We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A genuine four star hotel (maybe 5 star in some respects)”
Review of Grand Hotel Saigon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hotel Saigon
Ranked #44 of 468 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Lots of chandeliers and marble and very friendly staff.

Apart from the fact that the room was a little cramped (with twin beds and a chair beside the bed it made it a little tight), everything was to our satisfaction.

The a/c worked well and was reasonably quiet, the bed was comfortable (particularly so for an Asian hotel), the bathroom was well laid out with a full bathtub and separate shower recess, and the water was hot.

My small laptop fitted into the in-room safe, and the wi-fi connection worked well (and was free).

The rooftop bar overlooking the Saigon River has a nice ambiance (around AU$10 for a beer and a Bacardi & Coke), but … we found it depended to a large degree on the music group that is playing when you visit – 3 nights, 3 different groups – one was great, the other 2 were ok.

The pool area was small but good, and the buffet breakfast (with egg/omelette station) offered everything we required.

Reasonably centrally located and it would be our first choice should we return to HCMC.

PS – The little mini-market across the road is good if you want to buy small snacks or a few cans of beer/coke etc to drink in your hotel room. Also, the noodle shop “Saigon Corner” just a few doors down from the mini-mart is good for a cheap feed.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jjumpstart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,284)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,444 - 1,450 of 2,284 reviews

Reviewed October 4, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at The Grand Hotel Saigon for 5 nights. My husband and I in one room and the kids in another. The location is in the more up market area of Saigon. There are some nice restaurants around the hotel. The breakfast buffet was good. The pool was quiet. The security was good at the hotel. I couldn't fault it but it is one of the best in Saigon so it should be well above average.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Aussie_Brady_Bunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

It is an old classic hotel and definitely exudes a charm that only comes with graceful ageing. We stayed here three nights, very comfortable, excellent location downtown on Dong Khoi with easy access to all the important sights in town. It checked all the boxes for a very good four star hotel - good breakfast, functional wi-fi, very comfortable rooms and a high degree of cleanliness. The pool areas are adequate and a very good gym as well.

Room Tip: The spa is a tad expensive - you might want to shop around to see if better value is available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SriniGSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Great location, very clean, lovely staff.
Internet connection was fantastic, close to everything and breakfast was what I needed.
There was nothing I can say that I did not like!
The hotel was exactly as it was in the brochure and was what we needed as travelers to Ho Chi Min City for the first time.
Front desk was very helpful!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helenback39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

This hotel makes much of its history but it has little character and could be a mid range hotel anywhere. The room was clean and comfortable, breakfast was Ok but not as good as other hotels in the city.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

4D/3N stay in the new wing. Room was spacious & clean. Twin sharing bed was huge & comfy. Toilet well equip with toiletries. Daily complimentry fruits & bottled water. Breakfast consist of a wide variety of local & international. Staff are helpful & friendly but not all can converse in English very well.
Main reception located at the old wing, so is the main entrance. However, the commonly used entrance/exit & the drop-off area is over at the new wing which is the backdoor.
There is a casino (not a big one though) over at the old wing. All electronic machines, bets in USD. They offer food & drinks (alcoholic/non-alcoholic) when you play.
BBQ seafood dinner looked good but i didn't try it. It cost around 30USD per pax. I prefer the seafood dinner at the night market. i paid 12USD for that.
There are some shops & eating place along the street near the hotel. But you can finde more value for money stuff if you take a walk to the Banh Thanh Market. You should take at least 15mins on foot if you know the direction how to get there. Else, you'll need to walk at least 20mins or more.
There are a couple of spa place & night club opposite the hotel. Massage service is cheaper than in Singapore but more than what you pay in Bangkok or Batam. Night club is Singapore standard, both price & ambience.
Overall, i had a good stay. I don't mind to come back again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the canal and not the night club for better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leesll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We stayed 4 nights in October 2007 as part of a 12-day tour of Vietnam.

The Grand may possibly have been grander in the past, but now seems to have lost its glitter. Apart from the reception area, it has a generally tired and tatty appearance.

The room was OK, but the bathroom was 1970s vintage, with no instructions on how to work the shower (which we eventually figured out ourselves). The aircon lacks grunt as the room was slow to cool down. There was construction noise next door at night, but I guess that is really not the hotel's fault.

The breakfasts were mediocre in quality and quantity, the waiters need more training and at least some of them should speak English. Although breakfasts are supposed to be provided until 9am, you really need to get there before 8am as the food doesn't seem to be replenished after then. Don't bother eating any other meals there.

Laundry notified for pick up at 7am was not delivered until after 9pm on 2 occasions.

Overall, it was not as good as other hotels we stayed at in Hanoi, Hue and Hoi An.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James42_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Majestic Saigon
Hotel Majestic Saigon
#40 of 468 in Ho Chi Minh City
3,065 reviews
0.1 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside...
#18 of 468 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,742 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rex Hotel
Rex Hotel
#57 of 468 in Ho Chi Minh City
2,460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Caravelle Saigon
Caravelle Saigon
#20 of 468 in Ho Chi Minh City
2,819 reviews
0.3 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint...
#11 of 468 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,734 reviews
0.8 mi away
New World Saigon Hotel
New World Saigon Hotel
#53 of 468 in Ho Chi Minh City
2,316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Saigon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Saigon

Address: 8 Dong Khoi St., Ben Nghe Ward, Dist 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Casino Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#20 Romantic Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#22 Business Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#23 Spa Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#34 Luxury Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#35 Family Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range: $108 - $272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Saigon 5*
Number of rooms: 226
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Saigon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Ho Chi Minh City
Grand Ho Chi Minh City
Grand Hotel Vietnam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing