We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, clean, good value for the money”
Review of Oscar Saigon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Oscar Saigon Hotel
Ranked #164 of 476 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We arrived early as part of the big group and the staff worked diligently to check us in early after a 20+ hour flight. We got our rooms 2 hours before the check-in time and were very grateful for that.

The room was surprisingly clean. The bathroom was also very clean and well-stocked on the supplies. The breakfast buffet had plenty of variety and the service staff was fast and courteous.

The best part is the location. It is in the heart of the center, within walking distance to the main attractions and has plenty of stores and restaurants around.

Overall, a nice hotel to stay at in Saigon.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank allaroundtheuniverse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (471)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

162 - 168 of 471 reviews

Reviewed October 18, 2013

The hotel is very clean and we had a nice big room on the 9th floor. The location is excellent with lots of places to visit, restaurants, etc., within easy walking distance.
The hotel food is not very good although you can get a decent breafast, particularly if you use the hot counter for eggs.

Room Tip: Higher floors are less affected by noise at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hugh H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

the location is at the heart of the city. it is a walking distance to shops and good restaurants. the rooms are spacious, clean and very comfortable. the bathroom is very clean too. what i like most is the restaurant of the hotel. it offers lunch and dinner buffet that are reasonably priced and offers a variety of delicious food. the breakfast that comes with room is varied and delicious too. over all, its value for your money.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YAMSKY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

On arrival the reception staff were a bit disorganised and also wanted to retain our passports which is not something that I love. My room was very large, it was immaculately clean but had no sense of design at all. The room smelt faintly of moth ball or something similar. The bed was a hard as rock and the room was pretty noisy as the traffic in the city centre is constant.
The breakfast was ok but nothing to write home about. The location of the hotel is great for exploring the city centre. All in all this is not somewhere I would stay if I was going on holiday but it ok for a couple of nights on business.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank redredrose666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

This hotel is OK but not what I would call a 4 star by any standard - european or not.
Great it was in the centre of ho chi minh, but that's it. The staff we re OK, friendly enough but not great. The windows didn't fit so we could hear the music rising and hear the words to songs until after 10.30pm. We had had long day on our first day and wanted to sleep early but this was not possible. The good thing was the music stopped after that time and you could hear the horns outside but at least you could sleep. The window in our room did not fir and there were gaps around it - not great if you had arrived on an overnight flight and needed sleep. The bathroom was too narrow and the shower was far too weak - we had experienced better on a boat! The breakfast was OK but not great. The best thing is the location but I am pretty sure there are other 4 star hotels that are better......

Room Tip: Might be worth going for a cosy room (without a window) or at least check your window to make sure i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vietnamgirl0913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We stayed here for three nights. Very nice location, very nice room and decor. Yes, the water pressure for the shower was a bit on the slow side but not enough to detract from the overall experience.

Just one minor observation. Whilst waiting in the bar area for our room to be ready, here was obviously some kind of cleaning audit going on. Three guys in suites, armed with clipboards and white dusters, was slightly off-putting. Even more so when they peered intently at the floor around us as we were eating our sandwich. We felt very uncomfortable. Whilst understanding the need for audits and inspections, it would be better if they were carried out at a time when guests weren't trying to use the facilities.

But that aside I would recommend the hotel to anyone thinking of staying in Ho Chi Minh.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NorthLincsChikky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We stayed her for 5 nights.The hotel is well located and there are lots of resturants around it.
Shopping is just across the road and the staff are efficient and helpful.
Deluxe room is not that big and the bathroom is too small and narrow, Water pressure was not that great.
Breakfast was good..Buffett and plenty to eat.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Judith P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.1 mi away
Bong Sen Hotel Saigon
Bong Sen Hotel Saigon
#126 of 476 in Ho Chi Minh City
534 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tan Hoang Long Hotel
Tan Hoang Long Hotel
#63 of 476 in Ho Chi Minh City
559 reviews
0 mi away
Royal Hotel Saigon ( Kimdo Hotel)
Royal Hotel Saigon ( Kimdo Hotel...
#111 of 476 in Ho Chi Minh City
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Catina Hotel
Catina Hotel
#114 of 476 in Ho Chi Minh City
340 reviews
0 mi away
Palace Hotel Saigon
Palace Hotel Saigon
#167 of 476 in Ho Chi Minh City
619 reviews
0.7 mi away
Alagon Central Hotel & Spa
Alagon Central Hotel & Spa
#81 of 476 in Ho Chi Minh City
819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oscar Saigon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oscar Saigon Hotel

Address: 68A Nguyen Hue Boulevard, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #164 of 476 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range: $42 - $78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Oscar Saigon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Oscar Saigon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Oscar Saigon
Oscar Hotel Saigon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing