We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central location in Ho Chi Ming City with very good breakfast buffet.”
Review of Oscar Saigon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Oscar Saigon Hotel
Ranked #162 of 462 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Reviewed May 22, 2012

This hotel was very good. The location was in the middle of everything making places easily reached by walking. The breakfast buffet was the best Western buffet on our entire trip in Vietnam. I would stay here again.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Htfshtfs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (462)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

236 - 242 of 462 reviews

Reviewed April 25, 2012

The Oscar Saigon is centrally located and within easy walking distance to most major sights and attractions, including the Central PostOffice (which is more than just a post office), Notre Dame Cathedral, City Hall, Opera House, Dong Khoi street, and the historic Rex and Caravalle hotels which were American military hangouts during the Vietnam War.

When we arrived, we were given a room equipped with twin beds when we requested a queen- or king-bed. The registration desk person obviously was displeased (she snarled) by our request, but we eventually got a room with a king bed. The room we had was equipped with free wi-fi, A/C, tea/coffee maker, mini fridge, safe, and TV. The view out of our window faced another room across the inner hotel well, which meant keeping the drapes closed making for a dark room. We would have much preferred a room with a window facing the street so that we could get some sunlight into the room. There is no swimming pool at this hotel.

The restaurant where breakfast was served was on the top floor. With the exception of one elevator, all the elevators went to the 10th floor, and then one would have to climb one flight of stairs to reach the 11th floor. The good part is that the breakfast selections were very good, especially the Pho and Omelet bars. The restaurant was large, bright, and airy with great views of central Saigon. The restaurant staff were very good.

For our quick two-night stay, this hotel was adequate. For a longer stay, we would have requested a room with a street view and queen/king bed... or found another place.

Room Tip: Try not to get a room which faces another hotel room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jdc8mbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2012

I stayed here twice during my stay in Vietnam, once on the way in and once on the way out. You have to be careful that you get the room you asked for. Make sure you specify "with window" when booking.
The positives: location, most tourist places are within walking distance so you don't need to bother with taxis or motorbikes. Rooms are ok. I previously stayed at the kimdo hotel which is opposite, and I preferred this hotel. Loads of good bars and restaurants nearby. Very close to ferry terminal if like me you need to go to vung tau. Breakfast was fine, and better than kim do
came back after a night out to discover a major pipe burst in the bathroom, major water coming through the ceiling. however that can happen anywhere, they dealt with it efficiently which was the main thing. Had to. Had to change room
Negatives: everything is a bit slow. The service, checkout, the lifts, the Internet .
if you book through Asia rooms , or booking.com or similar, make sure you have a printout. I had my confirmation on my iPad and couldn't check in without hard copy. Had to log on to computer in reception and print stuff out. the massage at the spa was terrible, so go elsewhere.

Tips: had a dodgy taxi from outside this hotel with a rigged meter, not hotel fault tough. Only get white vinataxi and avoid the grey toyota vios "Saigon tourist" taxi . Be careful with taxis at Ben thanh market, there are even fake ones. Ideally walk or get a taxi a few streets away. When you remove your key cards from the room the air on turns off, so it can be hot in the room when you come back. To avoid this place the cardboard label from around the neck of the free water bottle in the slot and the air on will stay on.
To use in room safe, request a key from reception.
.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank N_Traveller_b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2012

The rooms were decent, nice bathroom, good wifi in rooms. Breakfast on top floor was pretty good. Good location in town. Only drawback was the service people, ESP in the restaurant. The staff was cold and lacked people skills. Loud karaoke singing heard from our bedroom until late in the night but I think it was coming from outside, not the hotel.

Stayed: April 2012
Thank GlenS400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2012

Spa on 1st floor, with massage baby. Thought it is clean massage but for men only.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mitzilaogmail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2012

Oscar Siagon Hotel is located in District 1, the central & banking district of Ho Chi Minh City. This makes it an excellent place to stay if you want to see the main attractions (War Remnants Museum, Presidential Palace etc) and a 15 minute walk will get you to the busy market where you can buy just about anything at a good price. There are plenty of restaurants, cafes and bars nearby if you don't want to eat in the hotel which is on the expensive side for what you get. Just across the wide thoroughfare which consists of 4 carriageways separated by gardens is the tallest building in Vietnam , the Ho Chi Minh Tower. The hotel rooms are fairly typical of city hotel rooms elsewhere and reasonably equipped but nothing special. In spite of the heavy traffic outside, they are well soundproofed and quiet. The downside is the service - lots of smart uniforms and wearers prevail but smiles and welcoming are in short supply. Most staff appear to wish they were elsewhere. Be careful when crossing the very busy wide roads.

Room Tip: Best views are at the front facing HCM Tower with big wide windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank spidersdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2012

Good location, nice room, ours had a window but many don't, with very good breakfasts. Staff very helpful and gave late check out to suit our schedule.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a window
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.1 mi away
Bong Sen Hotel Saigon
Bong Sen Hotel Saigon
#122 of 462 in Ho Chi Minh City
527 reviews
0.0 mi away
Palace Hotel Saigon
Palace Hotel Saigon
#163 of 462 in Ho Chi Minh City
612 reviews
0.0 mi away
Royal Hotel Saigon ( Kimdo Hotel)
Royal Hotel Saigon ( Kimdo Hotel...
#100 of 462 in Ho Chi Minh City
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Catina Hotel
Catina Hotel
#108 of 462 in Ho Chi Minh City
335 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tan Hoang Long Hotel
Tan Hoang Long Hotel
#65 of 462 in Ho Chi Minh City
546 reviews
0.1 mi away
Huong Sen Hotel
Huong Sen Hotel
#55 of 462 in Ho Chi Minh City
597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oscar Saigon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oscar Saigon Hotel

Address: 68A Nguyen Hue Boulevard, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #162 of 462 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range: $39 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Oscar Saigon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Cancelon, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oscar Saigon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Oscar Saigon
Oscar Hotel Saigon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing