We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Majestic Saigon
Ranked #43 of 457 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good location”
Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 5 nights, good location, the staff were friendly. We wanted to go on some day trips but the hotel provided hardly any information. The lady who works on the tour desk was no help, in the end had to go to tourist office down the road. Across the road from the hotel are at least 4 large boats which offer dinner, not one person in the hotel could tell us about them. Good hotel, nice staff - need to improve on the tourist trips and information

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,967 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,339
    1,108
    351
    109
    60
See reviews for
494
1,333
225
247
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (548)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2014 via mobile

A truly fantastic hotel with a great sense of occasion. The decor captures the colonial period perfectly with ornaments and fixtures and fittings from the period. It also has two bars where you can look out over the heart of the city (district one where you want to based). My only criticisms were the intermittent wifi and the front desk (a little brusk and the night manager appeared in his slippers with his tie undone. Perhaps not the image such an aspirational hotel wants to convey).

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JWREES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton-on-tees, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights on our way to Australia and New Zealand from uk. The quality of the hotel is first class and the staff are all very friendly and helpful. Really good buffet style breakfast where you could get anything you wanted, omlettes made right in front of you or cereals, yoghurts etc, even prawn porridge? We had a old style room over looking the Saigon river. The feel of the hotel is of bygone colonial age but it had all the modern requirements such as free wifi etc. Just before making this trip we watched Rick Stein on tv and he did a piece on the hotel so we had to try the restaurant, all the food was excellent and we had far too much for the two of us. Also have to try the bar on the 8th floor with views over the river and city. Only negative point we could think of was the traffic noise which never seemed to stop but we were there in the run up to the Chinese New Year which is a big celebration in Vietnam (good time to plan a visit).My other cocern was they are in the process of adding a big extension to the hotel, end 2014 completion I think, turning the hotel into majestic tower hotel.I just hope they manage to complete this without affecting the atmosphere of this lovely gem of a hotel.

Room Tip: If you don't mind a bit of traffic noise go for the river view with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ainsa59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Republic, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2014

We stayed at the Majestic for a week in June of 2013. Had a great time. Location across from the river in District 1. This hotel has a couple of restaurants, two of them are rooftop. The fifth floor serves a very nice and ample breakfast buffet (and probably other things, but we ate breakfast there). You get to sit outdoors, eat and have a nice breeze and view. The 8th floor also features a bar and limited menu with a really wonderful view of the riverfront. That was our favorite place.

Now that we're back in HCMC, we decided to have a drink and dinner at the Majestic on the 8th floor. What a disappointment! My husband ordered a dirty martini which featured a glass 2/3rd full that contained watered down contents. Really, it's not that tough to make a decent martini. I had a G&T which was ok. Husband ordered Phu Ga which was good, and I ordered friend spring rolls which I had there before. Spring roll FAIL. Small and overdone with a dipping sauce that was strangely flavored. I've had fried spring rolls at other places here as well as have made them myself, so I'm aware of what the standard is. That wasn't it. Then my husband decided to order a glass of house wine. Again, the glass came with less than the standard amount for a normal 'glass' of wine. We decided that the regular chef must have been gone for Tet (and Tues night) and the bartender was Mr. Stingy. We were sad because we really liked this place.

Maybe we'll give it one more try after all of the New Year stuff is done. As it was, though, I certainly wouldn't recommend this restaurant to anyone. There are TONS of great places to eat in HCMC.

As for the hotel, we enjoyed our stay there last time, and it appears to remain in the same condition.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Julian09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hants UK
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2014

What a stunning hotel in a fabulous position. The lobby is just amazing to see. The rooms are spacious with fabulous views. You are able to walk to most attractions. The river is just over the road and local restaurants round the corner.

Room Tip: Ask for a high room at the front of the hotel. You have a balcony looking over the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelHants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

There's several older hotels in HCMC and is this one of them, built I think in 1924, across from the Saigon River. It's a nice place, looks great from the outside, but in the end nothing to rave about.

We stayed in a river view room, which was a good size. Bed and bedding comfortable, bathroom dated, TV oldish and reception not so good, wi-fi continually dropped out.

Breakfast decent and service fine. In summary, the hotel was a slight disappointment due to high expectations, and I'd look elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TruMarc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, Montana
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2014

We stayed at the Hotel Majestic in Saigon and LOVED it. It was reasonably priced considering in the US for the same price you get a run of the mill Best Western. The rooms were clean and comfortable. We stayed in a room with the pool view (recommended for less noise).

Room Tip: Choose a room with pool view for a quieter stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thatsitMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.1 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside...
#18 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,595 reviews
0.3 mi away
Caravelle Saigon
Caravelle Saigon
#16 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
2,714 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Saigon
Grand Hotel Saigon
#40 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
2,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Rex Hotel
Rex Hotel
#53 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
2,347 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Nikko Saigon
Hotel Nikko Saigon
#5 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
3,398 reviews
0.4 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint...
#11 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Majestic Saigon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Majestic Saigon

Property: Hotel Majestic Saigon
Address: 1 Dong Khoi Street, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 8, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Business Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#30 Romantic Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#34 Luxury Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#47 Family Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Majestic Saigon 4.5*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Majestic Saigon has been ranked at 118 among Asia’s top 125 hotels at the 2011 Readers’ Choice Awards which is based on voting preference of travelers of which has been praised by Conde Nast, a Top Travel Publication on 20 October, 2011. It’s our honor to officially confirm that the new Majestic Building will be an Annex Wing on Nguyen Hue street and next to the existing building. The Colonial Building since 1925 is still forever maintained as its Colonial French architecture. Since 1925, Majestic Hotel has occupied one of the finest locations in Saigon where guests can enjoy the stunning views of Saigon River. The old world boutique charm of the hotel, the elegance of columned and arched classical French colonial design glorify the Golden Age of architecture. Luxury is achieved through attention to details and complete comfort ensured through courteous service.The Majestic has gone through several reincarnations over the years, changes that reflect the tumultuous history of Vietnam. During World War II, the Japanese Imperial Army used this French colonial structure as a military barracks. During the Vietnam War, it was frequented by foreign correspondents and espionage agents. It is a hotel of tradition - hospitality - elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Fastbooking, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Majestic Saigon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Majestic Saigon Hotel
Majestic Hotel Saigon
Majestic Ho Chi Minh
Majestic Hotel Ho Chi Minh City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing