We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“New Year's Eve party”
Review of Rex Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Rex Hotel
Ranked #47 of 453 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
cape town
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“New Year's Eve party”
Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

I have no negative comments about the Rex hotel whatsoever and agree with other posters as to great location, breakfasts and lovely, quiet rooms in the new wing. I'd like to share some info on the compulsory New Year's Eve dinner for fellow travelers considering booking a stay at the end of this year. I found it incredibly hard to source this info when I booked and the hotel wasn't really forthcoming with what to expect.
Firstly, I made my original booking with the Rex via booking.com. The advertised rate stated that the compulsory dinner charge was inclusive. The Rex later contacted me to dispute this and wanted to bill us for an additional $99 per person. Booking.com was at fault and after numerous emails I dealt directly with the hotel. They kindly agreed to waive the additional cost. Please be aware of this.

The actual seafood buffet dinner and entertainment is quite a dressy affair. It started off with cocktails in the lobby accompanied by a kiddy band. We were then shepherded up the staircase and ushered to our seats in the ballroom. A feast of seafood ensued, and our wine and beer glasses were replenished CONSTANTLY. All this was accompanied by a range of entertainment - traditional music, fashion show, a sand art demo, Kung fu tricks, some Latina band music etc. A touch cheesy, but rather sweet and all good fun.

The real fun started however when we went up to the rooftop bar. We had to buy an additional ticket for this which was rather disappointing. Great atmosphere, dancing and a DJ. We watched the chaotic streets below, the fireworks and street party. An awesome experience!

In retrospect we would have been quite happy having a bite on the streets and then joining the party on the roof top only.
But all in all a wonderful night!!

And for the perfect end to our Vietnam stay, we were upgraded to a presidential suite on our return to Saigon:-)

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank linsyCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    903
    862
    313
    110
    71
See reviews for
376
819
174
366
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (454)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

From the moment we entered the building, we were treated exceptionally well. The room was ready for an early check in and the staff were extremely courteous and helpful. Our room was very well appointed and had that wow factor that you look for in a hotel of that rating. It is right in the heart of the city, close to the major shopping complexes, high end stores and the markets. A very short walk to all other tourist attractions in the district. Breakfast was always fresh and well stocked. The variety was good and the staff were very attentive. We used the spa on the last day and had a facial. Well priced and very professional, around AU$60. Overall a fantastic hotel. We would go back again anytime.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelbug255068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Ideally located and beautuful hotel with great service. Due to a mix-up between our travel company and the hotel we did not get the rooms we had organised and were placed in very small rooms in the old section. Rooms were decorated beautifully but we had issues with leaking showers, faulty air con and a blocked toilet - these were all fixed promptly. Bed was very comfortable and and breakfast was extensive. We stayed for several nights including my husbands birthday - he was surprised with flowers and a birthday cake from managrment. Would stay again but hopefully in a better room.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susanna2450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
96 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013

We stayed at the Rex for 5 nights over New Years Eve 2013. First got a room towards the inside but after having read tips on TA changed to room facing the streets - both were good but it was much better to have a balcony and be able to see the city. Wasn´t bothered by the traffic at all. Room - a Rex Suite - big, nice and clean. Breakfast was fantastic with a lot of thing served on the Roof-Top Bar. The Roof Top Bar is the best thing about Rex - the history, the entertainment, the food, the drinks, the nice and very good english-speaking service and so on.

The hotel helped us with transport to and from the airport, trips to the tunnels and Mekong Delta. You could probably get it a little bit cheaper elsewhere but it all worked well.

If I come back to Saigon I wood definitely return.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with balcony towards the streets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ingvar20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

The hotel is idealy located only 20 minutes from the airport, and there is plenty going on around it. The rooms in the new block are nice and well furnished, the older ones at the back are bigger but quiter, although I had no problem sleeping in either.
Breakfast was very nice with eggs cooked freshly to order and plenty of fruit and
other European foods available.

The staff were very obliging and helpful. Would stay again!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jigglywuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoi An
1 review
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We sourced this hotel through tripadvisor and stayed 3 nights. This places is perfect in every way. The location is in the middle of District 1 so convenient for shopping, and all other places of interest within the CBD.
Service was spot on. Within minutes of submitting a request atbreception there was a Knock at our door.
The breakfast is a buffet style and of almost all you can think of what a breakfast would consist of and delicious.
This restaurant has a fantastic rooftop bar and voted as one of the best in the world.
Our room was very spacious and bed was large and comfortable.
The hotel is only to happy to help with all of our queries regarding airport transfers, directions and tours.
Staff ability for English was fair, however I think most of Vietnam is a little bit of a struggle with very broken English.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wedmore, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We treated ourselves on our last night in Vietnam, and it was well worth it. Rooms are a good size and we had a good view of the activity outside.
Rooftop bar is a must, it's fairly expensive for HCMC but it is special and you feel as if you are experiencing part of the country's history.
Breakfast was a bit disjointed with food all over the place, but quality and choice was good.
Pool fine with just about enough loungers, and we didn't leave until early evening but hotel was very helpful with our luggage, changing facilities etc.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.1 mi away
Caravelle Saigon
Caravelle Saigon
#13 of 453 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,639 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Majestic Saigon
Hotel Majestic Saigon
#42 of 453 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,865 reviews
0.1 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint...
#10 of 453 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Saigon
Grand Hotel Saigon
#38 of 453 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,163 reviews
0.3 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside...
#16 of 453 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,498 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Nikko Saigon
Hotel Nikko Saigon
#5 of 453 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rex Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rex Hotel

Property: Rex Hotel
Address: 141 Nguyen Hue Blvd | District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#19 Romantic Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#21 Family Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#26 Spa Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#35 Luxury Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Rex Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strategically located at the best of downtown Saigon, the Rex Hotel is a luxury 5 stars hotel heritage dating back to early 20th century when it was originally opened as a French garage. For over 80 years, as a landmark, as well as a witness of the ups and downs of the city's history, the Rex Hotel was rebuilt to become one of the city's most incredible addresses. It prides itself to offer guests many high-class facilities including 286 individually designed guestrooms, a range of function & meeting room's ideal for wedding, business or events, the La Cochinchine spa, and four in-house restaurants, cafe and bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Agoda, Fastbooking, Cancelon, Priceline, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Rex Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rex Hotel Saigon
Rex Ho Chi Minh City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing