We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old world hotel in good location”
Review of Metropole Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Metropole Hotel
Ranked #181 of 458 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Perth
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Old world hotel in good location”
Reviewed March 6, 2012

Stayed here with family in December through Xmas season. The hotel is a bit faded elegance but has a taste of old Vietnam. Rooms were ok but the river view we had booked became only a glimpse from the side street- I have stayed in much better hotels was a tad disappointed with this one but the service was friendly on the whole. Spa. Experience was just so so and they did put pressure on for a healthy tip.. Sofitel in Hanoi was a better choice all round.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank City/Countrycousin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    107
    42
    10
    11
See reviews for
36
83
21
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
beijing
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2011

The spa is a disgrace to the otherwise perfect hotel. I am shocked at the bad experience that I just had. The masseurs was very unhappy when she noticed that I only had my doorcard in my hand. I thought about telling her that I would go back to my room to get my purse, but in the end I did not. When I asked her to dim the light, she did not even bother to reply. Half a way through the 60-minute treatment, there was still no music, I asked whether she was going to put on the music, she answered that the music player was broken. However, before I was hurled out of the room, I noticed that she put the iPod back to player, it is actually working. All I got for the US$75 was constant rub on my feet and I was hurled out of the room after 50 minutes. It is really a bad experience.

Room Tip: The room in the Metropole wing is actually quite noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank huili112005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2011

Families and couples, beware of the spa. You won't believe that this seemingly decent hotel has a spa where masseurs would be willing to offer more than just a massage. Massage price was reasonable but when you start feeling uncomfortable with what you thought was legit massage, tell them you have to go. The masseuse would hand you a piece of paper to write how much you are tipping her in Viet Dong. Give her the lowest price and do not be pressured. We did not report this to management as no one seemed really genuinely interested in your business as a customer.

The room we got was ok, had to transfer from a dark twin bed room to a well-lit double bed room by the road. Breakfast was buffet with lots of choices. Pool was great and poolside bar served fantastic coffee.

This was actually in June 2010. First time I went to HCM was Mar 2008 and we had a better stay in Happy Inn along Bui Vien.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2011

We stayed at the Metropole in September this year. It is a marvellously historic and fascinating hotel and the staff are wonderful and very helpful. The food in the restaurants was excellent though I found the breakfast a little disappointing compared with other hotels in Vietnam. The beds were exceptionally comfortable but the rooms are perhaps a little small and on our return from a three day trip to Halong Bay the room we were given had no mirror near a plug (the previous room had) which made it impossible for me to blowdry my hair and I had to go to the hair salon. The hairdryers in the bathroom have to be permanently held on which makes blowdrying pretty much impossible so I needed to plug in my own hairdryer somewhere with a mirror. It’s only a small thing and not important if you don’t need to blowdry your hair. The pool area is very well looked after and staffed and even though building was going on it was not terribly disturbing.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PerthJojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2011

Rooms impeccable. Historic wing has charm to spare. Modern wing looks like it has been there forever and rooms are exceptional. Staff is OUTSTANDING. Very French in atmosphere. Bars and restaurants wonderful. Shops great. Pool awesome. Perfect!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura60878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saigon(HCMC)
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2010

I don't know if the hotel will be rebuilt or not...

Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
Helpful?
5 Thank clixtox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 15, 2010

No real problems with this hotel at all. It has a rooftop pool that is very nice, close to the cafe strips of Saigon and also the main markets. Also has some history about it, being a hotel for the US military during the war. Certainly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NathanPercy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel des Arts Saigon Mgallery
Hotel des Arts Saigon Mgallery
#7 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,083 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sunland Saigon Riverside Hotel
Sunland Saigon Riverside Hotel
#61 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,142 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pullman Saigon Centre
Pullman Saigon Centre
#14 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Saigon Domaine Luxury Residences
Saigon Domaine Luxury Residences
#74 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
273 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Myst Dong Khoi
The Myst Dong Khoi
#38 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
164 reviews
1.2 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside...
#18 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metropole Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropole Hotel

Property: Metropole Hotel
Address: 148 Tran Hung Dao Street, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 700000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#50 Romantic Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Metropole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropole Hotel Saigon
Metropole Ho Chi Minh City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing