We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old hotel with no service, bad food and cango hammers in the lobby”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Majestic Saigon
Ranked #40 of 466 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We arrived at the Majestic and were greeted by a sign apologising for building works that were to begin the following morning. No mention of these works on their website which would have given us the opportunity to choose another hotel. Sure enough, next morning off go the cango hammers. It was so noisy and dusty that the manager took me outside to speak to me.

We got upgraded to a suite for the inconvenience but in reality we just wanted our money back and to move to a different hotel. This was especially true because on our last night at the hotel I was awoken by the din of what sounded like water rushing into my room. Actually, it turned out to be the rainwater which had been drained outside my bedroom window and allowed to rush onto my window and then down to the street. I was moved to another room half an hour after I called the front desk which pretty much ruined my sleep for that night.

Breakfast the next morning was basic, bland and rubbish.

We're visiting Vietnam on business and choose a 5 star hotel in order to obtain Concierge services as we needed to arrange a meeting with an international logistics distributor. Despite several attempts during the day, the Concierge didn't manage to locate a single distributor for me which made part of the trip a waste of time.

All in all, the Majestic lacks the majesty that she may well once have had in the early 1920's.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UndaCovaElefant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,050)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,445 - 1,451 of 3,050 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2012

I learned about the Majestic through a friend. The internet tells you all about its 87 year heritage stories, their French colonial architecture, its popularity, the building development, and more.... Staying here is as a museum experience.

We initially booked to stay here for one night, but ended up booking our weekend after the first night stay. We were treated very warmly by every single person from the hotel and they looked after us with advice about the city. The hotel is located in one of my mostly visited areas in HCMC (Dong Khoi area), and it was walking distance to some of my favorite restaurants and cafes.

I enjoyed their brunch on the roof top and their music sky bar. This hotel is a must if you'd like to experience a relax weekend getaway (for those who live within VN).

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aaalopez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

This is a beautiful hotel proud of its heritage and its links to the colonial times in Vietnam. Location is perfect right at the start of Dhong Khoi street overlooking the Saigon river. It is very good value considering the prices in Ho Chi Minh City are somewhat higher than 5 star hotels in Hanoi. The better rooms are the pool view ones which are away from traffic. Unfortunately the plans for redevelopment of the hotel might mean this piece of nostalgia may not last for too long.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We stayed at Hotel Majestic on our first 3 days in Saigon, it was a lovely start to our holiday. The location is great just a short walk to shops and restaurants.The hotel itself is delightful and has a great history which I enjoyed. Our room although not large but was very well appointed and the bathroom was lovely. Their in house amenities are divine and plenty of selection. A treat with this hotel is the bar on the roof top, a great view of the river and whats happening down below!. Breakfasts were excellent great choices of fruits and anything you want, the breads were especially yummy maybe this is the French Influence in the hotel.I would reccomend this hotel to travellers that like a little bit of history the hotel is full of itI. Old photes are on the walls and are great.. Oh! pool is great and have a massage the ladies are excellent and reasonably priced.

Room Tip: We enjoyed our room overlooking the pool as it was nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

Stayed 3 nights here at start of Vietnam trip, excellent riverfront central location, great rooms, service and food. Breakfast on 5th floor overlooking river, nice bar 8th floor. Would 100% recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ScubaDunc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

My wife and I arrived at The Majestic after 18 hours in transit and greeted very warmly. At first we were shown to a room without a balcony (even though we had requested one) and the room smelled strongly of smoke. We asked to change and decided to upgrade to the Majestic Suite. Considerable extra expense, but wow! Absolute decadent old-world opulence, and although expensive in local terms, I shudder to think what you would pay for such a room back home. Backlit stained glass, the biggest spa bath I have ever seen (my wife loved it!),beautiful artwork, a separate sitting room and two balconies. Fascinating watching traffic chaos and out over the river. Food in the hotel was excellent and service was friendly. Great position close to shopping and restaurants. There is also a small casino in the hotel if you are keen. Would definitely recommend staying in the suite if you can!!

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Fergford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Stayed at the Majestic in September 2012 and found it to be lovely. The first night the bar staff seemed to be distant and disinterested but after that, staff were always attentive. Breakfast is vast and wonderful. We stayed there five nights and although the foyer is being redone, disruption is kept to a minimum. We were in the non-smoking wing and our room was lovely not noisy like others had complained about.

Room Tip: Non smoking wing was quiet when we were there
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank XOX140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.1 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside...
#20 of 466 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,707 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Saigon
Grand Hotel Saigon
#45 of 466 in Ho Chi Minh City
2,263 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rex Hotel
Rex Hotel
#57 of 466 in Ho Chi Minh City
2,436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Caravelle Saigon
Caravelle Saigon
#19 of 466 in Ho Chi Minh City
2,798 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Nikko Saigon
Hotel Nikko Saigon
#5 of 466 in Ho Chi Minh City
3,533 reviews
0.4 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint...
#11 of 466 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Majestic Saigon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Majestic Saigon

Address: 1 Dong Khoi Street, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 8, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Business Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#30 Luxury Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#30 Romantic Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#47 Family Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range: $103 - $246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Majestic Saigon 4.5*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Majestic Saigon has been ranked at 118 among Asia’s top 125 hotels at the 2011 Readers’ Choice Awards which is based on voting preference of travelers of which has been praised by Conde Nast, a Top Travel Publication on 20 October, 2011. It’s our honor to officially confirm that the new Majestic Building will be an Annex Wing on Nguyen Hue street and next to the existing building. The Colonial Building since 1925 is still forever maintained as its Colonial French architecture. Since 1925, Majestic Hotel has occupied one of the finest locations in Saigon where guests can enjoy the stunning views of Saigon River. The old world boutique charm of the hotel, the elegance of columned and arched classical French colonial design glorify the Golden Age of architecture. Luxury is achieved through attention to details and complete comfort ensured through courteous service.The Majestic has gone through several reincarnations over the years, changes that reflect the tumultuous history of Vietnam. During World War II, the Japanese Imperial Army used this French colonial structure as a military barracks. During the Vietnam War, it was frequented by foreign correspondents and espionage agents. It is a hotel of tradition - hospitality - elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Majestic Saigon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Majestic Saigon Hotel
Majestic Hotel Saigon
Majestic Ho Chi Minh
Majestic Hotel Ho Chi Minh City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing