We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very average but nice swimming pool”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
New World Saigon Hotel
Ranked #36 of 458 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Very average but nice swimming pool”
Reviewed March 1, 2010

We stayed here after changing hotels so we booked one of the higher category rooms (we decided to splurge to make up for the other stay) on the executive floor and we were a bit disappointed for the value for money we got. Overall this hotel is not bad, very nice swimming pool, service is very inconsistent and sometimes English is a real struggle. The rooms have nothing special and the location is good and bad in a way as some of the traffic in that area makes any attempt to go anywhere by foot a very dangerous enterprise. Overall we had a reasonable stay but would not return there. We also tried their spa which was very mediocre although we did not expect too much after several experiences in Vietnam.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tonyonholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    919
    864
    253
    62
    37
See reviews for
393
480
156
770
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Beijing, China
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2010

Okay, this is a comfortable 4-star hotel consistent with the international standards, and the location couldn't be better...BUT: I was absolutely stunned by the prices. For example:
- 1l bottle of Evian water: $9
- 1hr internet access: $8
Sigh, c'mon - an average Vietnamese would have to work 2-3 days in order to buy a bottle of water. And even in Western standards the prices are outrageous.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hulivili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 7, 2010

New World is worth every penny. We got upgraded to Executive Room. Breakfast on level 10 and unlimited drinks and canapes from 5pm each afternoon. Great pool, spacious and comfortable rooms/bathrooms. Amazing staff, really friendly and helpful.... could not fault this hotel. Although it is a little out of the price range for travellers on a budget but well worth every penny if u do decide to go all out.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kyles_85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2010

Stayed here in Jan 2010, after a visit in Jan 2009. New World is a consistent, outstnading hotel, close to the market and shopping. Really nice staff as usual.
A little pricey but worth the reliable service.

Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank xsoccer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2009

Excellent stay in a luxurious hotel in the centre of the city of
Ho Chi Minh
Excellent Restaurants fantastic Executive lounge
Close to Bin Than Market
Friendly efficient Service and Good amenities.
Lounge Bar and band great at night.
Cant wait to go back
UNCLE Doug

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DougalM7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
1 review
Reviewed December 10, 2009

Great service in all areas. Great restaurants and bars.
Loved the room and the executive upgrade was money well spent as it included internet from the room, access to the executive lounge on the 10th floor for free drinks and some meals (breakfast and dinner).
Located next to the Ben Thanh markets means easy access to some bargains and a quick cab ride (less than 20,000 dong or AUD$1.25) to either Le Thanh Ton or Hai Ba Trung, both notable eat streets.
All in all, thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bacchus_Brad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emmen, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
178 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2009

I stayed here 3 nights as part of business trip. I took the executive upgrade 10th floor, which is certainly worth the money: business lounge, free internet etc. I Arrived on Thursday evening and departed on sunday evening, combining business and leisure. Entrance is spacious, great loby facility including late evening Philipino band. Rooms are spacious and clean. Bothroom is somewhat outdated with shower in the bathtub; hovever good floating water and standard equipment available. Actually nothing to complain. On the 2e floor I took the japanes restaurant diner: excellent but expensive.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank globetravelerNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Nikko Saigon
Hotel Nikko Saigon
#5 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
3,338 reviews
0.8 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside...
#17 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,565 reviews
0.7 mi away
Caravelle Saigon
Caravelle Saigon
#15 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
2,683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sheraton Saigon Hotel & Towers
Sheraton Saigon Hotel & Towers
#28 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
2,020 reviews
0.5 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint...
#12 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,518 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rex Hotel
Rex Hotel
#50 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
2,322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New World Saigon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New World Saigon Hotel

Property: New World Saigon Hotel
Address: 76 Le Lai Street, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 458 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — New World Saigon Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 533
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located within the vibrant business hub of District 1, with easy access to the famous Ben Thanh market and many landmarks, museums and cultural centers of Ho Chi Minh City, New World Saigon Hotel provides 533 spacious guestrooms and suites offering the perfect ambiance for both concentrated work and undisturbed relaxation. Just seven kilometers from Tan Son Nhat International Airport and steps away from the bus station, the hotel is located directly in the city center opposite the lush 23 September Park. The hotel's private limousine service offers a comfortable connection to the airport and all major attractions as well as the Saigon Exhibition and Convention Center (SECC). All guestrooms are equipped with broadband Internet access and plush bedding. If hotel guests wish an extra level of comfort and privacy they may choose the exclusive range of Residence Club Floor accommodation which includes complimentary buffet breakfast, afternoon tea, evening cocktails and hors d' oeuvres at the private Residence Club Lounge. Among the hotel's most distinctive restaurants is Dynasty which serves exquisitely prepared Chinese cuisine that is regarded as one of the finest in Ho Chi Minh City. Parkview and Saigon Bakery offer a relaxing view over the 23 September Park serving delicious lunch and dinner buffets including fresh seafood, international and Asian favorites or freshly brewed coffee and a great selection of home-made pastries. The Lounge features classic and modern cocktails with a wide range of wines and live music, while hotel guests will find Splash a relaxing oasis to unwind the day at the outdoor pool with fresh juices and exotic cocktails. If guests would like to escape the hustle and bustle of Ho Chi Minh City, they can visit The Spa on the second floor offering an extensive spa menu for both men and women integrating Swedish massage techniques and the healing therapeutic effect of aromatic essential oils with contemporary spa treatments. All spa services provide an effective treatment each tailored to the individual guest's needs.Since its opening, New World Saigon Hotel has been one of the premier meeting and event venues in Ho Chi Minh City. A highly experienced and supportive event team, excellent catering and first class facilities for every kind of social or business event make this hotel a popular choice for functions, exhibitions, product launches or conferences.The hotel offers three pillar-free ballrooms accommodating up to 486 people. All ballrooms are equipped with the latest audio-visual and presentation aids and can be divided into several smaller function or breakout rooms. In addition, four smaller meeting rooms are available for private workshops or meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your New World Saigon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing