that said, I'd stay at the Rex again in a heartbeat. We had excellent, albeit quirky customer service and everyone was very kind and helpful....even the security guards in the garage where we were keeping our bikes. We didn't hear much from our room but have heard some areas can be noisy. Just turn on the air conditioner for a little white noise---you'll need it anyway.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LePossum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2009

We spent our four first nights in Vietnam at Rex Hotel, which turned out to be a very good choice. We were upgraded to a Rex suite located in the newer west wing. The true value of the hotel for our family was the two swimming pools and the roof top bar. The breakfast as well as the service level was very high. However, additional services such as laundry and airport pick up offered by the hotel was severely over charged.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StarElsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2009

We stayed here just one night and we werent that impressed. the location is excellent and their breakfast and roof terrace very good. We got a room in the old wing and... it was old.... and noisy....
They need to update those room and they are not of a 4 star hotel. we asked for extra pillows we never got them, we asked for somebody to check the phone as it wasnt working and they never came..
I wouldnt be rushing to go back.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlphaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2009

We stayed a total of five nights at the Rex over two weeks in October with our 4 year old in a family suite. Our first room was not what we booked so we asked them to change it and received a family room No# 312 in the old wing. The room was spacious and clean with a queen and a double bed but a bit musty smelling. The location was a short walk to the Ben Thanh markets and there was a supermarket across the road on the first floor of the Tax building. There is a good tailor called Orchid on the road to Ben Thanh which we used also.

The second room we received at number 422 was even bigger than the first and over looked the square rather than the busy Le Loi st. I'd ask for something on the Nguyen Hue side if possible. Although about 10.30pm you could hear the noise from the band on the roof top bar so opt for a room below the fourth floor. The added bonus was the pool which is rare in Saigon hotels.

Both rooms had a sitting area which was great when we wanted our daughter to go to sleep, we turned down the lights and sat in there with a drink while she drifted off then turned the TV back on when she was asleep. Both also had a balcony but it was too narrow to sit out on :(

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kardykid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2009

Dinner on the Rooftop Restaurant at the Rex Hotel overlooking the neon Saigon is a dramatic experience. The service is impeccable as is the preparation and presentation of the food. A very pleasant experience so make this your Ho Chi Minh City splurge. I did not stay in the hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank abletokhuna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.1 mi away
Caravelle Saigon
Caravelle Saigon
#19 of 467 in Ho Chi Minh City
2,818 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Majestic Saigon
Hotel Majestic Saigon
#42 of 467 in Ho Chi Minh City
3,064 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Saigon
Grand Hotel Saigon
#44 of 467 in Ho Chi Minh City
2,283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint...
#11 of 467 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,732 reviews
0.3 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside...
#18 of 467 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,741 reviews
0.6 mi away
New World Saigon Hotel
New World Saigon Hotel
#52 of 467 in Ho Chi Minh City
2,308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rex Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rex Hotel

Address: 141 Nguyen Hue Blvd | District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#19 Romantic Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#21 Family Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#30 Spa Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#39 Luxury Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range: $121 - $221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Rex Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strategically located at the best of downtown Saigon, the Rex Hotel is a luxury 5 stars hotel heritage dating back to early 20th century when it was originally opened as a French garage. For over 80 years, as a landmark, as well as a witness of the ups and downs of the city's history, the Rex Hotel was rebuilt to become one of the city's most incredible addresses. It prides itself to offer guests many high-class facilities including 286 individually designed guestrooms, a range of function & meeting room's ideal for wedding, business or events, the La Cochinchine spa, and four in-house restaurants, cafe and bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Fastbooking, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rex Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rex Hotel Saigon
Rex Ho Chi Minh City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing