We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Bad, Not Good....”
Review of Oscar Saigon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Oscar Saigon Hotel
Ranked #169 of 458 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Da Nang, Vietnam
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Not Bad, Not Good....”
Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

Hotel is clean but a Little Bit old.
The elevator is very slow.
The food is a little bit boring.
The central location is good for sight seeing trips...
Staff was friendly and helpful when I ask for help.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ma4La
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    203
    139
    49
    19
See reviews for
51
155
50
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
nagpur
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

A great location for sightseeing as the attractions are within walking distance. Plenty of good restaurants near by, and shopping center across the road. The rooms are a we bit small for a couple, otherwise comfortable and OK for a couple of nights. The breakfast was so so, and the staff were a little unfriendly. Tea & coffee maker is in the room but very little tea bags and milk powder are given.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank punditji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Best location in the city, right in the center for shopping and sightseeing. The hotel is old, thus at more reasonable price and the room is larger enough.Room is clean and comfortable. Should choose room with wooden floor as those are renovated thus newer, they call those as oscar deluxe. Breakfirst is not nice though the view is quite nice. I would recommend for you who want large room in the city center at affordable price.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hana_102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

I am writing this review sitting up in bed with the air conditioning either turned off by the management or not functioning. The room is not uncomfortable as the AC has been fine until now(after midnight), since our arrival. If it does't improve soo 8
I will call the front desk, of course, but given the general approach of the staff, I am not confident much will change. There seems to be a few too many chifs and not enough Indians.
The hotel is centrally located, clean, and breakfast is good. No problems with the essentials.But given the generally high standard of the places around here, this hotel simply falls short of the mark.
Having written the above,I called the front desk and reported the problem - a man arrived and all is well! Perhaps the place simply needs a nudge to set it right? When asked, the staff responds helpfully, I will give the place the benefit of doubt in the hope things generally improve as the staff become more of a team.

Room Tip: If you want quiet, ask for aroom not overlooking the street. Despite the Tet celebrations, our room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cognacat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Good value, ok breakfasts etc. I would have to say a great location.
The only real downside was when my boyfriend and I went down for a 'couples' massage. My boyfriend and I were separated into different rooms which I found strange at the time. It seemed like a normal spa to me, and my massage was ok. I was shocked when my boyfriend told me afterwards that he was propositioned by the 'massage therapist' for a 'happy ending', she was very insistent and didn't want to take no for an answer. He obviously didn't accept her offer.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank strkitten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ho Chi Minh City hotels

Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed February 2, 2013

The place was in a good location apart from that very poor service
Lifts when working very slow . The staffs English again poor . How come a big hotel like that not accept u s dollars when even street vendors can.
Breakfast was a hurried affair and three mornings out of five had to ask for hot coffee as the coffee was tepid only
Have stayed in many hotels throughout Asia this one would have to rate the lowest

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a window or you will end up sleeping in a box room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pippa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 31, 2013

My wife and I were pleasantly surprised by this hotel. We stayed six nights during January 2013 and based upon some of the reviews I was a bit apprehensive. We found the room to be rather large (much larger than some of the similarly priced hotels near Benh Thanh market). We had little street noise. The bed was comfortable and things worked (i.e. we had hot water, etc.).

Breakfast was nice, with a large selection of foods. Staff were generally friendly but always competent. The location is great - just a couple of blocks from the Rex Hotel (fancier hotel but far more expensive). Our room rate was very reasonable.

Experiences and opinions vary but we had a good experience with the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.0 mi away
Palace Hotel Saigon
Palace Hotel Saigon
#157 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
605 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bong Sen Hotel Saigon
Bong Sen Hotel Saigon
#118 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
519 reviews
0.0 mi away
Royal Hotel Saigon ( Kimdo Hotel)
Royal Hotel Saigon ( Kimdo Hotel...
#101 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tan Hoang Long Hotel
Tan Hoang Long Hotel
#59 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
542 reviews
0.1 mi away
Catina Hotel
Catina Hotel
#108 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
329 reviews
0.1 mi away
Huong Sen Hotel
Huong Sen Hotel
#48 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oscar Saigon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oscar Saigon Hotel

Property: Oscar Saigon Hotel
Address: 68A Nguyen Hue Boulevard, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #169 of 458 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Oscar Saigon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oscar Saigon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Oscar Saigon
Oscar Hotel Saigon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing