We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis in the heart of saigon”
Review of Rex Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Rex Hotel
Ranked #58 of 476 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stayed 4 nights with friends on a recent trip to Vietnam over Tet. We shared a Rex suite and was very impressed with the size of the rooms and quality of the accommodation. The beds were large singles and amongst the most comfortable I've slept on throughout my Asia travels. The semi detached lounge area was also a very nice touch although it made the room seem slightly smaller than it actually was. Concierge, front desk and tour related staff were all extremely helfpul and all other staff were very friednly and approachable. The breakfast was also very extensive and could be had on the gorgeous rooftop bar, which is one of the main attractions of the Rex. I was also very pleased with the two pools and lay out of the gym.

I would have quite happily provided 5 stars for this review but for a few irksome things. The first was being trapped in the bathroom for 20 mins which required some of the staff to physically remove the lock. Thankfully the bathroom had a phone, however I would have thought the staff attending to this problem wouldn't have constantly rang the doorbell (sure once or twice as a courtesy) - but how was I supposed to answer it! Necessitated me making another call to front desk to suggest that the staff let themselves in, given my indospition. In any case it provided considerable light relief for my friends when they returned to the room to find the bathroom door being demolished. Overall it was resolved satisfactorily and despite eventually receiving a note from the General Manager, a more immediate call from front desk to apologise for the inconvenience would have been well received. The dust etc from the lock removal wasn't cleaned up until around an hour or so later so was a bit unhappy about the handling of the whole incident.

The second problem related to our booking for the new year celebration on the Saturday, we did this some days in advance yet when we arrived at the rooftop bar it became quickly apaprent that a table had not been prepared for ourselves and our other 2 friends. Rather than provide some sort of explanation we were left waiting till a table was hastily prepared.

Relatively minor things in the overall scheme of things but the way they were handled could have been better.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,544)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,412 - 1,418 of 2,544 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2013

My fiance and I recently spent 4 nights at Rex Hotel. The hotel is conveniently located in the heart of HCM city, close to many attractions and restaurants. I chose Rex mainly for its location but was pleasantly surprised by the great service and the breakfast buffet was much better than I expected. We booked a Premium room (New wing of the hotel) and from our room we could see Ho Chi Minh square. It took us only around 10-15minutes to talk to the War Remnants Museum from the hotel and Ben Thanh market is also very close by. For those of you who enjoy shopping, you can find many designer boutiques such as Chanel, Cartier and Balenciaga on the ground floor of Rex. Overall I had a great stay at Rex and would definitely stay there again next time.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank L C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Stop reading if you want comments on the accommodations. My interest was in the rooftop bar, and the history of the building. Across the boulevard from the Saigon Intercontinental and adjacent to the colonial style city hall, the hotel offers a time capsule experience of life in 50's Saigon (at least, as I imagine it to have been). A large open space that covers the northwest corner of the building, the view looks down on the major hotels, the opera house, and the buzz on the streets below - a unique city experience. Don't worry about lingering, that's what people do at the bar and the staff will wait for your cue for service. The cocktails are a throwback to the 50's as well - generous with the alcohol, and bold flavours. Went back two nights for bloody marys that seemed to be 80% vodka and 20% tobacco (at my request). Take the time, and stop in for a drink as you stroll by on your way to the night market.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank 1_Diana_John
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

We spent two nights at the Rex Hotel in HCMC so we could say we had stayed in this historic hotel. We were not disapointed. We had been to the Roof Top Bar on our last trip n 2009 but wanted to stay at the hotel this time. We arrived late on a Saturday and check in was perfect. No problems with our prepaid room, front desk and bellmen were efficient and we were in our room and off to the Roof Top for a nightcap. Breakfast was included in our rate. Although they had mostly the same things each morning, there were many choices and no one needed to eat the same thing each day. On the second night the air conditioner froze and started to leak. Maintenance was there within minutes and had it fixed. Housekeeping came and made sure everything was cleaned up and brought more towels and bottled water. Superior service! Check out was as efficient as check in. We received a call the afternoon before asking if we needed late check out or any additional services. We did not but most hotels don't volunteer that service. While checking out the concierge came to see if we needed taxi or hotel service to the airport. Every service we received was very good.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank linmikga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Great hotel a bit of history attached to witch was cool, Great Roof terrace bar with great views of HCM , Good rooms Colonel french style ,100 Bucks for a suite can say better than that,
If anything a bit loud but worth it for location

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frazer137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

We stayed at The Rex during Tet, the Vietnamese New Year. We were right in the centre of things which also meant it was slightly noisy as there are lots of celebrations. We were happy to up with the noise in order to soak up the atmosphere. The Hotel has recently been refurbished and the rooms are very comfortable, the pool and garden bar are tired but the Hotel is so steeped in history again it is a trade off which we found worth it. Staff were simply excellent.

Room Tip: If you are over park you will hear traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Toni B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

I did not stay there but I took my two adult sons for cocktails and appetizers. We were not disappointed. Great drinks, awesome service and a fantastic view of city hall Saigon Opera House. The best way to get there is by motor cycle taxi - nerve jangling but so exciting.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank NYTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.1 mi away
Caravelle Saigon
Caravelle Saigon
#22 of 476 in Ho Chi Minh City
2,889 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Saigon
Grand Hotel Saigon
#45 of 476 in Ho Chi Minh City
2,365 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Majestic Saigon
Hotel Majestic Saigon
#41 of 476 in Ho Chi Minh City
3,142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint...
#16 of 476 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,843 reviews
0.3 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside...
#19 of 476 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,838 reviews
0.6 mi away
New World Saigon Hotel
New World Saigon Hotel
#54 of 476 in Ho Chi Minh City
2,408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rex Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rex Hotel

Address: 141 Nguyen Hue Blvd | District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#17 Business Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#19 Romantic Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#31 Spa Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#40 Luxury Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range: $118 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Rex Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strategically located at the best of downtown Saigon, the Rex Hotel is a luxury 5 stars hotel heritage dating back to early 20th century when it was originally opened as a French garage. For over 80 years, as a landmark, as well as a witness of the ups and downs of the city's history, the Rex Hotel was rebuilt to become one of the city's most incredible addresses. It prides itself to offer guests many high-class facilities including 286 individually designed guestrooms, a range of function & meeting room's ideal for wedding, business or events, the La Cochinchine spa, and four in-house restaurants, cafe and bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Fastbooking, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rex Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rex Hotel Saigon
Rex Ho Chi Minh City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing