We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heritage hotel in downtown location”
Review of Rex Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Rex Hotel
Ranked #49 of 453 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
35 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Heritage hotel in downtown location”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

This heritage hotel is in a great downdown location - close to the sights and sounds of HCMC. Its within walking distance to the markets at one end, and the Notre Dame Church at the other, and the main shopping district in between. We wanted to stay here to get our bearings on HCMC and wanted to walk and explore the city. We stayed at the new wing - the room and bed was comfortable and we had a nice view of the city courtyard outside.

The hotel facilities were so-so - the rooftop pool was nothing special, the rooftop bar was nice if not a little tacky. The morning breakfast was a nice spread of western and vietnamese dishes. We also did a mekong tour organised through the hotel - it was expensive but no complaints as everything was as per the itinerary.

The price of the hotel is also very reasonable if you book early. Just check the rate you booked when you check-in though - we booked early and had an early bird discount, but when we checked in, the reception gave us a higher rate until i gave him my print-out and it was corrected.

On the whole, they say its 5 stars (perhaps by Vietnam standards), but it feels more like 4 stars.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sammytay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    905
    862
    313
    110
    71
See reviews for
376
819
175
366
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (454)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Located in the center of Ho Chi Minh city, closed to Ben Thanh market, this hotel makes ease of business people who wants to seek new opportunities or meet business partners at one of the most dynamic city in the region. I love the outlook and view around of this hotel, combined with excellent service and friendly and helpful staff, it made my business trip so comfortable. I could concentrate on my own projects without any disruption, or relaxed in swimming pool with superb cocktails. What I love most is their breakfast offers: many kinds of foods from Asian to Europe and could satisfy almost anyone! A must for any business peole!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank huyddbk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
308 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

You know when you have arrived at a nice hotel when the likes of Cartier & Gucci are occupying the shops connected to the hotel. The lobby is huge and all the of the door staff are very friendly. I stayed in a suite in the new wing. It was very clean and a great size. It had separate living and sleeping rooms both with TV's and a huge bathroom.
The location was fantastic as you could walk to almost all of the main landmarks and markets within a few minutes.
It also has a great rooftop bar overlooking a busy road junction, very entertaining

Room Tip: Ask for the new wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnJampot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

I have been there with my wife for our honey moon and big suprise of the warm welcome and friendly of the staff. Will go back there when we have free time. Good locate in Ho Chi Minh city with a lot of utilities around.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Talbot
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

We stayed here for the last night of our vacation.The entrance and the lobby are very impressive.Checkin was speedy and we had an upgrade from a junior suite to a suite in the 3rd floor.The room itself was good with the usual things for a 5star hotel,fresh fruit platter etc.The pool area is on the 5/6th floor.Both the pools were quite small and the main pool had some tiles missing.This really was the only area for guests to sit and relax.Breakfast was a mixture of asian and western.I only noticed the egg station on the way out, next to the roof top bar.
We stayed here because of its connection with the war because of this you can expect many tour groups walking through the lobby.Would I stay here again,yes because of its central position.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank billywiz23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Stayed on a business visit for 3 nights at the Rex. It has the best location in Ho Chi Minh city. The property itself looks impressive and has an integrated high end shopping mall. I stayed in a junior suite room and the rooms were spacious but the luxury level for a 5 star property was average. The room is not centrally air conditioned but has a installed split AC. The breakfast spread was good. The hotel staff was courteous and very helpful in arranging metered taxis to visit local sights. To sum up, it's a nice value for money property but don't get your hopes up on a 5 star luxury experience.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pganesh80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Overall, lovely hotel with old world feel.

Positives: location, location, location! History of the place. Breakfasts are amazingly good (very good Pho). Helpful staff (although, see comment on the gym staff). The decor is dated but that kind of adds to the charm. Yes, the roof top and pools are dated but just imagine yourself as a correspondent back in the mid-1960s! The rooms in the modern wing are lovely. English (while problematic in Vietnam) is extremely good at the Rex

Example of good service: Our rooms were below the function center on the roof - this created a lot of noise. However, when we complained, the staff were super responsive and moved us to two rooms on the floor below. Terrific service!

Areas for development: The gym / pool staff need a kick up the butt - they never lifted a finger, never provided a towel, and never cleaned the pool area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim30549
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.1 mi away
Caravelle Saigon
Caravelle Saigon
#13 of 453 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,639 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Majestic Saigon
Hotel Majestic Saigon
#42 of 453 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,866 reviews
0.1 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint...
#10 of 453 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Saigon
Grand Hotel Saigon
#39 of 453 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,163 reviews
0.3 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside...
#16 of 453 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,500 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Nikko Saigon
Hotel Nikko Saigon
#5 of 453 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rex Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rex Hotel

Property: Rex Hotel
Address: 141 Nguyen Hue Blvd | District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#19 Romantic Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#21 Family Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#27 Spa Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#36 Luxury Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Rex Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strategically located at the best of downtown Saigon, the Rex Hotel is a luxury 5 stars hotel heritage dating back to early 20th century when it was originally opened as a French garage. For over 80 years, as a landmark, as well as a witness of the ups and downs of the city's history, the Rex Hotel was rebuilt to become one of the city's most incredible addresses. It prides itself to offer guests many high-class facilities including 286 individually designed guestrooms, a range of function & meeting room's ideal for wedding, business or events, the La Cochinchine spa, and four in-house restaurants, cafe and bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Hotwire, Agoda, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Rex Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rex Hotel Saigon
Rex Ho Chi Minh City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing