We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and facilities”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Majestic Saigon
Ranked #44 of 458 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
Ashtead,Surrey
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Great location and facilities”
Reviewed March 21, 2014

We were a little surprised on arrival at this truly majestic hotel, as it was the first ( and last ) of our 6 hotels we stayed in Vietnam, where we had to stand during check in, and received no welcome drink. Check in was quick, but typical of many a city hotel, staff lacked a little 'warmth' and service at times was a little impersonal. Rooms were a good size but our room overlooked the river side road, and was quite noisy. Location was very good for exploring the area.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suzywuzyweasel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,934 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,321
    1,098
    349
    108
    58
See reviews for
486
1,314
225
244
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (543)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Franklin, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2014

We spent only one night here on our two week Vietnam vacation, but it was one of the best. Great location in the city center right on the river. The staff was super friendly and helpful. The value for the room is great as the rooms were spacious and clean.

Room Tip: We stayed in the new wing, nice big rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ekkerb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice, France
Level 6 Contributor
379 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 332 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2014

I can recommend this hotel for sleeping. The front of house staff have all been wonderful - 5* plus. A huge thank you to them all. They were very caring and helpful to my husband who was using his wheelchair for the first time. We had a suite which was spacious and very comfortable, on the front of the hotel overlooking the Saigon river. Not noisy at night at all. Sleep quality was quite good, but even with air con was humid at night. The room was spotless, the complementary water replenished each day. Lovely generous sized toiletries, again replenished as and when. Spa bath and a walk-in rain shower (with a small step but not a problem at all).
Good location for restaurants and sightseeing.
The main let down was the quality of the food on offer and the exorbitant prices. You have to be desperate to stay in and eat and drink here. In addition 15% is added on to the already over the top advertised prices for service and VAT. Be aware. Breakfast included a wide selection of hot and cold dishes, nothing exciting though, on one morning tea was cold plus croissant & pastries soft. The open air bar is good on the weekend with the group playing, snacks are to be avoided especially the soggy croque monsieur and chips.

Room Tip: Pay as much as you can to get a better room, otherwise go elsewhere. Avoid eating and drinking in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HudsonS16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Before arriving, we were a little worried after reading some of the comments about noise from the building works but were really not bothered by it. The colonial charm of this grand hotel was exactly what we wanted. Our room overlooking the swimming pool was lovely, and we really appreciated a dip after a long day trekking around the city. Breakfast was very good, especially the freshly prepared omelettes, though the first day around 9 am was very busy (15 minutes later it begins to calm down). Tested cocktails in both bars (5th floor and 8th) - those on the 5th floor are much better, prepared with a little more care. Staff were very friendly. The perfect end to our two weeks in Vietnam, though we really felt we were experiencing the end of an era: with the new tower being built the look and feel of the place will change forever, though we suppose this is a necessary step to keep up with the competition. Really hope the Majestic will maintain its unique character!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2014

Just finished staying 3 nights at the Majestic, rooms fantastic and the beds even better ! That's where it ends.
The service is terrible, the wait staff at night on level 8 hang around at the bar and are indifferent, if I have to walk to the bar to order a drink I may as well order thru the guy behind the bar thanks. Our last night everyone had hands up trying to get their attention - mostly to no avail. We went to level 5 bar and it was worse, lights off etc while people are drinking and no where near closing time.
Having stayed in 3 or 4 star local family hotels throughout our Vietnam stay this was our biggest disappointment. If you want a big nice hotel, with no real atmosphere and don't care how Ur treated then this is the hotel for you....if you want charm, friendly service with a smile and people genuinely want to make Ur stay a good one then find something else. A real reflection of high status - low care factor.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Globetrotter204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jersey
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2014

We had a wonderful holiday in Vietnam, completed by our stay at the majestic. Fleur and Kim at front of house and all the concierge boys were so helpful and friendly. Our room was delightfully atmospheric and very well decorated in the colonial style. My partner proposed to me there and the staff were in on the surprise and instrumental in making it happen, the setting couldn't have been better, truly romantic. We organised a visit to the cu chi tunnels thru the hotel and had the best tour guide, Hang, whose Louis Armstrong impersonation (excellent) will live with me forever. It was a shame their restaurants weren't better or even better value for money. The cocktails on the top bar were over priced but that has become the norm now in such places as you are paying for the view over the Mekong and City, still worth a visit. We will stay there again. Our best to the staff and Hang.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the court yard / swimming pool so was relatively quiet compared to road side roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZGtrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2014

We booked this at the last minute and stayed in a Colonial De-Luxe room with balcony facing the river. We weren't disappointed and it lived up to its 5 stars. Beds were very comfortable, lots of pillows and water pressure tremendous - not always the case in this part of the world. However, as someone has already pointed out the bath is rather high and the shower faces such an odd angle that we managed to spray most of the bathroom the first time.
Breakfast was to die for with endless choice in a wonderful setting overlooking the river and beyond but high up enough for the traffic noise not to be too noticeable.
Booking in and out was fast and efficient and the location of the hotel is wonderful with access to the river across the road and a small park, but also to lots of shopping. This area has changed (for the better) a lot in the past 2 years since we were here last.
The swimming pool is quite small for such a large hotel, but we never had trouble getting a lounger and the staff were very attentive.
Although there are designated smoking areas on 5th & 8th floors, we did see lots of people on balconies smoking and although this is not allowed, they would be better to provide standing ashtrays to avoid 'illegal' smoking.
We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front with a river view were great to watch the world go by and are well insulated...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twooldies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.1 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside...
#17 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,565 reviews
0.3 mi away
Caravelle Saigon
Caravelle Saigon
#15 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
2,683 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rex Hotel
Rex Hotel
#50 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
2,322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Saigon
Grand Hotel Saigon
#41 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
2,190 reviews
0.4 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint...
#12 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,518 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Nikko Saigon
Hotel Nikko Saigon
#5 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
3,338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Majestic Saigon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Majestic Saigon

Property: Hotel Majestic Saigon
Address: 1 Dong Khoi Street, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 8, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Business Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#30 Romantic Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#34 Luxury Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#47 Family Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Majestic Saigon 4.5*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Majestic Saigon has been ranked at 118 among Asia’s top 125 hotels at the 2011 Readers’ Choice Awards which is based on voting preference of travelers of which has been praised by Conde Nast, a Top Travel Publication on 20 October, 2011. It’s our honor to officially confirm that the new Majestic Building will be an Annex Wing on Nguyen Hue street and next to the existing building. The Colonial Building since 1925 is still forever maintained as its Colonial French architecture. Since 1925, Majestic Hotel has occupied one of the finest locations in Saigon where guests can enjoy the stunning views of Saigon River. The old world boutique charm of the hotel, the elegance of columned and arched classical French colonial design glorify the Golden Age of architecture. Luxury is achieved through attention to details and complete comfort ensured through courteous service.The Majestic has gone through several reincarnations over the years, changes that reflect the tumultuous history of Vietnam. During World War II, the Japanese Imperial Army used this French colonial structure as a military barracks. During the Vietnam War, it was frequented by foreign correspondents and espionage agents. It is a hotel of tradition - hospitality - elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Fastbooking, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Majestic Saigon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Majestic Saigon Hotel
Majestic Hotel Saigon
Majestic Ho Chi Minh
Majestic Hotel Ho Chi Minh City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing