We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, good location”
Review of Oscar Saigon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Oscar Saigon Hotel
Ranked #186 of 453 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, good location”
Reviewed March 3, 2014 via mobile

Very functional hotel, in a central location in Ho Chi Minh city, especially for the shops or walking to the Saigon river.
We had a decent sized room, over the entrance to the hotel-- it was therefore facing the main road, unfortunately it was quite noisy as the traffic is constant--not that the hotel could be held responsible for that, of course. Better glazing may minimise the noise.
However, we would not have any complaints with the facilities or service, but if we were on a longer stay ( which I would recommend ) we would want somewhere with more to offer.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Paul I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    198
    138
    48
    19
See reviews for
50
154
48
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level Contributor
81 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2014

The Oscar is a well located city hotel within walking distance of many of Saigons attractions including the opera house.
Our room was acceptable with a decent bathroom. The breakfast was fine but not inspiring

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank splodgered
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wroxall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014

This hotel was well positioned for the main sights of Saigon with being located in District 1. The rooms were clean and a reasonable size (room 509). Breakfast was good and really couldn't find anything to fault with the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spalding, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014

The hotel was situated right in the centre of Saigon [Ho Chi Minh City - HCMC] and enabled us to visit most of the sights in the city with ease. Walking distance to the Cathedral, the Main Post Office, the Opera House and the Rex Hotel Roof Garden Terrace - a must, but beware prices are extortionate! The room was small but clean with a bath/shower and all that one may need. Some rooms appeared not to have any windows!
Breakfast perfectly adequate if not too exciting. Beware the coffee - it can be like tar!
We arranged a half-day guided city tour, followed by a trip out to Cu Chi [the Viet Cong tunnels] and the water puppet show. An exhausting day, but worth it despite the cost

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a window, even though the view is not too exciting!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, New York
Level Contributor
456 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 251 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2014

The Oscar Saigon Hotel is centrally located in the downtown area and close to shopping, restuarants and tourist attractions. The small lobby is inviting as the front desk staff are cordial and helpful. The tiny elevators can barely fit 4 people. The rooms are spacious and clean and simply furnished. The bathroom has a tub with a hand rail to make it easy to get out of the tub.
Breakfast is served on the 11th floor which involves walking up a flight of stairs from the two main elevators. The buffet breakfast is great and the view of the city is wonderful. This is a
reasonably price hotel that is worth staying as it is near everything.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gregg H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014

spent 3 nites at the Oscar Hotel. Rooms are smallish but clean and reasonable comfortable. Staff was polite and helpful. Rooms a bit noisey and watch out for rooms without windows! Was there during Tet and would not recommend traveling during Chinese new year, restaurants, shops closed.

Room Tip: Make sure that you get a room with a window
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marc_2726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worcestershire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Very good place at that particular time, We could sit outside and have a beer and watch the flowers arrive for the tet festival, amazing. We also had a room overlooking the square. I gather that some of the rooms have no windows. The breakfast buffet was good with a mixture of western and eastern food.The service was good except for the outside waiters who seemed to spend a lot of time talking to trheir friends in the street

Room Tip: ask for a room with a window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeanseymour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.0 mi away
Palace Hotel Saigon
Palace Hotel Saigon
#153 of 453 in Ho Chi Minh City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
0.0 mi away
Royal Hotel Saigon ( Kimdo Hotel)
Royal Hotel Saigon ( Kimdo Hotel...
#102 of 453 in Ho Chi Minh City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bong Sen Hotel Saigon
Bong Sen Hotel Saigon
#120 of 453 in Ho Chi Minh City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tan Hoang Long Hotel
Tan Hoang Long Hotel
#59 of 453 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
0.1 mi away
Catina Hotel
Catina Hotel
#107 of 453 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
0.1 mi away
Huong Sen Hotel
Huong Sen Hotel
#48 of 453 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oscar Saigon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oscar Saigon Hotel

Property: Oscar Saigon Hotel
Address: 68A Nguyen Hue Boulevard, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #186 of 453 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Oscar Saigon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oscar Saigon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Oscar Saigon
Oscar Hotel Saigon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing