We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”
Review of Grand Hotel Saigon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hotel Saigon
Ranked #44 of 462 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Very nice and spacious room, travelled with a friend and the single beds are huge! Hotel is very central and within walking distance to restaurants, bars, PO, markets and the river.
Only 2 things worth mentioning that we were unhappy with - wifi was virtually unaccessible in our room (8th floor), and during peak times, there were not available tables for breakfast. That was hard when you had a tour booked and could not wait for a table. Coffee was dreadful, undrinkable, but we are from Australia and maybe we are just not used to it.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,246)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,201 - 1,207 of 2,246 reviews

Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

We had a delightful stay at the grand. On arrival we were allowed an early check in and the room was spacious and comfortable. We had a nice view out over the city and noise was not intrusive.

The staff were courteous and helpful and we had no problems with them.


The breakfast buffet has lots of choice from cereals to Asian to a chef who will cook an omelette to order while you watch. There is masses if choice but this does mean those masses of choices don't change much every day. I found this to be the same in most hotels and don't see why others on here complain.

The rooftop bar is lovely (but not that cheap) and the food was good. They also have live music here from time to time.

The pool isn't massive but it's nice (apart from the pebbles round it - bring flip flops) and there is a bar and food so you can loaf/lounge by the pool as you wish.

The hotel and facilities were sl spotlessly clean and the decor dies hark back wonderfully to the colonial era. There is air con everywhere - thank god- and it's well located for most local attractions and some good restaurants (do try Ciao Bella on Dong Du less than 5 mins on foot).

All in all a touch of colonial elegance in downtown Ho Chi Minh City.

Aye lad it's grand!!!!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Individual_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

The Grand Hotel in Saigon (as the locals call it) is centrally located and easy for sightseeing. We stayed here for 2 nights before embarking on a Mekong River cruise and found no faults at all including the best spring rolls ever (according to my husband) in the roof top bar of the Hotel - and it was happy hour!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Calpechica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

The neighborhood that houses this hotel is home to plenty of other nice hotels. I cannot recommend this one. The management is dis-organized and rude. We booked (and prepaid for) 2 rooms (one double and one triple). They said that the triple had not been paid for as a triple. We spent nearly 30 minutes explaining that they were incorrect. Even when we showed the email confirmation of the extra payment for a triple, they had to spend more time trying to argue their side. It was unbelievable. When it came to the double, they said we had only booked one person and had to pay extra for the second.

Completely unacceptable treatment of customers.

In the bathrooms, they do not know how to tile the shower so it drains. The water runs away from the drain so there is an ever-present puddle.

Although we kept the windows closed, the street noise (and nightclub pounding music) was very audible. I didn't have this noise problems in other hotels in the city.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank debra r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

We were allowed an early check-in (10am) and were upgraded to a suite (separate living area) as the old wing was under some construction. The rooms were big and well kept, as was the double sink, marbled bathroom but water pressure from the shower wasn't very strong. The bed was very comfortable.

Grand Hotel is also in a great location, just off Dong Khoi and you can walk to most places in District 1 - Ben Thanh, the Church and the post office. Service was also great.

The only think I didn't like about Grand hotel was its breakfast. The spread was the same for the 4 days we were there. The cheese spread was a nice surprise but the hot food (some dim sum, rice, noodles) weren't very tasty.

Having said that, we would still stay in Grand Hotel again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a riverview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lfeyal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

A great hotel in good location. Staff very friendly and attentive at all times. Rooms were spacious and immaculate.Would definitely go back there. There is a lovely restaurant across the road, Raspas, and a convenience store on the corner. All in all a very good choice.

Room Tip: we stayed in senior de-luxe and it was very good. I understand that all rooms are as good. Double g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisQinOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

I stayed here on my first 2 nights in Vietnam. Hotel is in a good location, close to all the main 'attractions' like Notre Dame and the Post Office (yes, a huge French influence after nearly 100 years of Colonialism!). Also a good base to access the Cu Chi Tunnels etc. Its is beautifully decorated with rooms of a high standard. Large variety for breakfast. Friendly staff.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crazycollie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Majestic Saigon
Hotel Majestic Saigon
#43 of 462 in Ho Chi Minh City
3,020 reviews
0.1 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside...
#23 of 462 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,657 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rex Hotel
Rex Hotel
#56 of 462 in Ho Chi Minh City
2,403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Caravelle Saigon
Caravelle Saigon
#19 of 462 in Ho Chi Minh City
2,766 reviews
0.3 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint...
#13 of 462 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,642 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Silverland Hotel & SPA
Grand Silverland Hotel & SPA
#30 of 462 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Saigon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Saigon

Address: 8 Dong Khoi St., Ben Nghe Ward, Dist 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Casino Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#20 Romantic Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#22 Business Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#24 Spa Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#34 Luxury Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#35 Family Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range: $106 - $277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Saigon 5*
Number of rooms: 226
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Hotel Saigon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Ho Chi Minh City
Grand Ho Chi Minh City
Grand Hotel Vietnam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing