We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Oscar very poor”
Review of Oscar Saigon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Oscar Saigon Hotel
Ranked #184 of 454 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Oscar very poor”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

The place was in a good location apart from that very poor service
Lifts when working very slow . The staffs English again poor . How come a big hotel like that not accept u s dollars when even street vendors can.
Breakfast was a hurried affair and three mornings out of five had to ask for hot coffee as the coffee was tepid only
Have stayed in many hotels throughout Asia this one would have to rate the lowest

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a window or you will end up sleeping in a box room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pippa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    198
    139
    48
    19
See reviews for
50
154
48
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 31, 2013

My wife and I were pleasantly surprised by this hotel. We stayed six nights during January 2013 and based upon some of the reviews I was a bit apprehensive. We found the room to be rather large (much larger than some of the similarly priced hotels near Benh Thanh market). We had little street noise. The bed was comfortable and things worked (i.e. we had hot water, etc.).

Breakfast was nice, with a large selection of foods. Staff were generally friendly but always competent. The location is great - just a couple of blocks from the Rex Hotel (fancier hotel but far more expensive). Our room rate was very reasonable.

Experiences and opinions vary but we had a good experience with the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
233 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

The location is hard to beat, close just about anywhere in Saigon that is worth visit. The restaurant in the other hand is just lousy food. Not to mentioned highly expensive price for the food they give and the waiter that don't know how to serve

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wijaya_Randu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

I booked a room for one night one level above the base room, and requested a quiet room away from the lift on a high floor. Being aware of noisy Saigon traffic, I emphasised that a window was not important, but that I wanted a quiet room. I got a room on 6th floor right next to lift. from 4am onwards I was kept awake by banging noises from the lift which sounded like steel cables banging. I complained upon checkout and they said that they could have changed my room. Well at 4am the idea of changing rooms is not something worth considering and would be the end of my night's sleep anyway. They said that Agoda had not forwarded my special request regarding room location. I have asked Agoda about this but am yet to get a reply.

Room Tip: Contact hotel direct about special request for quiet room away from the lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Privateyez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ho Chi Minh City hotels

Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
130 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

With its smack in the heart of District 1 location the Oscar Saigon Hotel boasts great value, some bygone grandeur and a really sweet staff gently making your stay worth going there. The Oscar is close to the river, a walk away from the best eat out places, across from a nice supermarket and close to some of the most expensive silk stores in HCMC. Oscars secret is its breakfast buffet, an ample mixture of East meets West specialties. Spice your continental breakfast with Vietnamese kidney treats, have some crab & corn soup and fill yourself with fresh juice and eggs. Didn't get any better, anywhere in the South.

Room Tip: Try the Deluxe rooms, they're spacious and really deluxe!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PVR2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Betoota, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

On impulse I booked a few days here via the internet in one of their cosy and affordable rooms. Tidy, upmarket, and perfectly located in the heart of Ho Chi Minh city. Quality at a location and price that could not be beat. Slept like a babe. Did I mention it was perfectly located?
Honestly, I was barely there so I didn't try the restaurant, nor health and fitness centre.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rad Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel as part of a tour package. It is centrally located, with many restaurants, cafes and shops nearby, including a supermarket. The rooms are fairly basic but adequate. Good value for money. The only complaint is the lifts which are tiny and ever so slow.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank PatrickSaidi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.0 mi away
Palace Hotel Saigon
Palace Hotel Saigon
#155 of 454 in Ho Chi Minh City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
0.0 mi away
Royal Hotel Saigon ( Kimdo Hotel)
Royal Hotel Saigon ( Kimdo Hotel...
#101 of 454 in Ho Chi Minh City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bong Sen Hotel Saigon
Bong Sen Hotel Saigon
#119 of 454 in Ho Chi Minh City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tan Hoang Long Hotel
Tan Hoang Long Hotel
#52 of 454 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
0.1 mi away
Catina Hotel
Catina Hotel
#108 of 454 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
0.1 mi away
Huong Sen Hotel
Huong Sen Hotel
#48 of 454 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oscar Saigon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oscar Saigon Hotel

Property: Oscar Saigon Hotel
Address: 68A Nguyen Hue Boulevard, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #184 of 454 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Oscar Saigon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oscar Saigon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Oscar Saigon
Oscar Hotel Saigon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing