We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a great stay when we finally got the room we booked”
Review of Rex Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Rex Hotel
Ranked #56 of 465 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 8, 2012

The Rex Hotel is a fantastic old hotel and a great place to stay when in Saigon. Had trouble when we checked in as I had booked ( and pre paid) 2 suites and we were given only normal rooms. I insisted that we were put into the rooms that we paid for and after about 40 mins of being taken around the hotel to inspect various rooms they finally put us into 2 fantastic suites. Buffet Breakfast only ok . Had room service one night ,it was ok. I will stay here again on my next trip to Saigon.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigWayneD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,433)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,421 - 1,427 of 2,433 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2012

We went to the outside bar at the rex to have beer....
About a million dong later.
I have always wanted to go to the rex since reading about it in the Veitnam war. It did not disappoint.
From the moment we walked in we knew we made a good choice, the staff were very polite and attentive and wanted to talk to us about everything.
The drinks and food are great. You must go.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Kel E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Great location in city centre and we had a very comfortable room in the new wing.
Rooftop bar was good but the pool bar wasn't pretty and the pool didn't really look enticing. Compared to other so called 5* hotels breakfast was disappointing.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeremySalvesen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

I loved this hotel, especially for the 2 rooftop pools, bar and restaurant. The rooms I stayed in (in the new wing) were roomy and comfortable with fresh fruit provided. The spa is nice, easy to book into, sometimes even at the last minute. Breakfast was very good and the service very friendly, personalized. When I showed up too early for check in time, I was offered a "temporary" room but I opted to for a swim instead. Then the receptionist delivered my room key to me at the rooftop pool. The location is convenient to the rest of the city and within walking distance of the large covered market--the open air part of it is fun to visit at night. When I returned to Ho Chinh Min to fly out of Vietnam, I cancelled my reservation at the airport hotel since I had to spend another day at the Rex.

Room Tip: Absolutely get a room in the new wing, it's worth the extra cost. One colleague was in the unren...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurkas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

One can't find a hotel with a better location in HCMC District 1 than Rex Hotel. It is near to...practically everything - restaurants, malls, shopping (at Saigon Square or Ben Thanh). The rooms at the New Wing are excellent. The bathroom has both a bath tub and a shower enclosure.

On the other hand, the Internet service was so slow which got in the way of work and flight bookings which we needed to make. Breakfast choices, to me, were so-so - again vis-a-vis other HCMC hotels where I've stayed. Staff service, though, was above-average.

If one can get a good hotel rate, it might be worthwhile to stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FMD88528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Flew from Philippines to Vietnam HMC ( SaiGon) for a 3 day stay and stayed in the Rex Hotel. The Rex Hotel is a significant and very historical building of Vietnam. Its been around since the Vietnam war and was frequented by journalists. Great history of the place...it has black and white pictures lined throughout the corridors of the building which give a historical sense of the place...its like being in a museum. Anyway...lovely place with lot of old worl charm... absolutely fantastic staff... Great breakfasts on the 4 floor - inside and out ( for those that like to look upon the city whilst having breakfast).. excellent array of foods...from soups cooked to order while you wait to the traditional omelette's ...love it...the hotel rooms are about $200 US a night ( unless you you wish to have the tope end accommodation) and the rooms have balconies and are very large and impressive. The have polished floorboards and and the beds are magnificent... and very very comfortable. Staff will turn down your beds every night, load you minbar and restock your towels and shampoos and bath gels daily....there is fresh fruit always in your room. there is bath for those that like to rest in a deep lay-backed bath plush shower and other amenities. there is an in-room safe, bathrobes, slippers, and every other thing you can imagine. The hotel itself is massive.... there must be hundreds of rooms and the hotel itself is prominently located at the top end of HMC city in district 1 near the HMC Town hall and across the road from the famous statue of Bac Ho ( Uncle Ho chi Minh) sitting with a child on his lap reading a book. It close to everything and is safe and totally secure. The staff at the REX are very helpful and very polite and there is nothing they cannot help you with.
In all, expensive and nice....but worth stay at last two nights there just to experience the charm.

Room Tip: Just watch out for the free wifi...its not that good...its slow but it does work. There is cable int...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank philippineslover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

An old but newly-renovated hotel. By Ho Chi Minh City standard, this hotel is one of the best in town, among the very few. Rooms have wooden furniture with a traditional Vietnamese feel to it.

The good stuff:
- Location is perfect-- at the heart of the city.
- Friendly staff
- 24/7 business centre

The not-so-good stuff:
- The suite isn't exactly what I would call a suite. It's considered pretty tiny by normal standard.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nyer8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.1 mi away
Caravelle Saigon
Caravelle Saigon
#18 of 465 in Ho Chi Minh City
2,796 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Majestic Saigon
Hotel Majestic Saigon
#40 of 465 in Ho Chi Minh City
3,046 reviews
0.1 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint...
#11 of 465 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Saigon
Grand Hotel Saigon
#45 of 465 in Ho Chi Minh City
2,261 reviews
0.3 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside...
#20 of 465 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,702 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Continental Saigon
Hotel Continental Saigon
#69 of 465 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rex Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rex Hotel

Address: 141 Nguyen Hue Blvd | District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#19 Romantic Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#21 Family Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#30 Spa Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#39 Luxury Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range: $115 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Rex Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strategically located at the best of downtown Saigon, the Rex Hotel is a luxury 5 stars hotel heritage dating back to early 20th century when it was originally opened as a French garage. For over 80 years, as a landmark, as well as a witness of the ups and downs of the city's history, the Rex Hotel was rebuilt to become one of the city's most incredible addresses. It prides itself to offer guests many high-class facilities including 286 individually designed guestrooms, a range of function & meeting room's ideal for wedding, business or events, the La Cochinchine spa, and four in-house restaurants, cafe and bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Fastbooking, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rex Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rex Hotel Saigon
Rex Ho Chi Minh City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing