We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice”
Review of Grand Hotel Saigon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel Saigon
Ranked #45 of 476 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 4, 2010

Stayed on two occasions in the old section. Both times had great large rooms with separate living/lounge area . Service was great . stored our luggage when we went to the Mekong .checked our flight details for us all no problem .

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank winestate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,338)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,683 - 1,689 of 2,338 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2010

We stayed in the Grand Hotel for two nights last week. We were booked for 4. I have almost never checked out of a hotel early, but this was intolerable and they literally had no solution. We had booked a 2 BR suite. One of our children has autism and is disturbed by loud noise, so we try to get a separate bedroom and some privacy. The room was the best they have and the price high by Vietnam standards ($250 per night.) The only suites are in the old part of the building, all facing the pool.. The suite opened into a living area. It had a window into the central courtyard over the pool. To our surprise, that was the sole window in the entire suite. None in either bedroom or the bathrooms. The walls were cmpletely blank in the livng area, which had a table/desk, a TV table, a sofa and two chairs. Very "unwarm" if that is a word. The AC had two settings : not working at all or freezing. We ended up getting up and putting on tons of clothes just to make it through the night. They came in and explained that were were free to access a utility closet and turn the AC on and off because the thermostats were purely decorative. The first night we froze, but in the morning had a pleasant breakfast in the nice dining area... Off we went sight-seeing, with hopes that we could figure out what to do weather-wise in the room, since it was very hot and muggy but the only other choice was to freeze. The second night was the end. There is only that single window for 3 rooms, and beneath it they placed many large amplifiers for a screamingly loud private party, which meant the hotel guests could not use the pool in the late afternoon when we returned or at all at night. Our kids were hot and sweaty and sad. The party began and went wild. We tried to watch TV but even with the sound at full volume could not hear a bit of it. Karaoke, drunks screaming, booming DJ with many amplifiers... it all sounded as if it were in our room. We asked the manager to come up and she did, but we had to go into a bedroom (windowless) and close the door so we could talk (although the noise was still outrageous there, too.) The doors were vibrating. They had no solutions... the next night was going to be far worse... a huge New Year's Eve Party was again going to go on, although this was going to be much longer, and louder we were told. Certainly a larger number of amplifiers were put out.

The manager was nice. She fully understood that it was intolerable, and they had no other place to put us that would have been any different. Since our autistic child was literally flinching with each scream and boom of the bass, and we had no hope of sleep, we left. It was a shame. No, the cost of the second of the two nights was not refunded, which amazed me.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank withkidstravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2009

We stayed for one night in this hotel after spending 2 nights in the Xuan Mai Hotel in the backpackers district. We stayed in one of the older rooms, which was a suite. The room was very nice and large, but it was rather pricey $150 per night. The bathroom shower (Hand held) shot water all over the bathroom, I had to had my husband hold the handle while I took a shower. The pool is on the small side and just OK. The workout room is just a treadmill and a couple of weights. Breakfast was really nice though, and there were all kinds of options available. The hotel is in the nice part of the city, but there is alot of construction going on around the building, so no peace and quiet. There is a cheesy casino on site that has only video games.

What was really annoying is that the front desk kept calling our room. First they called to make sure we got to the room. Then they called to see what time we were checking out the next day. Then the next morning they called again to see what time we were checking out and to remind us that check out was noon.

We used the "Spa" to get massages. The spa was rather old, and the rooms dirty. The dressing room was co-ed and you had to lock the door while you changed. I was shocked that my husband was offered a "Happy Ending" with his massage, since this is supposed to be a 5 star hotel. There is a bar on site, next to the pool, but we did not see anyone in it the whole night (Friday).

For the money I would stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PBLiving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2009

A beautiful lobby greets you as you enter...bellman, doorman, and marble.

Rooms are period with the appropriate modern upgrades to baths and such. Clean and such. I stayed in the newer wing. Service was truly first class for Vietnam. Proximity to many things..

Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brion R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2009

I’ve just returned from a very nice two night stay at the Grand Hotel, Saigon.

I booked an Executive Deluxe room in the heritage wing of the hotel for US$125 net/n, and when I checked-in they offered me a complimentary upgrade to a suite.

The rooms were large, and very nicely furnished. There was a small sitting room with crystal chandelier, and the bedroom had a large and very comfortable bed. The furnishings were of a very good quality, and the room and indeed the hotel felt like a glimpse into Vietnam’s colonial past.

The staff were professional, whilst being welcoming and polite, and the hotel facilities such as the swimming pool provided a very nice respite from the hectic city.

I will certainly stay at the Grand Hotel again.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheRoamingBrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2009

We stayed here for 2 nights at the end of our trip to Vietnam and loved it!

We were booked into the New Wing, which isn't as nice as the Old Wing but when we arrived were automatically upgraded to the Old Wing which is the original part of the hotel.

The rooms were out of this world! Service was impeccable and the staff were so friendly and helpful it was a shame to say goodbye.

Would deffo book here again!

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mattchew26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2009

We stayed 2 nights in this hotel in a superior room in the new wing - the room was large and the bed comfortable. Breakfast was great - had everything you could want. The service was great - we had a late night flight and we were given a later checkout of 2pm - which worked well. The Hotel is on the main shopping street and within walking distance of the markets, shopping centres and the old buildings - Post Office, Opera House etc. We would recommend this hotel as a well priced 4 star with all the facilities you need.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loretta g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.1 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside...
#19 of 476 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,802 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Majestic Saigon
Hotel Majestic Saigon
#39 of 476 in Ho Chi Minh City
3,115 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rex Hotel
Rex Hotel
#57 of 476 in Ho Chi Minh City
2,511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Caravelle Saigon
Caravelle Saigon
#21 of 476 in Ho Chi Minh City
2,859 reviews
0.3 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint...
#12 of 476 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,810 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sofitel Saigon Plaza
Sofitel Saigon Plaza
#25 of 476 in Ho Chi Minh City
2,275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Saigon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Saigon

Address: 8 Dong Khoi St., Ben Nghe Ward, Dist 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Casino Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#20 Romantic Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#22 Business Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#23 Spa Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#28 Family Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#34 Luxury Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range: $98 - $192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Saigon 5*
Number of rooms: 226
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Hotel Saigon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Ho Chi Minh City
Grand Ho Chi Minh City
Grand Hotel Vietnam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing