We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oscar is not too bad”
Review of Oscar Saigon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Oscar Saigon Hotel
Ranked #187 of 457 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Singapore
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Oscar is not too bad”
Reviewed December 16, 2008

Just rtn from a 5D4N vacation to HCMC and stayed at Oscar Hotel. It was booked by our travel and we did not know what to expect. We did a check with TA and was a bit apprehensive initially.

We arrived at the hotel at about 10.30 and was given our rooms immediately with no delay which was quite a surprised. The room was clean and nicely furnished. It was recently refurbished and everything looks new.

The staff there was smiling and greet us everytime we meet them from the housekeeping staff to the doormen. Except the front office and the waiters. But generally the staff are ok.

They have over 60 channels on cable and include HBO, MTV and ESPN which was a bonus after touring the city. They also have free internet in the lobby for guest to use.

Best of all the hotel is centrally located and near major shopping areas like Dong Voi, Saigon Tax Centre and also the Tourist Info Centre.

One setback from the time we were there were that they do not have many rooms with windows and there were constant drilling and knocking due to some renovation works still in progress. But this is only during the day and by 6pm all works stop.

But overall it is a value for money 3 star hotel room if you do not spend whole day in the hotel and it is mainly use for sleep and storage of your luggage and you mostly spend your time exploring HCMC.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miafarik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    198
    139
    48
    19
See reviews for
50
154
48
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Pacific Coast Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2008

The Oscar was excellent the staff great, we had a room with a window , breakfast great, our whole stay there was great would stay there again.

  • Liked — close to everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank sonjaculburra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSW
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2008

Had read previous reviews re this hotel and paid extra to ensure rooms with a window. Arrived at midnight from Sydney to be kept two hours and told firstly that our rooms had no windows then that the room was not available as someone was sick and had stayed on in the room. We then said we will just use the second booked room and discovered there were none available at all. They could'nt give us an excuse for why no second room. For the two hours I spent at the desk 2 other people with bookings had to be sent to other hotels. Stay away

Stayed June 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank ZIEBELL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ho Chi Minh City hotels

Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2008

Great hotel in a very well located area. Stayed 2 weeks ago, 2 suites on the 2nd to top floor (restaurant above) great views, good buffet breakfast, all good. ANZ eftpos machine right outside, within walking distance of many sights, large shopping mall with supermarket just over the road

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — -
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank KiwiFamilyOfFive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2008

We took a taxi from the airport to this hotel and immediately liked the neighborhood. When we checked in there was a problem with the room so they upgraded us to a suite. We changed back the next night to a normal room, just as nice but without the extra living room area. Both rooms were clean and the buffet breakfast was good. We walked around a lot in the area and whenever we came back, there was always someone at the hotel to hold the door for us and they could help with travel arrangements (although we took care of it at a travel agency down the street). Just check things on your way out -there was an extra charge for the mini-bar, but when we told them it wasn't ours (which was true!), they dropped it for us immediately.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank americanaabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2008

My partner and I stayed in this hotel for 3 nights during Christmas 2007.

The complaint I wish to share with fellow travellers is as follows - and for me to complain on here is quite unusual - I'm pretty laid back! Upon checkin, we were informed that another guest in the hotel had decided to "stay another night" and therefore our room was not available. We were instructed that if we stayed at the hotel we would need to upgrade to a more expensive room.

Though I was really tired from a long flight (we flew into HCMC), I told them that this was really silly - standard hotel procedure for that situation is meant to be that the "other" guest should change rooms if they want to stay longer on the spur of the moment.

We then had to wait one and a half hours in the lobby before finally being told that in fact, our room was available, and without explanation we were given a pass to that room.

What is interesting is that while we were waiting in the lobby, we got talking to some American travellers and they said that the day before they had been given the exact same story, and that they too had to wait over an hour to be given a room. And, when I looked around, I saw that about three other groups of travellers were also waiting for rooms.

Is this a standard procedure of the Oscar Saigon to try and coerce people into upgrading?

Otherwise the hotel is lovely and the breakfast menu is diverse, including Vietnamese, French and Western cuisine.

Our room, one of the cheaper rooms, was an internal room and had no open windows at all, so be mindful of this if you like natural light or a view. Consequently the room was quite dark, even in spite of numerous lights. Nonetheless the fit-out was impeccable and quite attractive.

The location is very good - it is right in the centre of action and within walking distance to many restaurants, including an Italian restaurant if you feel like a rest from Vietnamese cuisine, and including restaurants recommended by travel guides. There is also very good shopping very nearby, including on the same block as the hotel. There is a department store, numerous handicraft stores and an Espirit store right nearby.

The location is some distance, perhaps a 5 - 10 minute taxi ride, from the main backpackers' area. The Oscar Saigon is located where all the upmarket hotels are. If you're like us and felt like nicer accommodation but still like to take budget tours, definitely catch a taxi to the backpackers district! The tours at the hotel are extremely overpriced at $100 - $120 US for a day trip, whereas in the backpackers' district we got a day trip to the Cu Chi tunnels and Cao Dai temple including lunch for US $5. I felt very sorry for the travellers who paid $120 US and still ended up on a bus - for that price you should definitely be able to get a private tour in Vietnam.

  • Liked — location, quality of included breakfast, new fit-out
  • Disliked — extremely poor checkin practices
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Maddy1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex, UK
Level Contributor
125 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2008

This is a good value 3* city centre hotel in District 1, near to Don Khoi Street, the river, sightseeing and shopping.
It was undergoing a facelift in March, and the lobby area was pristine. We booked a cosy room which surprisingly, was quite spacious, but without a window. It had been completely renovated recently and as we were only there one night, and out during the day, we didn't miss any daylight. Breakfast was on the 11th floor and the views were the best part overlooking the Hotel de Ville, the Opera House etc. The breakfast was average. It is a clean, straight-forward, no-frills hotel.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank 2Turners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.0 mi away
Palace Hotel Saigon
Palace Hotel Saigon
#155 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
603 reviews
0.0 mi away
Royal Hotel Saigon ( Kimdo Hotel)
Royal Hotel Saigon ( Kimdo Hotel...
#102 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
430 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bong Sen Hotel Saigon
Bong Sen Hotel Saigon
#121 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Huong Sen Hotel
Huong Sen Hotel
#45 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
568 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tan Hoang Long Hotel
Tan Hoang Long Hotel
#56 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
539 reviews
0.1 mi away
Catina Hotel
Catina Hotel
#107 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oscar Saigon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oscar Saigon Hotel

Property: Oscar Saigon Hotel
Address: 68A Nguyen Hue Boulevard, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #187 of 457 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Oscar Saigon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oscar Saigon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Oscar Saigon
Oscar Hotel Saigon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing