We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and exceptional service from the minute you arrive.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Rex Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Rex Hotel
Ranked #47 of 447 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great location and exceptional service from the minute you arrive.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

We changed to the Rex due to quality ratings and we were not disappointed. We arrived after a big day if travel and the service was exceptional from the front door to reception, every staff member smiled and said hello, a smile goes a long way when there is a language barrier. The room was a little smaller then expected but suited us just fine. It was clean the air con was turned on and as we were unsure of the city we headed to the roof top bar and we were not disappointed , you do pay around $7 for a beer but the atmosphere was great, it was earth hour when we arrived and they lots happening, it was fun to see. Breakfast was excellent and the service wonderful. We were close to everything the BBQ place down the road was fantastic a 2 course meal and 2 jugs of beer less then $30 us. We spent a lot if time at another place called the blue cafe beers less then $1. Overall the Rex was a great place to stay, would highly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarlyandDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    887
    849
    308
    108
    70
See reviews for
368
807
168
363
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (450)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
High Wycombe
Level Contributor
62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

Right in the centre of District 1 of HCM city this hotel is really clean, comfortable and welcoming. Spacious and quiet rooms in the new wing, beds are comfy and the bathroom large and very clean. Breakfast is a delight with huge choice and great service. Pools are ok but limited space around for sunbathing. Although the prices are high at the rooftop bar, it's a must to have a drink there and feel the history of the place. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: New wing are spacious and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
119 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

We stayed here for our last night after our three weeks travel through Vietnam. We booked the hotel on booking.com and got a suite for the price of a normal room. Be aware however that if this suite is situated on the 4th floor the upgrade seems nice, but is not as there is loud music playing just above you and you hear the guests walking as the floor separating you from the party is not insulated well enough.
The room is large and has the charm of a long forgotten time, but is in need of an upgrade.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gallo03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
salemarketing, Guest Relations Manager at Rex Hotel, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Dear Frank R,

Thank you for taking your time to review the Rex Hotel Saigon on Tripadvisor. We do appreciate your valuable feedback.

Please accept our sincere apologies for not being able to make your stay a great experience. We are extremely concerned to note your comment regarding the noise, this issue has been raised to our Management Team, we do hope you will see the improvement in your next visit.

We are seeking for another opportunity to welcome you back to Rex Hotel Saigon in the near future.

Yours sincerely,


Quan Tieu My – Bella (Ms.)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
98 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

Didn't stay here, only went to the well known rooftop bar for a drink with views over the city. As to be expected you are paying English prices for your drinks but worth it for the great views.
A must if you enjoy taking in the hussle and bussle of the city below.
The best Singapore sling since Raffles hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndyTaylorUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

We are still here but I wanted to write a review as we have received great customer service so far. We asked to move rooms as the one we were in, although lovely, was too noisy from the band on the roof top garden at night.
We were moved to a quieter room, no hassle, and had a letter apologising for the noise and some cookies to say sorry.

It was nice not to feel like we were a pain or being awkward by asking to move and when we had been taken to the new room, we also received a phone call to check we were happy with the new room.

Overall great customer service.

The roof top bar is lovely, a bit pricey but what we expected. The breakfast is delicious and the hotel is ideally situated for the main tourist attractions in the city.

I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: The lovely room but noisy room was 420 which was on the side facing the main road and directly below...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaggieHewlett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Notts
Level Contributor
77 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

We stayed for two nights at the Rex in the older building. The decor was fantastic in our room and they had upgraded us so that we had a room overlooking the main square. The bathroom was stylish. Breakfasts were good with plenty of choice on offer. Rooftop bar was a bonus as well as the rooftop pools and loungers. They are very keen to please at this hotel so I had no complaints. If you are in HCMC and want somewhere to stay in a great location you have to consider this hotel if in budget.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JammyNotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
55 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

7 storey 3* hotel in town centre. Markets and shopping mall to hand. Huge rooms with separate sitting area, a suite really. Staff attitude, service and food all very good but drinks extortionate, 105000 VND for a small beer! I can drink cheaper in London. Very nice all weather rooftop bar and restaurant.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank forest-46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.1 mi away
Caravelle Saigon
Caravelle Saigon
#14 of 447 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,594 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Majestic Saigon
Hotel Majestic Saigon
#43 of 447 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,829 reviews
0.1 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint...
#10 of 447 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Saigon
Grand Hotel Saigon
#38 of 447 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,136 reviews
0.3 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside...
#16 of 447 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,463 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Nikko Saigon
Hotel Nikko Saigon
#5 of 447 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rex Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rex Hotel

Property: Rex Hotel
Address: 141 Nguyen Hue Blvd | District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#19 Romantic Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#21 Family Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#27 Spa Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#35 Luxury Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Rex Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strategically located at the best of downtown Saigon, the Rex Hotel is a luxury 5 stars hotel heritage dating back to early 20th century when it was originally opened as a French garage. For over 80 years, as a landmark, as well as a witness of the ups and downs of the city's history, the Rex Hotel was rebuilt to become one of the city's most incredible addresses. It prides itself to offer guests many high-class facilities including 286 individually designed guestrooms, a range of function & meeting room's ideal for wedding, business or events, the La Cochinchine spa, and four in-house restaurants, cafe and bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotwire, Fastbooking, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rex Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rex Hotel Saigon
Rex Ho Chi Minh City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing