We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Majestic Saigon
Ranked #43 of 457 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
257 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Classy”
Reviewed December 1, 2009

Great location on river, lovely staff. Bar overlooking river is fab....

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill_Fareham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,963 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,337
    1,106
    351
    109
    60
See reviews for
493
1,331
225
247
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (548)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Worcestershire
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2009

We were very impressed with the beautiful finish and fit-out of this hotel. Everything in rich teak, granite or marble. Big wall mounted HD TV, prompt service, good location, amazing variety at breakfast all served on the open air roof terrace for a great atmospheric start to the day. Did not try the restaurants.
Bang up to date, everything seems new, but in a lovely french colonial building. Perfect.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bond1674
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2009

I stayed at the Majestic for 3 nights with two friends in a twin bed river view room with an extra bed added. It was the only hotel we booked before leaving home as it was our first stop on arrival. It was a beautifully appointed hotel, the breakfast was great, the view from the restaurant on the top was fantastic and the staff were very helpful. However, we paid $50.00 for the extra bed which did not really fit in the room - on reflection the charge should not have been as much. It was very noisy, the traffic noise from the road below just did not cease. On looking back after 3 weeks in Vietnam even though it was a lovely hotel it did not represent good value for money when comparing it with other hotels we stayed at in Vietnam.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jes18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2009

The Majestic is a lovely hotel unfortunately some of the guests seemed to have let the colonial atmosphere go to their heads and we witnessed some very unpleasant, rude and embarrassing behaviour toward some of the staff!
The room we had was very nice, fully equipped and on the surface clean but after surviving two weeks in Vietnam without being attacked by insects we found after two nights sleeping at the Majestic we both had insect bites each morning, something was obviously in the room with us!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesPlymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Level 6 Contributor
54 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2009

We had a colonial suite, the room itself was very pleasant, well sized and equipped. The first room we were offered looked at the building site at the back of the building, their website only mentions river or pool side views. The cheaper rooms had the better views, we eventually changed to one facing the main road leading away from the river, which was hardly a stunning view as the building opposite is empty, at least it was better. The 5th floor breakfast was excellent and view of the river very good, probably the best view in the city considering others generally overlook main roads and junctions. The bar in the evening is in the same location. This is a tidy, adequate hotel and considering many of the alternatives are average its a reasonable choice. The lobby-ground floor area is very pleasant. Considering the help and friendliness of staff elsewhere in Vietnam staff here are distinctly average, helpful only when pushed. There is a problem in the city with the standard and varying quality of accommodation, particularly if like us you prefer an older style buildings with character as opposed to the new Hyatt, whilst I would urge you to do your own research on location etc and we were on balance not unhappy with our choice.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuffolkLucchese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, Victoria, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2009

We have just returned from a 2 week trip to Vietnam where we spent 3 nights at the Majestic, before travelling to Mui Ne for 9 nights and then returning to the Majestic before flying out.

I booked everything via the Internet and I'm always a bit nervous that my plans won't be honoured when I arrive however I had nothing at all to fear! The Majestic offered a honeymoon package that included airport transfer, and a free 4th night. As we were only staying 3 nights, then an additional night 2 weeks later we didn't think this would qualify however the Majestic honoured their offer and our last night was complimentary. Upon arrival at the airport a shiny black Mercedes complete with tour guide and driver were waiting for us - we were travelling with a large bag of kitesurfing gear which was never going to fit in the boot and so the driver wound down the front passenger seat, fitted the bag in, put us in the back and left the tour guide standing at the airport to take us to the hotel!

When we arrived at the Majestic we were greeted by friendly, English speaking staff who explained the services of the hotel, gave us a tourist map and information about tours and accompanied us to our room. Inside the room the bed had been spread with rose petals, and two glasses of red wine, chocolates, red roses and an iced cake with 'Happy Honeymoon 24-10-2009' were waiting inside! (We were a bit embarrassed as we are not honeymooners, but the package was a great deal!). Breakfast was included in the package and there was nothing more that we could have wanted. Our bed was terrific, the bathroom was clean, the air con worked well and the noise from the street wasn't too bad due to the double glazed windows. We were really happy with our room which was a Colonial Deluxe River View room. The hotel was in a great location within easy walking distance of all of the city attractions.

We booked a tour to the Cu Chi tunnels through Reception and as planned a tour guide was waiting for us the next morning at 8am. This tour cost $80 for the two of us and when we got out to the car found again a driver, accompanied by the tour guide. The tour was terrific - the guide, Binh, was very informative and knew alot about the local area. There was a stop at a lacquerware factory along the way which we had not been expecting (and had not brought enough money or credit card for). The factory is run by the government and employess disabled people who have been affected by the war (a bit of a tug on the heart strings). As we'd only been in Saigon 1 day we hadn't seen any lacquerware around to be able to compare quality and prices and so really didn't know what we were looking at. In hindsight it was the best lacquerware that we saw for the whole trip, and prices whilst a bit more expensive than the streets were still reasonable and worth it for the better quality. I'd recommend buying here. The only downside of this trip was that at the end we didn't realised that we were meant to tip the driver or the tour guide (Australians are not good at the concept of tipping), and as we said our goodbyes and turned to leave we saw their faces change from being our best mates to being quite unhappy with us!

We also used the spa facilities at the hotel and again had a negative tipping experience. The prices were much higher than could be found out in the streets but we thought it would be worth it for the luxury of the hotel. Prices as listed with a +10% tax charge also to apply, so straight up you're already up for 10% more than the quoted price. At the end of the massage we were asked to completed an evaluation sheet e.g. was the massage good, excellent etc. Then there was a field to write the tip amount. The masseur pointed this field out to us and waited for us to complete it. Again, being a novice to tipping, I wrote $5...my husband wrote $5 on his and his masseur shook her head and said no, more...so he changed it to $8. We later found out this by Vietnamese standards this was a pretty steep tip, and felt quite co-erced...so much so that we didn't go back to the spa @ the Majestic.

When it was time to checkout the hotel was fully booked so we couldn't extend the time however the concierge happily held our bags until it was time to go to the airport, and we were able to use the pool area to relax and shower. All in all I would recommend the Majestic.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank leelee1408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2009

We spent our final night of our holiday in the Majestic Saigon, and enjoyed the colonial elegance and luxuries of the hotel. We stayed in a Colonial room, which was very well appointed with parquet flooring, authentic and comfortable furniture and a good sized bed and bathroom. The courtyard pool in the middle of the hotel was a lovely spot for a dip. Also well worth the trip up to the cocktail bar on the 8th floor - especially on a stormy night. Breakfast was superb and the location is great for exploring Saigon on foot.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark_and_Jess_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.1 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside...
#17 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,588 reviews
0.3 mi away
Caravelle Saigon
Caravelle Saigon
#16 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
2,709 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Saigon
Grand Hotel Saigon
#40 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
2,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Rex Hotel
Rex Hotel
#50 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
2,340 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Nikko Saigon
Hotel Nikko Saigon
#5 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
3,392 reviews
0.4 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint...
#10 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Majestic Saigon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Majestic Saigon

Property: Hotel Majestic Saigon
Address: 1 Dong Khoi Street, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 8, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Business Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#30 Romantic Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#34 Luxury Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#47 Family Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Majestic Saigon 4.5*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Majestic Saigon has been ranked at 118 among Asia’s top 125 hotels at the 2011 Readers’ Choice Awards which is based on voting preference of travelers of which has been praised by Conde Nast, a Top Travel Publication on 20 October, 2011. It’s our honor to officially confirm that the new Majestic Building will be an Annex Wing on Nguyen Hue street and next to the existing building. The Colonial Building since 1925 is still forever maintained as its Colonial French architecture. Since 1925, Majestic Hotel has occupied one of the finest locations in Saigon where guests can enjoy the stunning views of Saigon River. The old world boutique charm of the hotel, the elegance of columned and arched classical French colonial design glorify the Golden Age of architecture. Luxury is achieved through attention to details and complete comfort ensured through courteous service.The Majestic has gone through several reincarnations over the years, changes that reflect the tumultuous history of Vietnam. During World War II, the Japanese Imperial Army used this French colonial structure as a military barracks. During the Vietnam War, it was frequented by foreign correspondents and espionage agents. It is a hotel of tradition - hospitality - elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Fastbooking, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Majestic Saigon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Majestic Saigon Hotel
Majestic Hotel Saigon
Majestic Ho Chi Minh
Majestic Hotel Ho Chi Minh City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing