We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Claustrophobic and dishonest”
Review of Oscar Saigon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Oscar Saigon Hotel
Ranked #179 of 458 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Melbourne
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Claustrophobic and dishonest”
Reviewed April 27, 2007

Not the worst place we stayed in Vietnam, but close to it. Being objective, the location is fine, the bathroom was clean and the included breakfast was good.

The room however was a claustrophobic cell without a window and walls so thin that one could hear every TV, conversation, footfall and appliance on the floor. Checkout was marred by extortion for allegedly used minibar contents, an unpleasant scam to end an otherwise unremarkable experience.

If you do choose to, or are forced to stay here I would suggest that you; a) do not surrender your passport or credit card imprint as this is their tool for extortion; and b) demand to see the room first.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Room and fraud
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank DrC71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    203
    139
    50
    19
See reviews for
51
155
50
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2007

I stayed in Oscar Saigon Hotel last year (Nov 2006). I specifically booked for a queen size bed and when I got there, I was given a room with two double beds (see picture below). I was told that the room was newly renovated (yes, I can still smell the paint when I got to the room).

There was supposed to be free wireless internet in the room but it wasn't working (I had to troubleshoot the internet connectivity problem myself since they didn't have their in-house IT person during the weekend).

The breakfast buffet was sufficient. There were continental and American breakfast food choices. There's congee and some Asian noodles. However, the juices were a bit disappointing (a bit thin). There's no variation in the daily breakfast buffet. Just be careful of the fresh vegetable salad buffet. I had diarrhea after eating it.

Lastly, there's no ironing board or flat iron which can be borrowed from the hotel. I was told that it's a fire hazard so they don't provide it to their hotel guests (which can be quite a hassle if your clothes are a bit creased).

  • Liked — delicious instant coffee in the complimentary tray in the room
  • Disliked — boring breakfast buffet, lingering paint scent in the room
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank AsianGeekette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ho Chi Minh City hotels

Shanghai, China
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2007

stayed at the oscar saigon hotel for three nights at the end of a 10-day trip. location is great, but since we were in vietnam during tet (lunar new year) we paid far too much for hotels in general. the oscar is a decent 3-star: clean, but shabby. out of desperation (everything was booked for tet) we paid around $70 USD per night.... way too much. if you're considering, i don't think it's worth more than $45 USD per night.

the staff was quite nice, generally speaking. the only drawback was the karaoke bar on the second floor so each night there was a considerable amount of noise (muffled singing, drunk shouting). ok if you're a heavy sleeper like me, but not good if you aren't.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — shabby and oudated
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank CalifornianInChina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2007

is a very normal hotel. the shower was very good and the room was big, but it had no window... nevertheless it was very quiet.
The location is very good, it's in the center near all the big hotels and good restaurants and bars.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — no window in the room
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank idependent_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon tyne uk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2007

Stayed in this hotel for 3 days and found it pleasant and excellent value for money with a good location women staff wearing traditional vietnamese dress are a joy and very friendly.

  • Liked — friendly staff good location
  • Disliked — rooms could do with a bit of modernising
  • Tips/Secrets — take the trips to the cu chi tunnels and the mekong delta both magic experiances.
  • Stayed April 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank NUFCshaun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arbroath Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2006

4 day stay booked from Kuala Lumpur by phone by friends. After an initial hic-cup on check-in when they did not have our booking? We eventually got that sorted and got an upgrade to a suite. The staff were pretty helpful, although we did search out the Rex across road just in case.
The hotel has been recently upgraded and the rooms were well finished off, clean and comfortable. As we had a suite we were lucky to have views across the city on 2 directions. Mini bar while not that well stocked is not expensive, so happily consumed the odd beer or two. The breakfast was also fine, buffet style and a chef will make your eggs any style. The hotel location is great and central and it is quite safe to walk around, there are Tourist Police to assist you cross the very busy roads (not with cars but motor bikes by the thousands…). For money exchange the hotel was the same rates as the exchange across the road.
Around the area is the famous Rex Hotel were we had afternoon tea for $5.00 (great value), across the street is the tax centre shopping plaza, around the corner is the Sheraton Hotel (again afternoon tea but $10) and Mojos Bistro, the Caravel Hotel for cocktails in the Saigon-Saigon bar at night for night time views, the Opera House, and a host of eateries. One last bit of advice if you want a great eating experience go to the Au Lac do Brazil (Brazilian speciality restaurant) which you will need a taxi to take you, the hotel will help.
This was my first visit to Vietnam and found it fascinating and would recommend it. Be quick before it gets too commercial and tourists catch on.

  • Liked — Location and cleanliness
  • Disliked — No dislikes as hopes were not that high anyway. It is what is, a 4 star Hotel.
  • Tips/Secrets — Remember the airport tax on departure.
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank Brian21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.0 mi away
Palace Hotel Saigon
Palace Hotel Saigon
#160 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
607 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bong Sen Hotel Saigon
Bong Sen Hotel Saigon
#121 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
522 reviews
0.0 mi away
Royal Hotel Saigon ( Kimdo Hotel)
Royal Hotel Saigon ( Kimdo Hotel...
#98 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tan Hoang Long Hotel
Tan Hoang Long Hotel
#62 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
545 reviews
0.1 mi away
Catina Hotel
Catina Hotel
#115 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
330 reviews
0.1 mi away
Huong Sen Hotel
Huong Sen Hotel
#51 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oscar Saigon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oscar Saigon Hotel

Property: Oscar Saigon Hotel
Address: 68A Nguyen Hue Boulevard, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #179 of 458 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Oscar Saigon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oscar Saigon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Oscar Saigon
Oscar Hotel Saigon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing