We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“in a very bad need of renovation”
Review of Oscar Saigon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Oscar Saigon Hotel
Ranked #164 of 468 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Reviewed March 15, 2013

The advantages of the hotel: far from expensive, perfect location (district 1 - city center), nice and helpful staff, substantial breakfast, fast check-in and check-out, clean room, no problem to get a taxi at the entrance of the hotel.

The disadvantages of it: everything except of the reception/entrance hall looks shabby and old, in the bathroom it smells awful from the sink's tubes, our room was overlooking the main street and hotel Sheraton: I could live with the noise from the street, but not the open disco at Sheraton Hotel untill 3 am. On a Tuesday?! The music is heard even through the earplugs. No need to say, I could not sleep untill 3 am. yes, the windows are very old.

Room Tip: away from Sheraton Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (466)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

198 - 204 of 466 reviews

Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed two nights at the start of March. The hotel is situated in the famous street Nguyen Hue with many luxury 5 star hotels around, along with many shops, restaurants, money exchanges, bookshops and a department store with a supermarket.

The new elevator is large and fast, and brought us to our room on the floor 10th with large window looking out to Nguyen Hue street. The small balcony is not accessible if you want to see more of the beautiful view due to the air conditioner unit outside. The hotel room was a good size with a clean wooden floor and the bathroom was adequately stocked, modern and clean. I loved the good wifi and buffet breakfast (6-10 AM) but all the Asian food was too salty and if you come at 9AM- there is not much left. This hotel is the only one I see in Vietnam so far has many staffs over 40 year old and has many years work in the hotel therefore their experience ,helpful and quick service.

I do not understand why the Floor manager at the breakfast room allowed the cooks at the egg and Pho station to lean over to reach out their stall plus a table that keep some herbs ,chopstick and plates in order to pass a bowl of pho or fried egg to the hotel guest .The distant quite far and unsafe with hot foods that easy cause an incident to hurt both staff and hotel guest.

I highly recommend this hotel to my friend because the price value,the location and the hotel staffs.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nharry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We stayed at the Oscar three nights, and everything was top-notch. We arranged a car pickup very late-night at the airport with the hotel, and that was a stress-free process making the arrangements and then the transfer. $30 was a good value for us, so we didn'have to deal with the late-night taxis.

The breakfast buffet was excellent, with a nice variety and quality.

The central location provided an ideal base for our tours around town. We ambled as far as the War Remnants Museum and the Reunification Palace as well as the close-by sites. We enjoyed a dinner at the Cargo Club, which is only a couple of blocks away.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 22explorer22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Hotel is clean but a Little Bit old.
The elevator is very slow.
The food is a little bit boring.
The central location is good for sight seeing trips...
Staff was friendly and helpful when I ask for help.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Ma4La
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

A great location for sightseeing as the attractions are within walking distance. Plenty of good restaurants near by, and shopping center across the road. The rooms are a we bit small for a couple, otherwise comfortable and OK for a couple of nights. The breakfast was so so, and the staff were a little unfriendly. Tea & coffee maker is in the room but very little tea bags and milk powder are given.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank punditji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Best location in the city, right in the center for shopping and sightseeing. The hotel is old, thus at more reasonable price and the room is larger enough.Room is clean and comfortable. Should choose room with wooden floor as those are renovated thus newer, they call those as oscar deluxe. Breakfirst is not nice though the view is quite nice. I would recommend for you who want large room in the city center at affordable price.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hana_102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

I am writing this review sitting up in bed with the air conditioning either turned off by the management or not functioning. The room is not uncomfortable as the AC has been fine until now(after midnight), since our arrival. If it does't improve soo 8
I will call the front desk, of course, but given the general approach of the staff, I am not confident much will change. There seems to be a few too many chifs and not enough Indians.
The hotel is centrally located, clean, and breakfast is good. No problems with the essentials.But given the generally high standard of the places around here, this hotel simply falls short of the mark.
Having written the above,I called the front desk and reported the problem - a man arrived and all is well! Perhaps the place simply needs a nudge to set it right? When asked, the staff responds helpfully, I will give the place the benefit of doubt in the hope things generally improve as the staff become more of a team.

Room Tip: If you want quiet, ask for aroom not overlooking the street. Despite the Tet celebrations, our room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cognacat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.1 mi away
Bong Sen Hotel Saigon
Bong Sen Hotel Saigon
#125 of 468 in Ho Chi Minh City
530 reviews
0 mi away
Royal Hotel Saigon ( Kimdo Hotel)
Royal Hotel Saigon ( Kimdo Hotel...
#103 of 468 in Ho Chi Minh City
449 reviews
0.1 mi away
Catina Hotel
Catina Hotel
#105 of 468 in Ho Chi Minh City
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tan Hoang Long Hotel
Tan Hoang Long Hotel
#64 of 468 in Ho Chi Minh City
549 reviews
0.2 mi away
Roseland Point Hotel
Roseland Point Hotel
#96 of 468 in Ho Chi Minh City
379 reviews
0.1 mi away
Huong Sen Hotel
Huong Sen Hotel
#50 of 468 in Ho Chi Minh City
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oscar Saigon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oscar Saigon Hotel

Address: 68A Nguyen Hue Boulevard, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #164 of 468 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range: $40 - $255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Oscar Saigon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Oscar Saigon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Oscar Saigon
Oscar Hotel Saigon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing