We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best breakfast” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oscar Saigon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Oscar Saigon Hotel
Ranked #185 of 448 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
124 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Best breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

With its smack in the heart of District 1 location the Oscar Saigon Hotel boasts great value, some bygone grandeur and a really sweet staff gently making your stay worth going there. The Oscar is close to the river, a walk away from the best eat out places, across from a nice supermarket and close to some of the most expensive silk stores in HCMC. Oscars secret is its breakfast buffet, an ample mixture of East meets West specialties. Spice your continental breakfast with Vietnamese kidney treats, have some crab & corn soup and fill yourself with fresh juice and eggs. Didn't get any better, anywhere in the South.

Room Tip: Try the Deluxe rooms, they're spacious and really deluxe!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PVR2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    196
    135
    48
    19
See reviews for
50
152
48
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Betoota, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

On impulse I booked a few days here via the internet in one of their cosy and affordable rooms. Tidy, upmarket, and perfectly located in the heart of Ho Chi Minh city. Quality at a location and price that could not be beat. Slept like a babe. Did I mention it was perfectly located?
Honestly, I was barely there so I didn't try the restaurant, nor health and fitness centre.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rad Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel as part of a tour package. It is centrally located, with many restaurants, cafes and shops nearby, including a supermarket. The rooms are fairly basic but adequate. Good value for money. The only complaint is the lifts which are tiny and ever so slow.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank PatrickSaidi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

We chose this hotel because of its central location. We were overnighting it from a cruise and found the Oscar was located directly across the street from our drop off point. It is also surrounded by many 4 to 5 star hotels and restaurants which makes this hotel a great value and very safe. Staff at reception was efficient and courteous. Our premium room with a window located on the 7th floor was clean and functional. It included a room safe, slippers and two free bottles of water as well as a kettle for hot tea or coffee. The breakfast buffet located on the 11th floor, was adequate. We used the stairs as the elevator can be claustrophobic. Overall,we would recommend this hotel for its value and location.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MahTaiTai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
487 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 455 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2012

The dominant attribute of this hotel, our first in Vietnam, was its superb location. A few steps from the Opera House and many other attractions, it is surrounded by the best restaurants in the city, a good thing, as the hotel's own restaurant was not great, although the breakfasts were quite satisfactory. The downsides were the lack of a pool that would have helped us bear the sweltering heat a little better. It does have an exercise room and sauna, but neither were necessary given the climate and our hectic tour schedule. The single elevator is quite inadequate for a hotel that rises into the clouds, and we were in perpetual fear of missing out on the start of our tours. And the room, although adequate in size and quality of appliances and fixtures, was short on clothes hangers and drawer space.

Toilet facilities were excellent, and the range of items provided included disposable slippers and umbrellas. Coffee and tea-making was available and supplies were promptly replaced. As in most of our subsequent hotels in the country, Wi Fi was free, and guests had free access to a computer in the reception area. Given the political colour of the country, we were amazed at the range of English-language TV stations available.

In summary, I am sure if you try hard you can do better, but for the money, this is a cosy and convenient base from which to see this impressive city.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank davidgoldberg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
77 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

We stayed in this perfectly located hotel for one night when visiting Saigon on our trip back home to Europe.

The hotel has western standard and the staff is very helpfull, most of all the men who helped us with the baggage.

Rooms are spacy and calm with a good view over the city. Bathroom is perfect and hot water is also available (what is not always the case in Vietnam).

Breakfast buffet is excellent with a lot of different food to choose (western food and also good local food).

Overall this will be for sure our choice again when coming back to Saigon.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank roger-zh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
120 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

Stayed here for two nights in November 2012. The hotel is in a good location and within walking distance to the historic center and the night market.

The hotel staff are accomodating and speaks English well. If you're clausterphobic then make sure to request a room with a window. I was initially given a room without a window (it was spacous and recently updated), but I felt like I was sealed in a box, so I requested a room with a window. The staff moved me into another room that was a bit smaller and dated, but it had a window. The room was clean, as was the bathroom.

The hotel breakfast is located in the restaurant at the top floor. You have to take elevators to get there or take the stairs. Breakfast consists of western and Asian favorites with a really good selection of baguettes.

There are lots of good restaurants within walking distance of the hotel and the night market is about a 10-15 walk (bring a map!).

Room Tip: Request a room with a window if you're clausterphobic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank i-gots-wanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.0 mi away
Palace Hotel Saigon
Palace Hotel Saigon
#157 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Hotel Saigon ( Kimdo Hotel)
Royal Hotel Saigon ( Kimdo Hotel...
#96 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bong Sen Hotel Saigon
Bong Sen Hotel Saigon
#114 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Catina Hotel
Catina Hotel
#99 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tan Hoang Long Hotel
Tan Hoang Long Hotel
#57 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
0.1 mi away
Huong Sen Hotel
Huong Sen Hotel
#45 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oscar Saigon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oscar Saigon Hotel

Property: Oscar Saigon Hotel
Address: 68A Nguyen Hue Boulevard, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #185 of 448 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Oscar Saigon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Oscar Saigon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Oscar Saigon
Oscar Hotel Saigon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing