We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great rooms but so so facilities and service”
Review of Grand Hotel Saigon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hotel Saigon
Ranked #42 of 458 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
Kinshasa, Democratic Republic of the Congo
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Great rooms but so so facilities and service”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

The best part of my recent stay at Grand Hotel was my room and bathroom. Both were of a nice size, the bathroom very much so (separate shower & bath) and well appointed. Cleanliness and little touches (a fairytale dropped on my bed each evening) were also good. There were slight noise issues in my room (10th floor) with nightlife at the street level, but nothing major.
The hotel has staff which can appear friendly but also can appear clueless, management probably to blame. Knowledge of english is also hit and miss. Management appears most at fault for the shaky restauration and use of public spaces. None of the 3 functional (though 5 claimed..) restaurants is really inviting and all are seriously overpriced. The breakfast is free but not nearly good enough in quality and presentation. Most clients are elderly european couples or asian tourists.
I paid near to a hundred dollars per night incl breakfast which seemed good enough value.
A final negative touch was the poor internet reception, needs attention. My 4 'stars' are just for the room and bathroom. The rest is more like 2 'star', in fact appears the hotel already lost a 5th star. If only some management can take action, but the hotel is (alas) state-owned...

Room Tip: Good high up to avoid street noise, also get away from elevators..
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martijn t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    875
    888
    309
    93
    46
See reviews for
391
951
114
240
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (403)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Noosa, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Arrived at the hotel its a beautiful Old Hotel with a new wing attached, we booked a Superior room and were told that we had been uprgraded to a suite, yahoo, it was in the old section and was a fantastic room with seperate Lounge area overlooking the pool. The staff were very professional and I would not hesitate to recommend this place to anyone, Breakfast was included and it was a well prepared buffet with a wide choice of meals.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank upnorth1042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pecetto Torinese, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2012

I've been recently in this hotel for two nights and I had a positive sensation. Room was spacious and quite, facing on interior garden. Wifi is working well in term of coverage but is quite low. The hotel has been completely renewed and I noticed they have removed one star (5 to 4). Swimming pool is amazing, you are open air, but surrounded by hotel rooms, it's nice and intimate. Breakfast is luxurious for the price paid. If you want to have a walk around, you are immediately in the center, surrounded by the smell and sensations of south Vietnam, even if it's hard to find a real Vietnamese restaurant being a touristic area.

Room Tip: If you want quietness choose room facing garden, if you like view room facing on road are available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alessio315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is in the middle of a great area for shops and places to eat. Rooms were clean and well appointed. Bathrooms modern and plenty of facilities. The staff at the reception were friendly and very helpful. The only issue was that the group went to the roof bar and it took 25 minutes for one of the group to get their cocktail. After mentioning this issue to the reception staff when we returned the next night the service was very slick.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Ken A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Stayed in the hotel for 4 nights while attending a conference at a nearby hospital. Was picked up at the airport by friendly and efficient hotel representatives which was perfect after 26 hours of travel.
Checking in at 11:30pm was fast, efficient and very helpful. I was directed straight to my previously requested smoke free and quiet room (after reading TA reviews). Was pleasantly surprised when I found a large, modern, clean and well appointed room. Very usefully the rooms plugs were all multi-form adaptable, though the room had their odd light console by the side of the bed which took a little getting used to, is actually a good idea when you get the hang of it, but isn't easy to switch on in the dark.
The first short night consisted of two fire alarm soundings, with a reassurance from the front desk that it was an error, but I was too tired to worry about further and thought that after 26hours of traveling I was happy to risk a real fire. The furnishings of the room were great, though a bit tricky getting out of the shower (stepping onto the bath mat) but the raindrop shower head is a godsend for the weary traveller. Parents please be aware that the windows open fully or at least the 11floor did, so mind younger folks. Quite a firm bed. Free Internet access (please note gouging US hotels) though the service is patchy and prone to dropping out when face timing home.
Breakfast is multicultural and quite enjoyable. Pool is terrific to hang out by, nice and quiet, but don't expect to develop a bronzed tan as the sun only hits the area for a few hours. The gym is fairly well appointed-3 running and 3 elliptically and a resistance station.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor facing east towards the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sgrayg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
323 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012

We stayed at the Grand twice over the period of a week. Both times we were in the 'Heritage Wing' which is the original hotel which was built in the 1930s (the oldest in Saigon apparently). The first time our room was off the pool with a shared sitting room between our room and the corridor, but it wasn't air-conditioned so was too muggy to use. The rooms are high ceilinged and nicely appointed, with original features and big bathrooms but the plumbing in both rooms was less than ideal and flushing the loo could prove challenging!

The rooms were also very noisy. Even with the outer shutters closed, it sounded as if the windows were wide open and we found earplugs a necessity if we weren't to be woken at rush hour (5-7am!). The air conditioning was also temperamental.

We only ate breakfast in the hotel which was extensive but looked better than it tasted. It was a particular challenge to get coffee as this involved catching the eye of a waitress, explaining that we'd like coffee, hot water (the coffee is v strong and needed diluting) and hot milk. This seemed too difficult and by day 4 we'd reverted to tea! Be warned that the level of English spoken in both the hotel and the city, is not brilliant and while waitresses nod and appear to understand, they clearly don't.

One other gripe was that the wi-fi was extremely hit and miss and we couldn't even download our emails.

Room Tip: Avoid room 204 by the lift - it's particularly noisy. And the rooms in the new tower block, whil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lazzagear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi MInh
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2012

I came to Le Grand Spa because I dedicatedly followed Tommy Bui from his previous gig as the main stylist at the Park Hyatt (before they closed the salon).

I have very thick, curly, high-lighted blonde hair - basically the exact opposite of the typical hair you see in Asia - so I was very nervous about how I would maintain my roots while living abroad. Well, thank god I found Tommy! He is a world class professional. He has highlighted my hair on par, or even better, than some of my former stylists in NYC. My highlights look natural and my hair is healthy. Also, the woman who massaged my head - oh my god.

Tommy is not cheap, but it is definitely worth it. You get Western quality/performance at high-Eastern prices.

What has sparked my need to rave about Tommy is due to my unfortunate recent stray. I went to the new Toni & Guy Saigon only because they just opened up beneath my apartment. I was curious. Boy, do I regret going there. They dyed my hair fluorescent yellow - after fixing it 3 times and me nearly losing all my hair, I am now a dark brunette, because they clearly can't handle highlights. But that is another story, for another review....

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Majestic Saigon
Hotel Majestic Saigon
#44 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
2,967 reviews
0.2 mi away
Caravelle Saigon
Caravelle Saigon
#16 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
2,716 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rex Hotel
Rex Hotel
#52 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
2,351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside...
#18 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,595 reviews
0.3 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint...
#11 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,566 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Nikko Saigon
Hotel Nikko Saigon
#5 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
3,401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Saigon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Saigon

Property: Grand Hotel Saigon
Address: 8 Dong Khoi St., Ben Nghe Ward, Dist 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Casino Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#20 Romantic Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#22 Business Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#25 Spa Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#34 Luxury Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#35 Family Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Saigon 5*
Number of rooms: 226
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Saigon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Ho Chi Minh City
Grand Ho Chi Minh City
Grand Hotel Vietnam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing